Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted April 16, 2016
- a student
They Teach us untill we understand it Which is great because I get great grades

Swift Creek Middle School 4

Posted December 01, 2014
- a parent
The teachers are great and my son is doing very very well. This is the first time in his 6 years of schooling that he is doing this well and with an IEP...he was 2 points from honor roll which is quite an accomplishment. I applaud the efforts of every teacher...that's one tough job!! The comment from October 14, 2013 is quite concerning because my son came home just last week to inform me that bugs and cockroaches were all over the school out numbering the students and that its a big distraction in classrooms. Clealy, thorough cleaning and spraying or bombing needs to be done to correct this problem. It seems quite severe.


Swift Creek Middle School 1

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
The school is infested with cockroaches and no one seems to care. My daughters refuses to eat there because it is so nasty. My daughters hate this school. Teachers have up to three different online sources that students have to hunt for to find homework and/or notes necessary for class. It is ridiculous! My A student is making a D because of the chaotic unorganized way this system is run. The Principal response..."This is where we are heading" My children were making A's and B's respectively at another high achieving now are struggling because Swift Creek doesn't work.

Swift Creek Middle School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
Encouraging staff and teachers. Looking forward to the improvements being made this summer to the restrooms and lockers.

Swift Creek Middle School 1

Posted April 27, 2011
- a parent
Rating is based on it's Administration and Special Education Program. They are in need of a revamping as well. You can sense the negativity, the secretaries are unfriendly and will not give eye contact. Students literally running to class (not enough time to breath), and the Militant Higher Archy. Seems more life a jail than it does a Middle School. Learning and teaching do not have to be miserable experiences! They just forgot to tell the new staff at SCMS- even the cafeteria employees appear unhappy. It wasn't always like this - 2003/2004 year and before were great. Small community school full of optimism - bet the grade averages were higher as well. So, what are you going to do it you already live her, get to the root of the problem ~ you can't miss her!


Swift Creek Middle School
no rating

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
Dedicated teachers define the whole school.

Swift Creek Middle School
no rating

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
My son's 6th grade year was great! He was in all honors classes and had really great teachers! He is being re-zoned this year, but we will always hold a special place in our hearts for this school! They helped make a smooth tranaition to middle school. He not only survived his first year, he thrived! I hope this year goes as well!

Swift Creek Middle School 3

Posted August 11, 2008
- a parent
Overall SCMS is a good school. There are a lot of activities and elective opportunities. However, I think some of the teachers are fed up with many of the teen attitudes these days. The special education is lacking, though. It seems the SE is concerned with pushing kids through. My son did not meet any of the previous year's goals, however that was not a concern to them. They set new goals for this year. I asked how they thought he would meet the goals for this year if he didn't meet any from last year. I didn't get an appropriate response. Results are only obrained if the parent is actively involved and advocates for their kids.


Swift Creek Middle School
no rating

Posted August 04, 2008
- a community member
I went to Swift Creek all 3 years and I find it to be a decent school with a wide variety of people and activities. Not a single teacher did I have that I felt animosity or anger towards. All of the extra curricular activities were fun to attend and very well - advertised - for lack of a better word. I feel that the elective department is lacking a little, though. There is a plethora of options to choose from, yet each class is very limited in what a student can learn. Overall, my expierence there was enjoyable and pleasant.

Swift Creek Middle School
no rating

Posted March 09, 2008
- a parent
SCMS is without question one of the best schools in the county, largely due to the exceptional administration. My daughter is very, very happy there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Swift Creek Middle School
3700 Old Hundred Rd, South Midlothian, VA  23112
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (804) 739-6315
Last modified Swift Creek Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top