Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ravensworth Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 519 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

This school did a terrible job addressing my child's special needs. He was constantly stressed out because the emphasis was always on the SOLs and not how he could learn the materials. The special ed teachers often bullied him and should be considered a shame on the teaching profession. We pulled him out of Fairfax County Schools completely and he has been thriving in a private school that completely focuses on him, not the test. For the first time he is learning that learning can b e fun, not a chore. If your child is special needs, RUN, don't walk from this school! The only reason I can give this school a star is because of the excellent art teacher; otherwise I rate it ZERO!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2014

We have been in the Ravensworth neighborhood and school for two years now, my son is in the second grade. He is not in the immersion program, I prefer that he gets his math and science skills down instead of a second language at this point. We are very excited about the new principal and the security changes she is making. The staff is always very kind to him, including the nurse who will call if he gets hurt, and his teacher is always open to communications with me. He is in a happy and secure environment, and we love that he can walk to school (with supervision of course)! He does not have special needs so I cannot speak for those folks, I can only say that we have been pleased. He is reading by leaps and bounds and he loves the art program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I have two children at Ravensworth Elementary who have had an overall positive experience with the school. We have a new principal who has already brought new energy and positive changes to the new year. I have never witnessed bullying at the school, but sincerely hope that the new administration will adhere to a no tolerance policy. Our children deserve a safe and happy learning atmosphere. Our school needs parent involvement in order to be successful and volunteers are greatly appreciated by the teachers and PTA!!! Ravensworth does have talented and caring staff and teachers in the immersion program! The first year can be overwhelming and I do hope that the new principal is able to restructure the curriculum and make the program more cohesive for the lower grades. I have heard from numerous families and have experienced with my own kids, that if you can get past the first year in immersion...it is rewarding and worth it. I am excited about the possibilities for our school and think we are on the road to excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I can't speak for the bullying complaints in previous reviews, but my experience with Ravensworth over the past 4 years has been mostly positive. The teachers are committed, the staff is fabulous, and with the new principal, we already see many much needed changes in the school. Sure, there are a few bad apples, but you get that at any school. The new administration has brought about a new energy and a new way of doing things, even in these first few weeks of school. Starting last year, the PTA has been committed to bringing in classroom hands-on STEM workshops, science fairs, chess club, after school fitness, Global language classes and so much more. Parents are involved in the school and there is always a large turnout for family fun activities like the ice cream social, bingo night, parents night out, movie night, etc. This school is making great strides to become one of the best in the area! I can't wait to rate this school 5 stars in a year or two!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

I have been a parent at Ravensworth Elementary for 5 years now. There have been ups and downs as there would be with any school. We are all super excited about the recent changes with the administration. There is a new level of energy that has already brought on positive changes and fostering a renewed sense of school spirit. We are also going to be undergoing a complete renovation over the next few years. My kids are in the Spanish immersion program. First grade is a challenge for many different reasons. Just get through it...some of the brightest, most gifted teachers are further along in the program. This school community is supported by two great neighborhoods (Ravensworth and Signal Hill). The type of neighborhoods where people know each other and come together to get things done. We have found a place where kids actually WALK to school! We could always use more volunteers, but we manage to do a lot of special programs above and beyond the general curriculum because parents step up and volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

Bullying behavior is accepted at this school as documented by several different families. It is unbelievable that the administration has no clue how to handle reports of bullying that are even witnessed by other students. Run, as far away as you can, if you happen to fall within their school boundaries. Just read other reviews on this site in regards to bullying. It is happening and is allowed to continue. How sad for the poor little victims who speaks up and are met with no solutions from administration. Clearly, it is a huge problem that continues year after year. We are glad this school no longer has any part of our child's life.


Posted June 19, 2013

I'm sorry to hear that bullying is still going on. My son also endured years of taunting by other students under the same administration. Even then the attitude was "Johnny you shouldn't do that" and that was that. My son still talks about being harassed and he graduated four years ago! There are teachers who are outright mean to the students. If a child is special needs or doesn't fit in Fairfax County's neat little box, don't expect understanding. If you can, look for another school. If not, good luck.


Posted June 18, 2013

The teachers are not to blame for this failing school. The administration is incompetent. If your child is middle of the road or can qualify for GT centers, you'll be fine. Anything else, you will be spending a lot of time fighting for what they need and know that this school will fight back, belittle you, insult you, and bully you. Bullying is out of control in this school and addressed but not enforced. All 3 of my children attended this school and all 3 hated it. All 3 endured bullying. It is not a happy place to be educated. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

We are moving at the end of the month to another area and our child will go to another school... we are really sorry about leaving Ravenswoth ES... It has been a great place for our son. If we could, we ll stay there. A great community and he has a great teacher in Kindergarten and 1st grade. Thank you for everything. We ll miss you!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

My kids have been going to this school for 3 years now and love it. Kids are friendly, teachers are wonderful, and my kids can't wait to go to school in the morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

This school is awful. The administration is very difficult to deal with, ignores parents' concerns, fails to encourage excellence in teachers and does not support the few good teachers that have not yet left. It is clear that neither the administration nor the teachers recognize that the target audience at elementary schools is children--children of differing learning styles and personalities. Parent involvement is weak and the PTA is at constant risk of being disbanded simply because the administration does not support parent involvement. It's a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

I have 2 kids in the immersion program at Ravensworth. While I think it is a good program overall, we have been quite frustrated with the lack of good communication to parents about assignments and tests. Teachers are supposed to post homework assignments, notices of upcoming tests and study materials on the Blackboard 24/7 site. None of our kids' teachers do so. Making matters worse, the school sends home piles of paper, but again, often there is no explanation whatsoever about the units/subject matter being covered in the class, nor any guidance for non-native Spanish speaking parents. The classroom work and homework is copied from a workbook with VERY poorly written Spanish. Even fluent Spanish speakers in our extended family have trouble understanding the homework problems because the Spanish is written so awkwardly. The immersion teachers don't seem to want to help parents by providing extra resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2012

There is a wonderful community feeling at this school and I am so pleased that our daughter attends Ravensworth. There are many opportunities for parents to get involved and the administration is very welcoming to parents in the school. Our daughter is in 2nd grade in the immersion program and I am torn about whether to stay here or go to a full time/level 4 Advanced Academics (GT) school next year because we love the school culture and community so much. But some teachers are better than others and generally there is room for improvement in parent communication about academics. Immersion is not a fit for all and can be the cause of some negative reviews by parents,.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

My son has been in the immersion program for two years and I am not sure what the parent who posted on Jan 20 is talking about. His class size is 20 students. I think his first grade class was 23 students. Even if this was true it may make sense since some parents realize during the first year that immersion is not the right fit for their kids. Parent conferences were great and I never heard stories of teachers screaming at the kids. The teachers respond to emails and phone calls quickly. My guess is Jan 20 child did not fit the immersion program and rather than finding a better fit or doing some supplemental work they are taking this out on the school. I am sure there are teachers that could be better but there are parents not supporting the school appropriately also. I have had the experience of bringing my concerns to face to face meetings and I did feel I responded to in a professional manner. My main concern was that the Spanish teacher sometimes spoke English when the program is supposed to be Spanish all the time during math and science. If you have the chance I would send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

We pulled our kids from the immersion program after one year. Whatever Fairfax Schools once were, that is no longer the case. Our children's classroom sizes were 29 and 27, rules indicated no immersion class over 24 because of the nature of the program. The size of the classes reduced teachers to child managers, not teachers. Conferences were exercises in message management; everything was "fine" and "no problems" smiles all around. The kids tell a different story of the teachers screaming at the students to "shut up" . When confronted with said information in conference, teachers would delve into their displeasures and dislikes of the administration. In a separate conference with administration to express concern about teacher behavior, administration would delve into their displeasures and dislikes of the teachers. Professionalism does not exist at this school. I would like to add more about the staff and administration of this school, my displeasures and dislikes, but what would be the point. They didn't care about our concerns when we were there in meetings, face to face..they certainly are not going to care about a review on a website. If you can, avoid this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

Excellent Spanish Emmersion Program. The teachers are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

no stars curent leadership is ruining school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

The Good: Excellent SAAC; Very clean; Most teachers are good, some are excellent; Safety is very good; PTA Grace Art and Assemblies; Excellent Admin. Assistants. The Bad: The Principal does not interact well with parents. Parents must complain to have some basic issues (e.g. class size, emergency communication) rectified. Critical input may be met with punitive administration measures. K-3 gifted differentiation weak or non-existent. Bottom line is Admin. spends energy 'controlling' parents rather than working with them. Too bad because that is weighted most heavily in my rating...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

I can only speak for the afternoon preschool program, but I am amazed at the communication and the dedication of the staff. My son's teacher is making a big difference in her student's lives, and she is one of the best teachers I have encountered. I am so happy that my son was placed at Ravensworth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

A new principal this 07-08 year and new solutions at Ravensworth have greatly improved student-teacher ratios and allowed Spanish-immersion children and non-immersion children to mix in classes within a given grade. The new principal is offering assistance to parents who's children are in the immersion program for subjects such as math (taught in Spanish). My child is not in immersion but I am happy to see teacher resources spread more evenly. The music and arts program are on target and the school is business-partnering with a martial arts establishment for PE. LD programs are important to the school, but I don't know enough to comment. There's strong parental involvement but the same parents rather than new faces which would help spread the work. There's a Chess Club but no other extracurricular activities planned by PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students68%
Female students65%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students83%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students61%
Female students56%
Male students65%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students67%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English69%

Science

All Students85%
Female students84%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students61%
Male students69%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students31%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students56%
Female students52%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students62%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White students59%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students83%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students73%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English82%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students78%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students64%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students72%
Female students87%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students82%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students69%
Female students78%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students73%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students46%
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students87%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students88%
Female students86%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5411 Nutting Dr
Springfield, VA 22151
Phone: (703) 426-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Holy Spirit School
Annandale, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT