Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cardinal Forest Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 590 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Friday, August 22, 2014

Both of my children went to Cardinal Forest Elementary and are now successful students achieving all A's at Irving MS and West Springfield HS. The teachers are wonderful and the environment very supportive and collaborative. I am not sure why this school is only rated a 6 out of 10 and wanted to relay our positive experience, especially with the teachers and band teacher at this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2014

This school is not one of the best schools in Fairfax county, when I was in 1st grade back in 2007 My first grade would treat me poorly, she would'nt bother to pay any attention to me. she always got me trouble, So then we moved to herndon And I attended Clearview and that is a really good school I actually won a presidential award just on friday from clearview.


Posted December 13, 2013

Principal Karen McKenna just does not make the grade. Unless there are changes, avoid this school like the plague. The school's academic, social and community image have declined over the past four years since November 2009. Looking at the school's AYP in 2011, the last year it reported under No Child Left Behind, tells the same same mediocre story that you read in a number of these reviews. Historically, this Principal likes to hold out the high FCPS SOL scores as a mark of her achievement. These indicators for core Math and English curriculum were largely a factor of the highly educated West Springfield parents and the income. However, if you take a look at the income and population shift, you see a decline. Principal Mckenna, we challenge you, as concerned parents, to show some real thought leadership and reach across the aisle to groups that are not like you to find solutions to your school's almost 5 year decline. The message fell on deaf ears almost 5 years ago. -signed, Vindicated
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2013

This is an update to my earlier 5/7/13 review: My daughter has not been at Keene Mill for a year. The difference between an competent administration and an excellent administration has made itself apparent over the last year. There is nothing wrong with Cardinal Forest, per say, I think they respond the way any average administration would respond to problems. The only issue there is that FCPS parents tend to not be an average parent population, particularly those who move to this area specifically for the schools. Also- parent comunication and lack of control in the classroom sounds like a problem to me, and is one of the main reasons I did not want my child in a mixed grade class. There are enough issues with a mixed grade class that I wouldn't want to worry about that issue on top of it all. Had anyone called me back at the time, I could've communicated that. I did not ultimately want to swich schools, I don't think that kind of change is good for kids all the time, but now that I've had some time to see what it's like elsewhere, Cardinal Forest is still rating as just an average school with an average administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

I truly enjoy Cardinal Forest. I have kids at 3 different schools in the Springfield area and this is the best one. The school is bright, the principle very visible and the communication strong. Overall the teachers are better than expected. I have only had 1 teacher do far that I struggled with. Even with that, she was not mean or unreasonable with the children. She seemed to struggle with parent communication and some classroom control. I am part of the 1/2 class mentioned in another review and I am not having any issues. The teachers are strong enough and the kids are moving at or above grade level. I was concerned at first but after giving it a chance I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

Everything is fine until it isn't. Then you can't get anyone to even call you back. The lack of responsiveness caused us to transfer my daughter to another school. My daughter, an excellent student, was selected for a mixed first/second grade class. I heard great things about the teacher but was still concerned that being with first graders would hold my daughter back. There was a community meeting for parents, and based on what the principal said, there was no comfort given that they even had thought about the issues with this kind of class, much less thought about how to address them. My daughter was singled out because she is an easy student, which is not fair for her. When I called to talk to the principal to express my strong concerns with this situation and ask questions, the secretary said she would call me back. Three phone calls later, still no response. We had to switch her to another school because I was so worried that she would be in a less than optimal situation and I couldn't get anyone responsive at all. Total nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

Our son's second grade teacher is very involved and proactive. She helped identify the areas we needed to work with our son because his Alabama first grade experience was well behind Virginia standards. We find the school administration and staff very professional and pleasant to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2008

My son is in kindergarten at Cardinal Forest. Our experience has been great so far. The teachers have done well dealing with discipline problems and the curriculum seems challenging and interesting. My only concern with the school is the overcrowding. My son's kindergarten class has 27 children in it. His teacher is very experienced and is making the best of it, but it makes the environment harder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

I have two children and both transferred out. The Principal is terrible to deal with and while they certainly have some quality teaching professionals, others are lacking. This use to be a top school, but it has fallen off as evidenced by them being on the list of Fairfax County Schools not making the grade. This school underperforms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2008

My son attented kindergarten and had wonderful experiance, what a great staff at cardinal forest
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

The principal sets the tone for the school. Mrs. Kenna is the best! She is a fantastic principal. Our child's teacher is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

I had 2 children at Cardinal Forrest (2006-07). One in 6th grade and one in 2nd. It was our first year at the school. As we were coming from abroad I was worried that they might be behind the Fairfax County schools. I home schooled for about a month in the summer to prepare them. My 6th grader regressed in math. It turns out they learned more during the summer than they did all year at school. Thankfully I am able to stay on top of things at home. I feel for the parents that both work full time. My 6th grader graduates out and I have transferred out my 2nd grader. The experience is enough to make me want to home school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I love the school, my daughter is in 2nd grade(2007-2008). the teachers, and reading buddies have helped my daughter to develope good reading habit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

I love this school. My daughter is currently in 1st grade (2005-06) and so far it's been a great experience. The teachers are fabulous and the academic programs great, both during the regular school day and the before/after-school programs. There's a very active PTA and lots of parent involvement. The school recently hosted Heritage Night to celebrate the many cultures and nationalities represented in our school. They've also hosted events such as Math & Science Night, Partners in Print, Economics Night, Patriotic Night, and more. The SACC program is wonderful. I was very nervous about putting my daughter in a county-run before and after school program, but they really do a great job with it. My daughter loves it and has made some good friendships outside the classroom. The West Springfield community is great too -- very much a small community feel in massive Fairfax County. I'm not going anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

My daughter has been a student at Cardinal Forest for 3 years now. She had many difficulties as she had ADHD and instead of just thinking she was a problem child, they worked with me until we were able to get her the testing that was required to diagnose her and worked really well with me to make sure she progressed in her studies as well as got taken care of for the needs that she had. They even tested her on other levels to make sure we caught everything and that we could move forward with a sucessful academic career. I thank them for all their hard work and effore and I wouldn't change schools for anything unless I move out of the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students65%
Female students63%
Male students68%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English61%

Math

All Students62%
Female students62%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English66%

Science

All Students81%
Female students81%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students95%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students67%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students40%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students75%
Female students69%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students81%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students75%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English92%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students82%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students77%
Female students67%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students75%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students69%
Female students63%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students67%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students27%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students84%
Male students81%
Black students82%
Asian students92%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students84%
Female students92%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8600 Forrester Blvd
Springfield, VA 22152
Phone: (703) 923-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Accotink Academy
Springfield, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT