Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Roanoke Valley Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 342 students

We are best known for Christian curriculum.

 
 

Living in Roanoke

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 38 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

66 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 21, 2014

My child started attending RVCS when she started kindergarten. She is now in the second grade. We will have our second child starting there in kindergarten in the fall. I can't say enough how pleased I am with the school. The teachers the are all certified and degreed, that is hard to find in Christian schools. The staff genuinely care for the development, both academically and spiritually in every child. From administration on through to the volunteer program, we have been well pleased. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a quality Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

Some of these one star posts do not surprise me. From my experience with this school, the "Christianity" they try to teach is of the typical phony "holier than thou" variety which many of us are, unfortunately, painfully aware. If you want them to bestow the title of "brother" or "sister" on you, just claim to believe whatever they say and never ever question their very false assumptions about the bible,basic science or reality. I would never send my children there.


Posted October 28, 2013

I am very thankful for this school and it's great teachers. It has been a very positive influence in my children's lives, and has allowed them some unique and character building experiences!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

RVCS is a great place for students of all ages. Teaching not only the typical reading, writing, and math, but they also teach foreign language, music, computer, and most importantly, they teach about God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Rvcs is an amazing school! Not just for the academics but the Biblical truths and principles that are reinforced. They work with parents to help your children grow academically and spiritually. Dealing with teachers and staff is like dealing with friends. They genuinely care about the whole family! It is such a blessing to have the opportunity to send our children here to receive a great education but also great biblical principles that will be instilled in them forever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Our school serves Preschool 2 years of age through grade 12. Those of us on staff are unified in our mission to teach a Biblical world view through out the curriculum. Graduates from our school are well prepared for further education. We are accredited by the Association of Christian Schools International. We currently enroll 300 plus students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2013

Great school both educationally and morally. Really seems to be teaching Character to my children. I have seen them grow so much being there! A++++++ Would recommend RVCS to anyone looking for CHRISTIAN education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

RVCS is a great school. It's very strong academically as well as spiritually. Our family has been very happy here for the past twelve years; it is a great family atmosphere. So, if you are looking for a school that will love, teach and prepare your children for life with Christ as the center then RVCS is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

RVCS provides a wonderful well rounded educaiton equipping the students to be able to be successful in future endeavors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Where do I begin? This school is such a big big blessing in our lives! My daughter went to preschool there for 2 years And now in kindergarten there as well! She is already Starting to read, write and spell! She is also Learning scripture and so much more! We are Honored to be part of such a wonderful place full of the most LOViNG staff I have ever seen! As my little girl says "mommy Roanoke Valley Christian School we can learn About Jesus and math at the same time" how cool is that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Our children enjoy RVCS very much. The teachers take a personal interest in each student and are available to help when needed. The emphasis is not just academic, but also biblical.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I love our school because our teachers are so approachable and willing to do what it takes to help your child learn in the way that meets their individual needs. I love that the staff and faculty pray for our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

RVCS has great leadership in its principals. The student body is friendly and caring. The school provides extra resource help for students with special needs. While the academics are excellent, the spiritual life has the greatest focus, teaching the students to live Christ-like and honor God in everything they do.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 23, 2013

Great Christian school! Teachers are really interested in my children's physical and spiritual well being. Great academic challenge and the teachers urge my children to do their very best...as unto the Lord. Thank you for providing a biblical safe haven for my children to learn and make the most of who God wants them to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

RVCS is the greatest school in the valley. It is strong academically, socially and most of all spiritually. It has many things to offer and I am thankful our family is here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 23, 2013

The staff at RVCS is exceptional. My children have mentally grown leaps and bounds under the direction of this highly dedicated staff. I can not say enough good things about them. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

RVCS is a great school. The teachers are very caring and the staff is wonderful to work with. My daughter loves going to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

I am writing in response to the review that follows this comment. As administrator of the school, I want to confirm that we have entrance tests, but we never turn a student away based on the results of the tests. The tests simply give us an idea as to where a student is in the areas of math and language arts. This is done for students enrolling in grades 1-6.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2013

Five stars .....not....... zero stars is more like it. I had children at RVCS for 10 years. I spent much effort in getting them to apply fruit of grace, mercy and forgiveness (since we all have fallen short of God's perfection). I finally left, with broken hearted children I might add. The lessons learned there were not reading, writing and arithmetic with the virtues of Christ to boot... but ridicule, wrath and angry retaliation for those that need agape love while learning how to reach a world for Christ. They shoot the wounded here and call it accountability... NO THANKS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I used to love this school when I was in the younger grades, I did well in school and had friends and the teachers seemed like they cared. But this school does have a pretty awful bullying problem. I have had to stand up for one of my close when I went there time and again because she was larger. The boys would put awful notes in her desk asking her to go out with her or the other and then make fun of her for believing it. It has damaged my friends and siblings' image of themselves as well as the way they treat other people. Though I had a great time with some of the teachers who really care and when it is brought to light, do something about this problem. Academics are very up and down, it really depends on the teacher you get for each subject if you do well or not. I did leave that school feeling prepared for whatever hit me, but I chalk that up to the teacher who taught and truly cared for me while I was there.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Liberty University
Virginia Western Community College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Dual Accreditation with ACSI and SACS (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rick Brown
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (540) 366-9719

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Liberty University
Virginia Western Community College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6520 Williamson Road
Roanoke, VA 24019
Website: Click here
Phone: (540) 366-2432

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Community School
Roanoke, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT