Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Springfield High School

Public | 9-12 | 2309 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

Whatever you do, do not have your child take French. When you start a foreign language, you are saddled with it, and as a result I am now stuck with a teacher who never teaches us anything and expects us to know what we're doing 100% of the time. Honors classes are not as scary as they sound do not be afraid to take them. They are a great alternative to AP courses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2013

My son graduated from West Springfield High School. It is a good high school. We moved from Michigan to Virginia. My son found the school officials friendly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2012

WSHS is on the safest HS in the county. We moved from Lake Braddock school because there were entirely too many students there 4500+. My daughter loves WSHS and the administration does a great job of keeping the parents informed, especially when something unforeseen happens. The school DOES NOT try to hide incidents that occur at or around the school to make the school look better. Student safety is WSHS #1 priority and I have the emails from the school to prove it. Anyone who thinks WSHS does not keep the parents informed must not have an email account. I have countless emails from WSHS. One could actually become annoyed from being too informed by the administration. Anytime something happens at our school or anywhere else, we receive an email from our school and the FCPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

This school is crawling with an abundance of MS 13 gang members. BEWARE!!! Watch your daughters and sons very closely. They are constantly recruiting the boys for the gang, and the girls for underage prostitution. The administration refuses to acknowledge a problem, therefore, nothing is done about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

I totally disagree with the person who submitted the review about IEP students. Our son transferred in this year (as a junior) from a very non-responsive high school in another state to WSHS. We have been thrilled (not exaggerating) with the support we have received from his case manager, counselor, SE director, special education teachers and general education teachers. The support we have received is outstanding. Not only has our son's academic confidence greatly increased, but his grades have shot up to A's and B's from mostly Cs previously. We have emailed the principal directly and he responded immediately to our comments. We thought about moving to a different area but will not until our son graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

Our three children have recieved above average education here. The vast majority of students enter college upon graduation. Most of the teachers work very hard but there is some teaching to the test. The staff are committted to the school's success and so are the parents and local community. There is a large variety of activities available to the students with high parent involvement. There is a balance between competitive sports and other offerings to include music, dance, language, debate, and many others. The students take on leadership roles and are invlolved in student governement as well. I would definately recommend this school to people moving into the area. This school is on the list of schools to be renovated too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

If your child is in special education and has an IEP, avoid this school at all costs. If your child is in the regular education program, the school is very good but not great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

Now in my second marriage with the second set of teenagers--I believe this school continues to be solid academically, socially and physically. This is one case where smaller size is better, in my opinion, unlike some of the "secondary schools" in the county which have grades 7-12 on one campus - just too big and too much opportunity for interaction between middle schoolers and older kids. The school is closely tied to the surrounding neighborhood and gets great support from families as well as businesses. Sports are strong but not over emphasized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

We really like West Springfield, we transferred from Robinson for the AP versus the IB program but are struck by how friendly people here are compared to Robinson.Refreshing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

This is one of the best high schools in the Northern Virginia area and that's saying a lot! One of my children graduated from West Springfield and another is there now. Both love it. The students support each other and most of them are good kids; the community supports the school as do the alumni, some of whom are now leaders in their fields; the teaching staff and administration are caring and dedicated. Most importantly, the student body is not so large that individuality suffers. Academics, extra-curricular activities and community interaction are excellent. The only problem, which will hopefully be resolved soon, is that the physical plant needs renovation. But I'd rather have my kids here than in a beautifully renovated super-school where they are one of multiple thousands
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

This is a Great school! The kids are good kids, teachers are top notch. I have 4 kids in the high school and wouldn't trade it. They are getting a really good, solid education far better than expected. Not only are the sports programs good but the whole school rallies behind each program. The kids seem to be very supportive of one another overall. The staff is helpful, and my kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2005

This was once a very good school. The quality of students has declined in teh area with the shift in population demographics.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

My son has had some wonderful teachers and great friends at WSHS. One of the great strengths of the school is the college counseling. My son's counselor for all four years, Mrs. Cohen, is superb. She is making a difference in his life and mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Great school! The administration really goes out of their way to take care of the students. The curriculum is quite diverse (something for all tastes). My children played soccer at the school and I would have to say the boys and girls programs are top rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

I'm not a parent from this school, but I'm a former student of WSHS. In fact I just graduated from this school past this year. To be frank, I loved this school! Our teachers and our administers were wonderful and they really cared about our personal successes in life. Because of them and the relationship that I formed with staff members, I feel that I am now as prepared as I can be for the future that awaits me.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

171 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

600 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

590 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

556 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

565 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

532 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

408 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students76%
Female students77%
Male students76%
Black students50%
Asian students75%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English76%

Algebra II

All Students90%
Female students91%
Male students89%
Black students88%
Asian students88%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial92%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English92%

Biology

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students93%
Black students90%
Asian students91%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial100%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English96%

Chemistry

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students99%
Black students100%
Asian students96%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities98%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English98%

Earth Science

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students94%
Black students73%
Asian students89%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English97%

English: Reading

All Students97%
Female students98%
Male students97%
Black students94%
Asian students95%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial95%
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students86%
Proficient in English99%

English: Writing

All Students96%
Female students97%
Male students95%
Black students94%
Asian students94%
Hispanic95%
Multiracial89%
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities77%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English97%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female students90%
Male students83%
Black students83%
Asian students94%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial100%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English89%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students98%
Female students97%
Male students98%
Black students96%
Asian students95%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities93%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English98%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students98%
Female students99%
Male students98%
Black students95%
Asian students97%
Hispanic96%
Multiracial100%
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities92%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English99%

World History II

All Students96%
Female students95%
Male students97%
Black students94%
Asian students93%
Hispanic93%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Mark Greenfelder

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • French

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • College/career center
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Organize cultural events
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6100 Rolling Rd
Springfield, VA 22152
Phone: (703) 913-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Accotink Academy
Springfield, VA




The Dominion School
Springfield, VA


GW Community School
Springfield, VA


Annandale High School
Annandale, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT