Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lee High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
English and History Departments. Mr. Daly, Mrs. Cox, Mrs. Alemian, Mrs. Knickmeyer, and Mrs. Carey

Lee High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
Some are absolutely Amazing. In some cases you should have just hired a student to teach.


Lee High School 1

Posted May 02, 2016
- a student
Graduated 2015. I would say the Chemistry department is absolutely useless. Flooding the students with busy work like they were substitutes. Non-honor classes don't have a curriculum. SOOO MANY ESOL Students

Lee High School 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a community member
Lee is an amazing school. The teachers, clearly, care a lot about their students and go through great lengths to help them succeed. Lee is a prime example of what a community should be like. When I attended Lee, I was a chubby, quiet bookworm who practically lived in the library. I knew the librarians by name and would even volunteer there in my free time. Even so, I never felt alone or bullied. The students were very welcoming and, not once, did I feel like I was unsafe or unwelcome. Of course, the building is not ideal and the school could probably do better with handling their budget, but every school has their imperfections. Some people say that high school was the worst four years of their life and that college was their best four years. For me, it was the complete opposite. I found myself missing Lee because the teachers that I had were amazing (give or take one or two) and the friends I made in the unlikeliest social groups were the closest friends I've ever had. There were no dumb jocks, cool Asians, Plastics, or art freaks - we were all just students taking the same journey through the education system and that's how we saw each other.

Lee High School 4

Posted September 19, 2014
- a parent
Lee HS is a great school. Many people want to give it a bad reputation and they have never set foot in the school. The diversity of the student population is one of its strongest assest, students are blessed to have such diversity and learn from it. My son has been at Lee for 4 years and has enjoyed it. Teachers do care and so does the administration. Our new principal is very proactive and I feel will keep Lee on its path of moving forward. I had another child that attended adn graduated from West Springfield HS and if they had to do it over again they would choose Lee over WSHS. If more parents would get involved (and it they have over the past few years) Lee would be the best school in the county. Go Lancers!


Lee High School 4

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
I have to girls that graduated from this school 2012 and 2014. They had a wonderful experience! They were able to participate in sports that they never would have been able to in a different school in this county. Both girls did Honors/IB courses. Teachers genuinely care about the students and seem enjoy their jobs. I have never seen anything like it. My daughter attended Irviing middle school which has high ratings but I did not feel the connection/nurturing with this school's teachers as lee high school. I moved here from another state and people tried to scare me about sending my girls here. However, I read the parent comments on this site and decided to give it a try. I never regretted it. Last but not least the kids are wonderful and all know each other!

Lee High School 1

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
I was very disappointed in this school, that my son attended for his sophomore year. They don't enforce the dress code or the behavior code. It was very difficult and sometimes took several days to contact the counselor and some teachers. I was also disappointed in the band program.

Lee High School 4

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
I am glad we have a good communication with staff, and teachers. It is important to allow freshmen to begin the independent study, and work load without parent and teachers reminders.


Lee High School 4

Posted December 15, 2013
- a parent
Lee High School's educators are absolutely tops. We have a freshman and sophomore attending and we find that all of their educators from counselors to teachers are deeply invested in preparing our girls for college. The staff avails itself of technology to provide us timely information and feedback on all academic issues and this allows us to do our parts as parents. Equally important they make themselves routinely available through Lancer Time and after school to review challenging course material. We appreciate them all. comprehend the material. The educators are making numerous sacrifices to tur

Lee High School 5

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
My daughter goes to Lee High School. She is getting an excellent education through the AB program. The principal is excellent and the class sizes are small. The teachers work hard and are very responsive. Good school overall. I give it an A.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lee High School
6540 Franconia Rd, Springfield, VA  22150
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (703) 924-8300
Last modified Lee High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top