Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Letvin has been an amazing teacher. She has helped my son as he's adjusted to moving (again! which is very hard for him). She has communicated with me in order to help him. In addition, my son actually tells people he likes his teacher (that hasn't happened often). Thank you Mrs. Letvin for all you do!

Cardinal Forest Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
CFES is an outstanding school and supports every kind of student. I have three children that have attend CFES and each child receive the level and focused education that helped them grow. The teachers, principals, and office staff are all a pleasure to work with and strive to know ever child by name. Lastly, the families and PTA are welcoming and involved to better the student's experience and opportunities at CFES.


Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
Fairfax county teachers and especially those at CFES continue to give their all and rise to teaching our children in a positive way.

Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
At other schools we have attended the homework requirements where excessive. I was thrilled that the 1st grade daily homework is reading for 20 minutes allowing the kids to have time to be kids. The upper grades recommend no more that 1 hour and I have seen the teachers stay true to this goal.

Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff are constantly on the look out who are making good choices and showing respect. The students who recognized receive the principals "good news moment" award and a positive phone call to the parents are made. My kids all strive to "get caught" doing good thanks to this fun recognition.


Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
The students and faculty focus on opportunities to recognize members of our community i.e. Veterans, military families, heritage and culture. The school also holds several events that involve students from older grades mentoring students from younger grades which increase the overall student ability to relate and know students through out the school. I would like to see more service opportunities in the future.

Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
The school counselors as well as the culture of community continue to I courage and teach the students to hold these values.

Cardinal Forest Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2016
- a parent
This is our 5th year with children at CFES and could not be more pleased! The administration really cares about the well being of all the students and the teachers have all been wonderful!! We look forward to the next 5 years!


Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
No they ostracize some students so those students have an even harder time than they should already.

Cardinal Forest Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 03, 2016
- a parent
If you have any special needs that might be a bit messy or not orderly, they are very unfair. They have some good teachers in the autism program but overall if your child is remotely a little difficult they will want you moved to another school.

Nearby schools

Cardinal Forest Elementary School
8600 Forrester Blvd, Springfield, VA  22152
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (703) 923-5200
Last modified Cardinal Forest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top