Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
134 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Life Academy & Life After School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
To all the teachers. Thank you for all that you do on a daily basis

Life Academy & Life After School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a parent
My son has been thru from age 4. He loves it. They have been nothing but nice to me. I am happy my kid loves to go to school.


Life Academy & Life After School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
There were 2-3 teachers that were well respected for their efforts and commitment to the students learning but overall the teachers are not very effective. Most of them are not trained teachers. The academic standards are very low at Life Academy and the results prove it. Students who transfer to public schools find themselves behind in core subjects.

Life Academy & Life After School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
The level of effort required from each student is very low. Students are given extension after extension and allowed to turn in work weeks late. Grades are given to help students instead of measure their learning.

Life Academy & Life After School 1

Posted July 28, 2015
- a parent
The school has declined to the point of being rated terrible. They had to quit offering 7-12th grades because the school could not keep past students or recruit new students. The academic quality is poor and the leadership is seriously lacking. The chancellor was recently forced to resign from the academy and church for some unthinkable action. The academy administrator is not an educator and does not have experience or training to run a school. Their is no principal for the school as the beloved principal left to go to another school apparently because of the dysfunction faced while leading at the academy. We pulled our children because the situation was so dire.


Life Academy & Life After School 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a community member
Incredible leadership. I don't have kids of my own but my nephew attends the school. I have been by several times and I'm always impressed.

Life Academy & Life After School 1

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
Nothing but bullies with no discipline from the staff or parents! They need new teachers and leaders for this school! Worst school I've ever seen in my life! Why would anyways pay to fund this school! Do not send your child to this school!!

Life Academy & Life After School 1

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
Afternoon teachers lost my child. They were not sure of where he was. The school did nothing to discipline staff and only added a minimal policy regarding lost children to please us. They do not keep a close eye on children. Toddlers are expected to behave perfectly. If your child misbehaves they will contact you to pick her up immediately. School claims to be a ministry first, but be warned although it may have a Christian title, its business backbones are anything but.


Life Academy & Life After School 5

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is in the Pre-K class here and she absolutely loves it! They have small classes that allow for each child to have individual attention and care. My daughter always comes home with a new song, story, or game she learned in school and always comes home with new artwork which she loves to display at home.

Life Academy & Life After School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
I am new to the school this year but it has been a great first simester. The Principal is my daughters language arts teacher and the Vice Principal is her history teacher. I love that they have such a small class that they can spend the time needed with each student. This school has turned my daughter around and it is well worth the sacrifice that my husband and I have to make to have her in this school. The tuition reasonable and I feel that the teachers really care about the students they teach.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Life Academy & Life After School
7422 Deer Branch Road, Roanoke, VA  24019
(540) 563-5140
Last modified Life Academy & Life After School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Life Academy & Life After School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top