Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

H.H. Poole Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 847 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2013

Academically, I found H.H. Poole to be sufficient. However, we encountered huge discipline issues at this school. Several teachers had no control over the classroom. In addition, the principal was very passive in providing a safe environment for our children. Stafford County promotes an anti-bullying policy quite vocally, but we found that there was no substance behind it at H.H. Poole. They pay lip service to it, but no action. It is hit or miss with teachers. Some were great and provided excellent communication with students and parents. Others seemed to resent questions from student and any parental envolvement. As someone else stated in and earlier post, I found many teachers to be combative and dismissive towards parental interaction. In retrospect (my kids are now in high school), I believe Rodney Thompson is probably the best middle school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

I would note that those who provided poor reviews also had poor writing skills...so consider the source of their disdain. Perhaps they have issues with authority. Our experience with HH Poole has been positive. Aside from the academics and high school prep classes, there are numerous sports programs and other extracurricular activities available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

I am a student, I went to Poole for 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. I have had trouble with the teachers and the way they teach the students. The teachers are frequently trying to find something wrong with what you wear, what you have to say, and any opinons you have. They believe that children don't have the right to voice their opinions. I do not like a few of the staff there. I would prefer you to chose a more resonable school for your child/children.


Posted November 28, 2011

I Think that this school is very good overall. The leadership though is shaky. I feel as if the administration is changing how the school is run every single quarter. Its very hard to keep balance and to get adjusted. This school itself though is wonderful. I learned information way above middle school level. Many things are offered at this school. Good learning environment! The administration has told me many things that they haven't done. If your looking for great admin I suggest a different place! But if that isn't a big issue for you than this is your place!


Posted September 5, 2011

Administrators and teachers were combative and dismissive when concerns were presented to them regarding the well-being of my child. If you have a choice of schools, pick the other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Great program all around. The 3Rs, parent/teacher team concept and extra-curricula events and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

SUCH a great school. i may be biased but... i love it here!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

Have grand child at this school and have had many dealings w/ them.


Posted May 19, 2009

We moved from out of state and are very pleased with HH Poole. They do a great job of transitioning kids into middleschool . It is a safe and great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

i i love this school i mean we are reviewing for the SOLs and everything we even have reviewing afterschool from 3 to 4:15 it is a very good school and we are great in sports too! goOoOo MUSTANGS!!!whoo
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

I am a student at H H Poole and I LOVE it here.Walking to school every day. The teachers are awsome and so is every thing else. This is the best school in the world. Even if it is not in your district. You should go here. I love you H H Poole Middle School. GO MUSTANGS!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

Our oldest went to 6th and 7th grade here -- we wish she could have attended 8th grade as well. The education she received at HH Poole is light years ahead of where we are now. The science program (7th grade) was unbelievable and has gotten my daughter interested in science. They take a serious approach to dress code and behavioral issues at the school. There were many diverse programs for kids to be involved in and the admin. staff were phenomenal. We miss them all! If we are ever stationed in this area again, we will do whatever we need to to make sure our youngest is enrolled in this middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

Great music program and good parent/teacher interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

My daughter is getting a quality education! Level of instruction has high standards. Teachers and staff care about the students. Parents are involved in many areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

I moved to this area because of this school. It is excellent. Teachers, staff, all other personnel. Very happy and recommend this area to friends!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

297 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students84%
Male students76%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities28%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students89%
Female students96%
Male students82%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial94%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students87%
Male students81%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial79%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities52%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students87%
Female students89%
Male students85%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial89%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students79%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial75%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students75%
Female students81%
Male students70%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracial88%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students40%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students77%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students85%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracial93%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Gregory O. Daniel

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Eustace Rd
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 658-6190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Colonial Academy
Stafford, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT