Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Roanoke, VA
Students enrolled: 481

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Cross School 3

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
North Cross is a very good school in terms of academics. However, there is a big drug culture at this school and the administration sweeps it under the carpet. We moved to Roanoke from the east coast and decided to not send our daughter after one year.

North Cross School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
North Cross is an outstanding independent school that develops the entire child (mind and body). Students are taught to think critically and not just what to memorize on standardized tests. At a very early age students are taught a second langauge so that they can be fully immersed at the high school level. Their Global Studies Program is cutting edge and makes us realize the competition for the very best schools and jobs is not sitting next to you in the class room, but is perhaps and ocean away.


North Cross School 5

Posted June 21, 2013
- a parent
I am a graduate and my three sons also attended. North Cross gave them,like me, a great education,challenged them, allowed them to participate in a wide variety of sports and the Arts, and provided them with some great friends.The teachers were caring, supportive and helped them build their confidence so that when they attended three highly selective schools, they performed at a high level.

North Cross School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
I really like the vision of the school and the programs it has been developing to challenge students and build character. The foreign language emphasis in the lower school, the introduction of writing code planned for 2013-14 in the middle school, and the global studies curriculum in the upper school are all well-run and challenging programs. I love the fact that our children have constant adult (faculty and staff) interactions because of the low student teacher ratio. They are interactive in class and familiar enough with their teachers to ask questions and seek (and be given) extra help when needed. It pushes our children. Add to that a commitment to the arts and athletics and I think that this is worth every penny of tuition paid. Great school!

North Cross School 5

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
We have been very pleased with North Cross over the past 5 years. The teachers really care about their students and challenge them to do their best. The new headmaster has made a huge difference in terms of discipline with the students and communication with parents. He listens to what the parents have to say, but is not afraid to disagree with them if he has a different opinion. He is a strong leader whose main focus is on the students and the quality of education. There are many parents involved in this school and they are welcoming to all new families. An Ambassador Program for new students helps the entire family adjust to North Cross, not just the child. I highly encourage anyone who is willing to work hard to apply for acceptance to this school.


North Cross School 5

Posted June 04, 2012
- a community member
North Cross is a great school! It is challenging and brings out the best in a student. All students can join any sports team and really bond with their team mates. I highly reccomend it to anyone.

North Cross School 5

Posted August 30, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter attended North Cross from junior kindergarten through sixth grade, and our overall experience was excellent. My perception is that most schools in Roanoke have a few good teachers, maybe an excellent teacher or two, and quite a few mediocre ones. North Cross' elementary school teachers start at very good, and finish with what have to be the two best fifth grade teachers in the valley. For the most part, the teachers actively engage differentiated learning strategies, challenge each student, and provide a nurturing environment where students participate in the learning process. There are certainly drawbacks at the school, including cliquey students and a high cost of tuition, but the positives far outweigh the drawbacks. Looking back, we would certainly make the same choice again.

North Cross School 4

Posted November 01, 2009
- a parent
this was the best decision for our son we've made in our lifetime, not only did he improve academically, he excelled athletically.


North Cross School 5

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
This school is quite amazing. My daughters went to this school for there elementary years. Then we unfortunatly moved not to complete middle and high school there as well. In a higher grade you are given the oppurtunity to go to either France or Spain to have further learning on that langauge. You start learning Spanish in first grade and start French in fourth. When you get to sixth grade you may pick which langauge you wish to contine learning. This school is overall very productive and organized. I have only named a few of its outstanding features.

North Cross School 0
no rating

Posted February 03, 2009
- a parent
My child entered North Cross in tenth grade after being in public schools up to this point. The new headmaster is well-respected by students and parents. The attention provided by the teachers is exceptional. There is a wide range of degree of difficulty of classes in the upper school, so you can chose classes accordingly. The school and parent community is very welcoming to newcomers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Cross School
4254 Colonial Avenue, Roanoke, VA  24018
(540) 989-6641
Last modified North Cross School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
North Cross School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top