Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Faith Christian School

Private | K-12 | 315 students

Rigorous Christian and classical education

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Living in Roanoke

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $189,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2014

Faith Christian is an amazing choice for your child's education. It is truly an extension of our family. As others have stated, the staff and faculty will love on your children in a Godly way, pray for them, edify their behavior and provide them with a challenging Classical Christian education. We have been at FCS for seven years and our family has grown in our own faith and developed lasting friendships. Schedule your visit today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

We are so thankful that we chose to send all three of our children to Faith Christian School. We were looking for a school that would provide them with an outstanding academic background in a Christian environment. We have not been disappointed! Our children are not only receiving a strong education , but our Christian faith is being woven into every aspect of the classes that they taking. They are being challenged not only to know what they believe but why they believe and how to defend it. The teachers have been more than willing to go the extra mile any time one of my children was struggling. The added bonus is that I know that they truly care for my children, know my children and pray for them. We love Faith Christian School and are very grateful for the impact it has had on our children's lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Faith Christian is an outstanding school built on the core values of being Centered on Christ, Committed to Classical Approach and Connected as a Learning Community. The school teaches children to actively learn in an environment that allows God to remain the final authority. The teachers show a true passion for the students and smaller class sizes allow for more one on one interaction. The school strives to consistently give back to the community with a school wide community service project that teaches children the value of doing for others. Faith Christian is Christ-focused and allows children to grow in their faith and encourages them to have a biblical worldview. Our children LOVE attending Faith Christian and as parents we LOVE watching them gain the life skills and education that will help them go into the world as adults and LIVE FOR CHRIST.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

We enrolled our children in Faith Christian School because we desired a rigorous education in a Christian atmosphere. Our son and daughter began in the lower grades. As they made their way into the upper school, we were able to see the effects of this superior education. The intentional instruction and mentoring by strong Christian teachers is evidenced by their ability to engage their world and strong grasp of essential educational concepts. The investment of their education at Faith is one that given the opportunity we would most assuredly make again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I can't imagine sending my boys to any other school. They came from a public school which was little more than a dysfunctional baby-sitting service. The teachers at Faith are the type that actively care about their students to the point that they stay after school for one-on-one time, they email individual parents home with thoughts, concerns, and praise. There are plenty of places that will watch your kids for 7 hours a day, but none will have a better impact on your family and the future than FCS. If I could spend twice the money and get twice the impact, I would do it in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

Transferring my children to Faith Christian has been one of the single best decisions I have made as a parent. My daughter graduated June 2013 (now in college). She only attended for High School, but it changed her life for the better. She transferred from one of the best public schools in the area, had good friends, etc but the things going on socially with her friends were such a distraction. She blossomed at FCS - as challenging as it is academically, she actually became a better student, became fully engaged in her learning (goodbye social distraction!), took on leadership roles in organizations, and grew in her faith. The friends she met at FCS are for a lifetime. No cliques...everyone in her grade did things as a group. The teachers are 100% invested in their students. My daughter received a full college scholarship and is now active in college campus ministry. I am a single parent with limited income, had no idea how I could afford it...but God opened doors. This year I moved my son (8th gr) to FCS from public school. He did NOT want to go! Only 3 weeks into it, he said "Mom, I'm so glad I'm at FCS!". God is alive and at work in this school! I am so grateful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

My children have grown tremendously at this school. They are safe, happy and learning far more than I believe they ever would anywhere else. People are always impressed at how well-read my children are, and how aware they are of the world around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

I think that it is a very good school! I have been going there for 3 years now and I enjoy it because of all of the fun school events and all of the SGA events. The education there is very good and it challenges you in your education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2009

Our son entered FCS in third grade after attending a montessori school for 5 years. When speaking with the head of the upper school, she told us that 'when we set the bar high, we find that the students reach for it and succeed'. That's all we needed to hear and we have hot been dissapointed. We love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

Excellent and rigorous classical curriculum, Christian worldview throughout, competent and caring teachers, supportive and capable administration, great college acceptance and SAT scores, very college preparatory, all in a nurturing Christian atmosphere. My children have thrived there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

Excellent classical christian curriculum! They offer logic, latin, rhetoric, apologetics and other great courses you won't find in the public schools...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Gold Award - Best Private School (2012)
  • Gold Award - Best Private School (2011)
  • Silver Award - Best Private School (2010)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best Community Service Project (2012)
  • Best Community Service Project (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Samuel P. Cox, Head of School
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (540) 769-6030

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model congress
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
45
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
50

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $9000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3585 Buck Mountain Rd
Roanoke, VA 24018
Website: Click here
Phone: (540) 769-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Cross School
Roanoke, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT