Advertisement
Advertisement

Immanuel Christian School

Private | K-8 | 462 students

We partner with Christian families to inspire students for purposeful lives.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 
 

Living in Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $370,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Our family loves this school and church! The teachers are godly, caring and accessible. The environment is safe, clean and well-maintained. The location is convenient to both the 395 and 495. As a military family, we move a lot, so our daughter started at ICS during the middle of her kindergarten year. She felt accepted by the kids right away and made friends easily. She loved her teachers and teaching assistants. Now that she is finishing her first grade year, I wish we didn't have to move this summer! She has mentioned several times how she wishes she could stay and go through 8th grade here. We wish that, too, but God has something else in mind for us. Before moving to the area we didn't realize how fast-paced and academically stressful Northern Virginia can be. Even though ICS challenges their students in all areas (I can't believe how much my daughter has learned in 1st grade, including being able to run a mile and do desktop publishing!), the students' spiritual development is deemed most important. Our family would recommend ICS wholeheartedly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

The minute my husband and I walked in the doors at Immanuel Christian, we knew it was an answer to prayer. Every person that we came in contact with was so kind and we could immediately feel God's presence as we walked through the halls. We continue to be thankful daily for having found this school. As we watch what our daughter has learned academically, spiritually and socially this year at ICS, our decision to send her is continually affirmed. We couldn't have asked for a better quality team of teachers and feel so incredibly blessed that our daughter gets instruction from them. It's comforting to know that although we've laid a strong foundation for our child, Immanuel Christian can come alongside and provide an education as if it's an extension of our home. We look forward what the coming years will bring for our daughter at ICS and can't wait to send our other children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

We are not really satisfy with the school. Poor quality of teachers and instructions. They are only nice to first comers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

Immanuel Christian School is a safe, nurturing environment that attends to developing the whole child - socially, academically, physically and spiritually. Parents and teachers cooperate to address any concerns in healthy ways. This school really understands that each child is created uniquely and encourages students to recognize and embrace the gifts they have been given while also growing in areas that are more challenging for the student. A strong focus on knowing and loving God helps students learn how to love and serve their peers, their community and the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

I have two children. One, a recent graduate of UVA, and another has been a student for 6 years. There are other private schools closer to our home however, we chose this school again due to the well rounded and challenging curriculum, in partnership with the nurturing christian environment. Teachers at ICS really care and our sons have grown spiritually, not just academically. This school will stretch your child, providing advanced curriculum for students who are excelling, yet also offers programs for those students in need and struggling. Music, Art, Spanish, PE, Computer Lab, and Bible are all part of the core curriculum. The facilities are beautiful, wonderful playground and athletic fields, and many of the faculty have long term tenure. Parents are fortunate to have many opportunities to be involved within the school and the child's classroom. We have been on field trips, attended class parties, listened to bible verses and shared coffee with the Principal. If you are looking for a solid foundation for your child, then tour the school and talk to other parents to see why families (such as ours) keep returning and investing in their children's lives at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

The transformation in our son since beginning at ICS astounds me. He now has an enthusiasm for learning and a desire to complete assignments with excellence. Neither was present before coming to ICS. Educational rigor in tandem with the nurturing atmosphere has unleashed in him a love for school. I am so grateful. My husband and I are delighted with the curriculum. Our priority was to find a school strong in Science and Language Arts. ICS has both. Our son is one of those kids who is relentless in asking questions. How grateful I am that we found ICS where students are encouraged to ask penetrating questions not only about their various school subjects but also about life. I love the way the school welcomes parent participation. We are so impressed we have enrolled our daughter; a rising 1st grader for next year. THANK YOU to the teachers, staff, and leadership for creating a superior learning environmnet in the D.C. area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

Wonderful Christian learning environment for our 3 kids! It is a blessing to put our kids in the hands of those who will give them a great education, spiritual foundation and discipline in a loving atmosphere that reinforces our Christian faith and values. The academics are challenging and our oldest went on to high school well prepared. ICS has blessed our whole family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

God is clearly present at Immanuel Christian School. Warm, nurturing, encouraging. You get it all at ICS: the very best education for the mind, and the heart as well. I have experienced an amazing partnership with ICS--my daughter is thriving! I HIGHLY recommend ICS to anyone I come in contact with, especially those looking for more for their child. One of the best kept secrets in the Washington DC area... actually, not so much anymore as word is getting out. I hear there is a waitlist for some grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

Keep Looking - Lacks Spirit and Truth The Administrator worked at a prominent Christian university . (Romans 2:11). HIS leadership focuses on personal rights. (code word for certain political parties). HIS scripture is delivered in a rote way to preclude revelation. For ex. Each third grade child in a class recited a bonus versus directly to HIM. (Roman 10:9-10, John 10:10). Behind closed doors if you every disagree with HIM, It is HIS personal right to exclude / discriminate for . . . [any reason] Fill in the brackets by rote. Staff, in HIS service, believe that it is okay to exclude their reasonable service. (Matthew 15:14). They fail to apply Biblically based correction: a child s fight in after care, Am I my brother s keeper? , a childish disagreement about returned work folders, Let s be careful stewards! They are VERY good at (self) appreciation days (Luke 14:8) It is easy enough to tolerate the petty legalistic disagreements (Romans 15:1). If you have truly taken up your cross, you will be unequally yoked at this school (Ephesians 6:14). There s only one PRINCIPAL (Revelation 5) . . . and Yeshua has principles. (Matthew 5). March on . . .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

Immanuel Christian School has been a wonderful school for my son. He has been there two years and loves it. The teachers are professional and caring. They strive to teach to all kids. The kids get a good balance of the core academics as well as PE, music, Art, Spanish, computer lab, etc. they have separate teachers for these as they do in the public school. The students get everything and more offered in the Fairfax County public schools. The difference is smaller class size and a Christian environment. They also learn about the Bible and memorize verses. The facility is very nice. I feel great knowing my son is in such a quality school. Check it out and give this place serious consideration. I can't imagiine anyone regretting the choice of this school for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

Quality Christian education with a strong emphasis on technology, classroom interaction, and computer integration. A very good choice for families in Northern VA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 26, 2010

Excellent school! We have two children at Immanuel Christian School. They love going to school, love the teachers, and love the friends they have made. The parents are involved with the school, and help with field trips, special programs at school, and with community involvement. I love this school's character in action program! My children are getting a very well rounded education. I wish they had a high school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

All of my children have had a great year at ICS. The teachers are very caring and professional. It is academically exceptional without overtaxing the students. My children are getting a quality education in a Christian setting. Wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Immanuel is a strong Christian school with a great sports program and solid curriculum. Math, english, and history/bible are good, and the school is working to improve science and extra activities. In the next 1.5 years the school is going under a complete renovation to make classrooms technologically advanced, and up to par with others in the county. They're adding floors over single story ares of the school and redoing the gym. Overall the school could use some work, but they are headed in the right direction. Starting your child at this school in the next few years would be a good idea if you are looking for a fresh campus, Christian fellowship, and a strong core curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

ICS is a great school for raising your children in Christian environment. Speaking from the results of my child's standardized tests, it also offers competitive academics as well. Teachers are all devoted Christians; all of the teachers my child had so far were sincere, caring, and intelligent. Parents are very much involved through various channels, including parents' work hour requirement. So far, the school has been great and I would strongly recommend ICS to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2004

Great school with enphasis on the Bible and God. Only one small problem no buses so you must pick-up and drop-off your self. This is good however because you stay in real touch with your child and his/her teacher. Parent service hours are due which also keeps you onto what is going on in your child's class as well as the rest of the school. Tuition is very resonable. Great teachers that are really dedicated to the Lord and your child. Great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (703) 813-1945

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Enrichment
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Retirement Communities
  • Local Fire Stations
  • Fairfax County & DC Public Schools
  • Capital Area Food Bank
  • Immanuel Bible Church
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • 20 hour parent service requirement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We partner with families to inspire students for purposeful lives of learning, godliness, and service.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Preschools
Other Christian Schools
Public School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Public High School
Christian High School
Other Private High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6915 Braddock Rd
Springfield, VA 22151
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 941-1220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Springfield Academy
Springfield, VA


Kenwood School
Annandale, VA


Oakwood School
Annandale, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT