Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Keene Mill Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 725 students

We seek to empower today's learners to become tomorrow's leaders!

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2014

Please don't believe the stellar reviews of this school. Several of these were made by the school staff themselves in order to overcome the negative ones. This school isn't as great as is portrayed and I've worked here before as a substitute teacher and now have kids attending here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2014

Keene Mill is an excellent school where I fully trust that the teachers and administration are advocates for my children and work with parents as a team. We have had wonderful teachers in both community and AAP classes. My children have been challenged and enjoy school, as well as the PTA after-school activities and events. The school is getting ready to undergo a major, much-needed renovation that may unfortunately impact some of the activities, but should also address many of the HVAC issues and modernize the 50+ year-old school. We are very happy with Keene Mill ES and proud to be part of the Kanga community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

This school is just ok. I don't love it, I don't hate it. I have a child in the AAP program, and while she has done well here, we have never really fallen in love with the school. We have another child at a neighboring school and although greatschools.org gives Keene Mill a 10, we like the other school a whole lot more. The school itself is very old and rundown. The AC and heat often seems to be out of order. The teachers are decent, but I think that's true of most FCPS teachers. The younger students are made to walk with their hands behind their backs and holding their breath. It almost feels a little like a prison to see. The principal has been open about trying to win a health award through the county, but it comes at the cost of fun things such as bringing in birthday treats. The school does not feel at all like a community, probably because kids are coming from neighborhoods all over town. Like I said, my child has done well here, but I feel she would have been fine at any of the nearby schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

This school is fine and I am glad my son is here but he would have done fine anywhere. I love the email communication this school has regarding events going on but after three years here I don't really feel part of the school. My son is in the AAP which he loves but I don't think they allow very much flexibility to the teachers. I think the AAP program should be renamed the advanced math and vocabulary program. My son does well but I don't think the program has done much to develop his skills as a creative writer or thinker. That being said I have loved most of the teachers and I love that no kids run under the radar in AAP. I am especially glad that some of the teachers have focused less on busy work homework as they have gone to higher grades. Overall I am glad I sent my son to the school and program but I won't miss it when he moves on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This school has AAP (gifted) programs, so scores may be a bit inflated. I would be fair to know the scores of AAP and the Community independently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Keene Mill deserves a 20 out of 10! It is an outstanding school and my family feels fortunate that our children can participate in a school of this caliber. The academics are stellar! The administrators are open to new ideas, and the school just had a fabulous Innovation Fair! I strongly disagree with the previous review. Who would want kids to play tag on the playground where they could be injured or eat food that someone might have prepared in an unsanitary kitchen? I think the school wants nutrition facts for food allergies. I also disagree about communication, as the principal sends out a weekly email to parents and the PTA sends flyers in the Thursday folder each week. All of our children's teachers have been supportive and caring and made the effort to teach our children what they need to know at an appropriate pace. I can't say enough positive things about Keene Mill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Keene Mill is ranked #12 out of 1060 schools in Virginia on schooldigger.com and was selected as one of the top elementary schools by Northern Virginia Magazine! Way to go, Keene Mill, for earning a well deserved 10 out of 10 from Great Schools! Keene Mill has much to celebrate, but most of all, we celebrate our enthusiastic students, supportive parents, and wonderful colleagues. We are truly a community of learners!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 7, 2013

This school is okay. People love it but I think it is okay. There are a lot of nonsense rules, like no tag on the playground and no home cooked items are allowed in school because everything must come with a list of ingredients. My son is in the AP program and struggles with the huge transition. Although they constantly talk about the transition 3rd grade holds for the AP kids, they don't seem to do anything to help the kids with it. They throw work at the kids thinking they will get it because they scored high on a standard test. Kids still need to be taught multiplication. It is a basic skill that is skipped in the AP program. Also kids need to be taught how to write a paragraph, even smart kids need to learn these skills. Overall not excited about the school or the program. The PTA communication is poor and frequently I don't know what is happening in the school until the day before it is happening. I am disappointed overall and I do not think this school deserves a 10 out of 10
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

Our kids are having a great experience in this school. Keene Mill is a great school. The new Principal and assistant principal have brought a big improvement to the school, not just the GT/AAP but the community based school as well. We are happy to see the rating go up to 10 which is a true reflection of the changes. The Principal really cares about parents, teachers, and the students. I have not seen gossips and bad politics in this school. Everyone is treated fairly, and it is not cliquish as some other schools in the neighborhood. The Principal is engaging, open minded and receptive to ideas. Teachers are great, trying to help the students all the time. The front office is very welcoming. These are the quality that we look for in a school, and this school has it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

Keene Mill is an outstanding school! The new principal and AP are dynamic leaders and have brought many positive changes to the school this year. In addtion to the new Smartboards, my children love the pep rallies, the new kangaroo mascot, and Kanga cash rewards that the whole school earns. The staff and students are happy, the school is cleaner than I have ever seen it, and the overall atmosphere is positive and engaging. All of my children have had excellent teachers, and the teachers are really working together this year to provide the right level of challenge for each of the students. The teachers also have done a terrific job helping my children grasp concepts. The PTA president has worked hard to revive our PTA and to get parents involved in the school again. I am so pleased that my children get to attend a wonderful school like Keene Mill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

Keene mill school is the best when it comes to learning. The principal, A.P. and staff are great. Kids are very smart and talented here. If you have a child wants him/her to do well in school and future education for your child, this is THE school you want to start your child!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2011

With the new administration, Keene Mill going through some good changes inside and out. The principal and the assistant principal are on top of things and of character. They genuinely care about the staff, students, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

I agree that the admin. needs an update. For the 1st 1/2 of the school year, I never saw the principal. I have seen him a total of 5 times in the last 2 months. My child is part of the GT/ APP program and I feel that the education is fantastic at K.M. I wish my other child could have such a great education. However, I do feel that the GT/ AAP program gets blamed for a lot. This parents/students are lucky to have the GT/AAP kids if it did not the school would be in the dump. The SES in the area is poor. There is a high number of free lunch/ breakfast programs. And the PTA is mostly funded by the GT/AAP participation. The classroom sizes have been restructured and are much smaller. Some classes have 18-20 students. However, I do think the school needs an EXTREME MAKEOVER.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I definitely think it is time for a change in leadership at Keene Mill. The student to teacher ration is very high and the principal shows a lack of concern for the challenges faced by students in the classroom (bullying and high volume of ESL).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

My first grade son is having a much better experience this year, as he has grown/matured. However, his teacher has had a tremendous impact on his learning. She is newly out of college, relates well to the children, and handles their varying energy levels with ease. My son is quite active and, as he made the transition to first grade, needed alternatives to desk work. After consulting with his teacher, she varied his work and surroundings so that he never became bored. As a result, his reading and communication skills have soared. I attribute much of his success to his teacher's open mind and not giving way to prejudgements. Additionally, my son enjoys the SACC program. There is consistency in the teachers, they are conscientious and provide a variety of activities throughout the year. Lastly, the PTA recently requested more parental involvement for next year, which I plan to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

I feel like my child suffered at this school as most of the attention goes to GT, Special Ed and ESL. Teachers are overwhelmed by the ever-changing ESL population which takes the attention away from others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

The Principal does not maintain much communication with parents and the teachers don't seem as engaged as in years past. Neither our child, or us felt that this past school year was a good one for learning. There are many good teachers there, but the school seems to be slipping some compared to years past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

education is below the standard, principal is not interested in making a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

Keene Mill is a great school, I just don't like their SACC program. My daughter tells me that when the children act up, everyone is punished. She thinks that it is unfair and so do I. We would like new rules established for SACC and nicer, better teachers. Overall, I like Keene Mill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

I have two daughters that just completed kindergarten and the other 1 and 2 grades at this school. The new principle, Mr. Rousos is excellent! I have no complaints about the teachers my girls have had and the front office staff is very nice and helpful. Parent involvement is great...love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students87%
Male students80%
Black students44%
Asian students81%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students81%
Female students79%
Male students85%
Black students56%
Asian students78%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students97%
Female students96%
Male students98%
Black students86%
Asian students100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students95%
Black students93%
Asian students95%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students98%
Female students98%
Male students97%
Black students100%
Asian students95%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students92%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English97%

English: Writing

All Students95%
Female students97%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students93%
Female students89%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students90%
Female students84%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students98%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English99%

Math

All Students97%
Female students100%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities92%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students85%
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Virginia Board of Education Excellence Award (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Pennies for Patients (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Clubs
  • Dance club: Zumba

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • FLEX
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: FLEX

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:10 am
School end time
  • 3:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:15 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Renee C. Miller
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (703) 644-4795

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Response to Intervention
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • FLEX
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • Kiss and Ride
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Elite Martial Arts
  • Prince of Peace Lutheran Church
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Run Fit Kids & Kanga Kruisers
Girls sports
  • Run Fit Kids & Kanga Kruisers

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club: Zumba
  • Foreign language club: FLEX
  • Girls on the run
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Irving Middle School
Lake Braddock Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6310 Bardu Ave
Springfield, VA 22152
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 644-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Accotink Academy
Springfield, VA


St. Bernadette School
Springfield, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT