Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Key Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 798 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

I have a daughter in 8th grade and another that just left this school and is now in 9th grade. Our experience has been incredible. Both of my daughters have excelled at this school. The principal and vice principal are real humans who care about the children. My daughter's were involved with band and did several hours of volunteer work in the community. I highly recommend this school. My third daughter will be attending soon and I'm happy about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2012

My daughter didn't want to go to this school because all her friends were going to another school (boundary issues). Sending her here was by far the best choice ever. She loves this school. The after school activities are great. She started off taking two honors classes, but I am grateful that her english teacher was able to see that she needed to be pushed more and moved her up to honors english. The band director is excellent, the drama/speech teacher is a riot. Back to school night, two weeks after school started, I walked into the school, told several teachers and the principal my last name only and they knew exactly who my daughter was (it was a good thing!) Yes it is out of the pot and into the fire coming from elementary and there are many students who struggle more than my daughter but I know that the staff loves all the students and helps as much as they can. Some of her teachers do "teach to the tests" which I don't really like, but she is still learning so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

I was very apprehensive about sending my child to Key, then subsequently Lee. I have heard many rumors over the years and know that parents in other more affluent parts of Fairfax Co looked down upon these schools. But, with not wanting to move I held my breath when my child entered 7th grade there. Boy, was I surprised! My child was in all honors classes and I found the majority of the teachers very competent. The 7th grade honors math teacher may be the best the county offers. The school is IMMACULATE! Really! The halls and floors always shine when I walk in. The principles are VERY involved. I was surprised that both the principle and the 7th grade asst. knew my child by name. It was nice to see the students eagerly chatting with them at one evening school function. Plus my child scored all 600's on SOL's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

This is our first year at Key Middle School. Our daughter loves the school and the teachers. Principals are very hands on and very much in contact with the students which I believe is a plus. Couldn't be happier with Key Middle School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

Being a Fairfax County school, the level of education is outstanding at Key M.S. The principal is very involved and interacts with the students. She has 'cleaned house' so to speak, and safety issues from the past are not a concern anymore. My children have enjoyed and are currently enjoying their experience at Key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

This is our first year at Key Middle School. I couldn't be more pleased. The administration staff is always helpful, positive and pleasant. You always see the principal and assistant principals in the hallways and about the school. The teachers my son has had this year have been wonderful. They have gone above just teaching the students - they actually care about the students! A huge thumbs up for Key Middle School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Teachers are great, safety isn't an issue, parents are invovled, principal has great ideas and a love for the kids, Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

This was our first year at Key and it has been a great school so far. While it is a large school, the individual pods for the grades key the small and personal feel very real. They also recognized excellence in my son and are providing him with honors courses next year. So glad we have Key!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

Key Middle School teachers relate well to their students. The school atmosphere is very friendly. My son chose to attend Key Middle School rather than participate in the gifted and talented program because he preferred to go to school with his friends. Thanks to great teachers, a positive school environment, and limited homework, he has scored perfect on most of his SOLs. Key Middle School's after school program is the largest in the area offering something for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Key's honors program is wonderful. My daughter had lost interest in math. Her teachers renewed her enthusiasm. The kids work hard but aren't overloaded with work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

Key has great teachers and a supper principal and staff. It has challenging classes and a wide variety of after-school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2010

Key is a pretty good school, there are a lot of oppurtunities and many good teachers! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

My daughter is in 8th grade and has had a terrific experience at Key. She chose to go here instead of the gifted and talented middle school and has had great teachers in all her honors classes at Key. They have a wonderful, vibrant after-school program. Principal Penny Myers is first rate and has completely changed the expectations and atmosphere at the school in the 3 1/2 years she has been there. My son, now a junior at Lee, also had a great experience there and was well prepared for advanced level high school classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

This is a great school with very friendly kids. The principal Penny Myers is simply the best and the teachers are dedicated and hard working. My daughter loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

226 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

356 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students80%
Male students78%
Black students83%
Asian students88%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial81%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students65%
Female students64%
Male students65%
Black students70%
Asian students72%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial75%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students81%
Male students73%
Black students71%
Asian students87%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial69%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students73%
Female students78%
Male students69%
Black students76%
Asian students91%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial69%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students44%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students74%
Female students76%
Male students73%
Black students69%
Asian students88%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial85%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English82%

Science

All Students74%
Female students71%
Male students77%
Black students69%
Asian students91%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial69%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
Female students94%
Male students92%
Black students82%
Asian students96%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial75%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities100%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students95%
Proficient in English93%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Christopher S. Larrick

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6402 Franconia Rd
Springfield, VA 22150
Phone: (703) 313-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Key Center School
Springfield, VA




Chesapeake Academy
Woodbridge, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT