Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sangster Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
We are just finishing up our 3rd year at this school and headed into our forth with gusto. We have loved this school!!! I have one child in full time AAP and on child not in full time AAP....both of my children have received wonderful educations. The teachers have been amazing and we love the new principal. She runs a tight ship but that is because she cares about our school, our kids, our teachers and the parents!

Sangster Elementary School 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a community member
We have had a great experience at Sangster, and have found that over the past 2 years, the current principal has introduced some well needed improvements and guidance for the staff. The teachers are responsive, the school has a great atmosphere, and the administration is focused on student achievement and school improvement.


Sangster Elementary School 2

Posted March 11, 2016
- a parent
Our second child is now finishing at Sangster. In the almost decade we've experienced the school, it has steadily declined - especially the last couple of years. Sangster has always had the tendency to be the sort of school parents who like to brag about test scores at cocktail parties love. In the past, I felt like the administration at least was interested in engaging with parents. No longer. The new principal is bureaucratic, inflexible, and condescending. That is clearly starting the permeate the rest of the school. The previous comments about the gossipy and clubby nature of the PTA and the popular crowd are certainly true - but perhaps true everywhere. The teachers are a mixed bag, some years are better than others. The counseling program has been good throughout. We will be very glad when our daughter leaves Sangster after this year.

Sangster Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
Children who are not identified as AAP consistently receive the message that they are not "good enough".

Sangster Elementary School 4

Posted January 07, 2016
- a parent
We have been at Sangster since 2009. During that time, we've had some great teachers and OK teachers, but over the past two years, this school has become so detrimental to the self-esteem of both my children that we are looking for ways to pay for a private school. If your child tests into the AAP program by third grade, all resources are lavished upon them. Should your child be a "gen-ed", they are allowed to be ridiculed by the AAP students. Gen-Ed students follow a completely scripted curriculum - no thinking allowed. Every student's agenda is scripted and identical every day. Yes, there are flexible math and language arts groupings, but by 4th grade, students know if they are "smart" or "dumb". The PE and music and band and strings teachers are absolutely awesome, but the rigid curriculum and the permission for the AAP program to be lauded over other students has overwhelmed the positives of the school.


Sangster Elementary School 3

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been with this school since 2010. In this time, we have weathered numerous principles and even brief periods without one. Despite the inconsistent leadership, I have never had cause to complain in a public manner regarding our experiences - until now. The newest principle has proven herself to be completely uninterested in the well-being of individual students and fails to communicate with or listen to any concerns that parents raise. We fear this attitude will trickle down to the rest of the administration at Sangster and ruin what has until recently been a great school.

Sangster Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2015
- a parent
We've had a wonderful experience at this school. The teachers have been excellent. The staff is helpful and friendly. The PTA strives to improve the student experience. My kids are happy and learning a tremendous amount. What more could you hope for?

Sangster Elementary School 4

Posted July 26, 2014
- a community member
I had a great experience at Sangster this last year. I come from a military family, and spent 6th grade at Sangster. I had an awesome bunch of teachers. We had some homework, although not a lot. We had fun while still learning. Some of the kids were great people, and I couldn't be more happy with the friends I made this year. Specials were amazing, and I couldn't have been more happy about how the year turned out. But, I give Sangster 4 stars. My gripes are in Musical Theater and the sever GT and Gen Ed division. In theater, everyone who tried out had to get a part, so it turned into 65 kids on a small stage. Also, a lot of people with amazing voices got put in extras, and only her favorites got leads. Some of them had good voices and some there were people with not so good voices. Another thing, the person running it had no control over the kids. Everyone talked and talked, even while others were preforming. And the GT Gen ED division was terrible. There was no real social interaction, and one thought that the other was snobbish and rude, or know it all's and dumb. It was not true in anyway, as both had good people. Overall, it was a good school, but some things could be better.


Sangster Elementary School 3

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
We are a military family transferred to northern Virginia. Sangster is it is a typical southern school. The Fairfax County Public School system as latched on to the Common Core fad where profiteering belies education. Typical of Virginia schools, we were met by the "sorting hat" for pigeon-holing based on some nebulous criteria. Students in this school are either college bound or McDonald's bound; there is no middle. Students are either taught critical thinking skills, or fantastic regurgitation skills. I've never encountered a more scripted curriculum than at Sangster. Students who are not deemed college material are discouraged from thinking outside the box (it interferes with the script). The grading system is as cryptic as a Nostradamus prophecy; students are graded 4,3,2, or 1 in two areas - academic performance and "effort." Academic performance is based what you would expect - graded tests, papers, and homework. Effort considers subjective factors like academic endurance, group dynamics, and personality traits such as introversion and eye contact. Applying for advanced placement programs is worse than filing taxes. We'll be glad when this assignment is over!

Sangster Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
Good school. High academic standards. Impressive counseling program. Very engaged and helpful to students and parents. Most teachers huddle in groups to gab while bullying and other rude behavior between the kids occurs outside. Unbalanced tech program. Gen Ed kids don't have the same access as GT kids. Parents are generally split on new principal and assistant principal. They are doing a good job implementing new behavior program inside school for being quiet in line, etc. I wish it extended to being kind to others, sharing, being friendly, etc. Principal hired a lot of parents and other inexperienced teachers. PTA can be exclusive. Anyone can join but leadership positions and choice of programs are pushed through by new president who frequently gossips with parents and administrators. She literally laughed at a parent giving an opinion during a PTA meeting. Very different from previous years. A lot of parent involvement during the school day. Not a very culturally sensitive school that doesn't seem like a priority. Nice emphasis on exercise and healthy eating. Great library, music, art and PE programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sangster Elementary School
7420 Reservation Dr, Springfield, VA  22153
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (703) 644-8200
Last modified Sangster Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top