Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newington Forest Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 641 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 7, 2013

Newington Forest has exceeded all of our expectation. Our children are consistently being challenged, the teachers are very hands-on, and the administration is very professional. Any families considering this school district will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

Our children have attended Newington Forest since Kindergarten - we now have one in 6th and one in 4th. Overall we are extremely pleased with the school and the teachers. The sense of community is strong and the diversity is amazing. Experience wise it has been a blessing for our children to meet kids from all over the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

An excellent community school with friendly teachers and administrators who instilled a love of learning in my child. We have always felt welcomed and encouraged by everyone there. Newington Forest is a diverse community with a strong sense of parental involvement. We, unfortunately, will be moving to a new school but will miss our Newington Forest family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

My son will be a second grader and just loves his school! As parents, we are very pleased with the dedication and hard work that all teachers including staff continuously show. Thank you Newington Forest Elementary!!!!!! Your hard work is noted!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS BEYOND GREAT! MY DAUGTHER IS BEEN HERE SCENCE KINDERGARDEN AND I SACRIFICE NOT TO MOVE OUT OF THE AREA SO THAT SHE CAN FINISH IN THIS SCHOOL. WE ARE SO PROUD AND THANKFULL TO THE SCHOOL STAFF THANK YOU! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

we moved to the area Nov 2011 and I have been very happy with this school! The teachers really helped our kids transition easily from our move and they have addressed their needs quickly. By the time they ended their first semester, the needs of 2 of our children were noticed and means to help them started the following school year. (into the advanced classes and one child to speech). The staff is wonderful, approachable and kind. Definitely recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

My children have been in Newington Forest for 5 years now. I am so impressed with the high quality of teachers who go above and beyond for my children. I have a Special Needs son and his needs have been met beyond my expectations. Teachers and Office staff are happy and welcoming. Mr. Kren is a great Principal who obviously has hired a staff that creates this wonderful environment for children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

Teachers,staff and parent relationships are above and beyond expe tations. Great experience for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

Good school, excellent teachers/admin, good environment, very inclusive, glad to have had my children here. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

Excellent neighborhood school. Very warm and open environment. Every staff member is so positive and accommodating for parents and kids. Mr. Kren is a great Principal who is always making decisions based on what is best for kids. Thumbs up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

Great School, wonderful teachers and administration. My children have flourished at this school. The quality of teachers and the positive climate at this school start from the example and great leadership from the Principal. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

I can't say enough good things about Newington Forest. My children have been attending this school since 2005. One has graduated and moved on to middle school and the other is still in attendance. My oldest is thriving in middle school thanks to his education at NFS. The teachers, staff and administration are like a family to us. The PTA is well-organized and very involved. It is amazing to me that so many caring, wonderful people are gathered together in the same place. I wouldn't trade our experience at this school for anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

My child has gone to school here since 3rd grade 2 years ago, and loved it there. This year has been a very bad experience. The team of teachers that my child has this year are not to our satisfaction. My child is afraid of the teachers, and he/she is not the only one. I have informed leadership about this, and the yelling continues. This team is harsh, unflexible, and unreliable. Our parent info night seemed like a lecture night. I really want to switch my student, and If I had been given the choice earlier, I would have. I am NOT the only one who feels this way. How can my child continue to love school, when he/she is afraid to go? Makes me sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

My child has had amazing teachers throughout his time at Newington Forest. I'm grateful for how accessible the principals are and how the school works to address academic and behavioral concerns. It's a great neighborhood school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

My kids are happy here and have learned an amazing amount of things in a short time. The teachers and staff are caring and take the time to address any concerns that parents and students may have. There are plenty of things to do and learn at Newington Forest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

We moved to Springfield in June, 2007 from Ft Campbell, KY. So far I'm pleased with the school's curriculum, teachers, and administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

Since Donna Lewis retired, the school and it's leadership started going down hill. The best thing the school had going for it was Mr Kraft (teacher) and he was promoted to AP at another school two years ago. The teachers no longer do anything extra with the kids like: making a movie in 4th grade, a 'real' Medieval feast with turkey and a big banquet of food, games and songs of that time, no more ' Classical Parents event' where the parents, kids and teacher read a book and have a fun activity afterwards. It seems to be just a job and nothing more to many teacher. It's sad to see this happen and hopefully things will change for the better.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 1, 2005

I will only say this. My husband has been deployed for over 5 months now and has several more to go. If it weren't for Mr. Kraft (6th grade), I think my head would have crushed from pressure. I think all teachers should be molded and trained from him. He is by far the best teacher I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, working with, and to educate my child. He has CONSTANT contact with me, whether I initiate it, or not. I know my son's level at all times. I can not say that about my other son, but I can say this about Mr. Kraft/my son. I really wish every teacher could come from his mold. I love the school, the activities they offer are INCREDIBLE! We have to transfer, but I can't bring myself to withdraw them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

What impresses me most about this school is their ability to acommodate learners at all different levels. Students are pre and post-tested for each lesson and are then grouped accordingly. The multi-age classes are wonderful and we feel they have contributed much to our children's learning experience. The teachers are wonderful, highly educated and just plain excellent. Our children have attended three other schools in the last five years, and Newington Forest exceeds these schools by a wide margin. We plan to stay here just so our kids can attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2004

I just moved here from California and I can see the improvement in my children's learning! I'm lucky to be part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students74%
Male students53%
Black students59%
Asian students75%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students60%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English62%

Math

All Students48%
Female students46%
Male students50%
Black students59%
Asian students75%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
White students41%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities51%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English46%

Science

All Students88%
Female students93%
Male students84%
Black students81%
Asian students87%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students96%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students56%
Female students59%
Male students54%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White students63%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students71%
Female students70%
Male students72%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students80%
Male students82%
Black students71%
Asian students88%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English88%

English: Writing

All Students78%
Female students78%
Male students78%
Black students50%
Asian students79%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students59%
Female students55%
Male students65%
Black students42%
Asian students55%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English62%

Science

All Students65%
Female students67%
Male students62%
Black students36%
Asian students87%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students90%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students95%
Female students94%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities86%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students86%
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8001 Newington Forest Ave
Springfield, VA 22153
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 923-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Silverbrook Elementary School
Fairfax Station, VA


Halley Elementary School
Fairfax Station, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT