Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Springfield, VA
Students enrolled: 641

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newington Forest Elementary School 2

Posted December 12, 2014
- a parent
If your child is an average or an above average kid, you will love this school. 2 of my children are and they had a great experience with great teachers! My 3rd child had problems and the obvious thing to do with him was to constantly send him to the office and call me and make us feel like a horrible parent and put bandaids on the problem. After we moved recently we found out thru comprehensive testing at his new school, that red flags were obvious (hello!) and that he was actually autism spectrum. He could have received services thru the best county in the nation, but instead, we had to find out from a whole other school that actually he needed help and services, instead of possible suspensions and harshness. The office staff is great to those they like. If we move back, I will avoid this school!

Newington Forest Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
The teachers really care. Besides great effort in teaching, they care to be good people. My son's 2nd grade teacher came to his championship football game to cheer him on. Sadly, a friend of mine passed away recently. The teacher of the deceased's niece came to the celebration of life to support her student. My older son went to the school years ago. When he visits during a function and sees his old teachers, he always thanks them for being awesome. I ve seen tears of joy in their eyes when they see him. He is now an honor roll student at South County Middle School. Newington Forest Elementary School has been fantastic for my sons!


Newington Forest Elementary School 4

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
I would not judge this school on its test scores: it is a great school (my kid did poorly on the SOL writing because it said you can write the essay as long or short as you'd like: my lazy boy did two sentence per paragraph). My four kids have gone there since 2008 (youngest will be in 3rd), and of course we have had not-so-great teachers; however, the great teachers have balanced that out. Parents are VERY involved! I sometime wonder where all the PTA money goes... Any way, the Office team is the WORST! They are so rude and act like they have to go out of their way to do their job for you, but the principle and VP are super. Besides the Office team, the only other bad part are the extremely high taxes we have to pay, and yet the district Needs more money!

Newington Forest Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
Newington Forest has exceeded all of our expectation. Our children are consistently being challenged, the teachers are very hands-on, and the administration is very professional. Any families considering this school district will not be disappointed.

Newington Forest Elementary School 4

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
Our children have attended Newington Forest since Kindergarten - we now have one in 6th and one in 4th. Overall we are extremely pleased with the school and the teachers. The sense of community is strong and the diversity is amazing. Experience wise it has been a blessing for our children to meet kids from all over the world.


Newington Forest Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
An excellent community school with friendly teachers and administrators who instilled a love of learning in my child. We have always felt welcomed and encouraged by everyone there. Newington Forest is a diverse community with a strong sense of parental involvement. We, unfortunately, will be moving to a new school but will miss our Newington Forest family!

Newington Forest Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
My son will be a second grader and just loves his school! As parents, we are very pleased with the dedication and hard work that all teachers including staff continuously show. Thank you Newington Forest Elementary!!!!!! Your hard work is noted!

Newington Forest Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS BEYOND GREAT! MY DAUGTHER IS BEEN HERE SCENCE KINDERGARDEN AND I SACRIFICE NOT TO MOVE OUT OF THE AREA SO THAT SHE CAN FINISH IN THIS SCHOOL. WE ARE SO PROUD AND THANKFULL TO THE SCHOOL STAFF THANK YOU! :)


Newington Forest Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2011
- a parent
My children have been in Newington Forest for 5 years now. I am so impressed with the high quality of teachers who go above and beyond for my children. I have a Special Needs son and his needs have been met beyond my expectations. Teachers and Office staff are happy and welcoming. Mr. Kren is a great Principal who obviously has hired a staff that creates this wonderful environment for children and parents.

Newington Forest Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2011
- a parent
Teachers,staff and parent relationships are above and beyond expe tations. Great experience for our family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newington Forest Elementary School
8001 Newington Forest Ave, Springfield, VA  22153
(703) 923-2600
Last modified Newington Forest Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newington Forest Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top