Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stafford Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 659 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2014

Excellent School! Communication, attention to detail and stewardship of the staff is over the top. I'm very satisfied with the results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

We have had 5 children enrolled here in the past few years and all of them recieved nothing but the best of care and top notch education. Our children have also been in schools in 3 other districts (one local, two out of state) and this is by far the best of them all. Everyone, from the administration to the utility workers, knows the kids by name and personality. We both went to schol here 25+ years ago and it still feels like home when you walk in. The staff is very friendly and helpful in any situation. Only once in the last 5 years have I heard of an altercation between students and it was handled with the utmost proffesionalism and respect for the students involved, and the parents as well. The staff consistently emanates an air of love and concern for all of the students. I never have to worry if my children are safe as they have a wonderfully designed contingency plan for any foreseeable situation. In conclusion, I say that although the area's cost of living is maye a bit out of our comfort range currently, I hesitate to move elsewhere simply because I cannot see my kids being treated as well or receiving the same quality of education from any other, nearby locality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2010

I am amazed at the number of students who participate in extra-curriculuar activities that Stafford Elementary offers. The Art Teacher, Ms. Miller and all of the Specialists are just so incredible! The Teachers and Staff are happy, involved and dedicated to the success of this school! The Administration and front office staff are very welcoming and know the children and families! We are lucky to have such a gem of a school in the Stafford Community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

Stafford Elementary is everything a good school should be. The teachers and administration are kind and caring, the curriculum is well rounded and the parents are very involved. My daughter is thriving, we could not be happier with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

The devotion of the teachers and staff is over the top!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

Stafford Elementary is remarkable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2009

You couldn't ask for a better elementary school. It has to be Staffords best kept secret. As in every school there are concerns - the administration addresses them in a professional and timely mannor. The teachers and staff really care about the children! We couldn't be happier and or children are thriving! Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

Teachers do an outstanding job communicating with parents at the primary level. I have children in primary grades at Stafford Elementary and feel I am aware of what my children are learning and doing on a weekly basis by the great communication the Teachers provide. I visit the classroom teacher webpages and school website often and they are updated to inform parents of the events, activities etc... in the school and classroom. I also feel my children are happy, like school and it's because of the caring environment the teachers and school provide. It is a welcoming school with a lot to offer children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

I have had a bad 2007 - 2008 school year. My child's teacher does not repsond to notes that I send to school. The teacher response time to emails is very slow....if she even responds. One of the prinicples promised to contact me in a couple days after I emailed her, it has now been approximately 8 weeks since the incident occured and I have not heard from the prinicple. This has all happened after I was pulled into the a conference, with the teacher, prinicple, counselor, and reading teacher, about a possible retention for my child. I believe when retention is possible for a child, the staff at the school should be more available to communicate to the concerend parent(s).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

We transferred three of our elementary children over to Stafford Elemen from a private school. We could not have been more happier. Our three boys adapted very well, the staff was very welcoming, and most importantly our children now love school. Thanks to all the teachers and staff for making our transition smooth. We've been there two years now with our fourth son completing kindergarten. My children can not wait for school to start again. A very warm and welcoming environment which has nurtured our children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

My child had a long term sub for the first half of the year. I found that it took longer for everyone to get into the swing of things. The class finally got a new teacher who was a very new teacher after Christmas break. As a result, tests were not administered as told and school work did not come home in a timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

This past year both of my children had teachers who were genuinely concerned about every child in their classrooms and did their best to help each child meet their potential. There are many extracurricular activities as well as weekly art, music, computer, Library and PE classes. Each spring a number of enrichment classes are offered after school. These are taught by knowledgeable volunteers. Parent involvement could be better and is improving. The school welcomes and encourages parent involvement in the classrooms. We are moving out of the area and can only hope we are able to go to another school as good as Stafford Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

My experience with SES has been very positive. My girls have had excellent teachers. This is a very child-oriented school. They do a lot of extracurricular activities for the children. The security is very good as well. Both of my girls do very well in school and have received a lot of support to excel. They are not held at the level of the slowest child in the class. The teachers are very cooperative when it comes to dealing with parents. They are very responsive to calls and concerns. The principal is very nice. She seems to interact well with the children. Overall, I would say we've have had a very good experience with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

Our son has attended Stafford Elementary School since Kindergarten. This past year, (his 2nd grade experience), he had a long term sub for about 6 months. I believe, although long term subs must meet certain requirements in education, this does not produce the most conducive setting for learning. What is the answer to such a situation? I'm not quite sure, but if educating our children is truly a priority, then there must be another more productive option. After all, isn't the success of each individual child a priority. I feel as though the entire classes learning experience was compromised. On a more positive note, I did bring my concern to the principal and was reassured that a quality program was taught. I guess only time will tell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2004

Stafford Elementary is a wonderful school. The principal and vice principal and staff are very caring and make every effort to produce a quality learning environment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

101 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students76%
Male students72%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students63%
Female students58%
Male students67%
Black students44%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students79%
Female students75%
Male students83%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students75%
Male students85%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial91%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students76%
Female students80%
Male students71%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial82%
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students88%
Male students90%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%

English: Writing

All Students85%
Female students89%
Male students81%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students80%
Female students80%
Male students81%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students78%
Female students77%
Male students79%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1349 Courthouse Rd
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 658-6340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Colonial Academy
Stafford, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT