Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Stafford, VA
Students enrolled: 680

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Winding Creek Elementary School 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We are fairly new to Winding Creek, but so far we have loved it! My daughter is in 4th grade and simply adores her teacher, Mrs. Knapp. We transferred from Conway,which was an excellent school, but Winding Creek is right up there. Glad we came here!

Winding Creek Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
Winding Creek is a great school to be! My daughter went to school there and now my grand daughter will go starting in September - she is so excited! The teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful - always keeping parents informed about their child's progress. Stafford County school system is a very good place to belong!


Winding Creek Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
The school and administration are absolutely wonderful!! All three of my children have been attending WCES since kindergarten and testing scores are really good. They have positive attitudes, enthusiasm, and are very caring. Out of all the wonderful teachers, we only had one bad experience with a first grade teacher, Mrs. "H", who consistently gossiped to other teachers and substitutes about her students families. Additionally, she gives very thick homework packets each week that is expected to be complete in 4 days. Homework was also given on all holiday breaks including Thanksgiving, Christmas, spring break, and memorial day weekend. Overall, the staff goes above and beyond their call of duty.

Winding Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2012
- a parent
We chose for our children to attend Winding Creek after extensive research and visits to all of the elementary schools in the area. We even evaluated those in neighboring counties. Fortunately, we had the advantage of several co-workers living in the area to gather information. Winding Creek has exceeded our expectations and the teachers have been FANTASTIC for our children. Our kids love the school and the Focus program offered by Stafford county. We have also found the administration of the school to be top notch and very squared away. They take ownership of their programs and keep the school in good condition. The parenting community has fantastic support to supplement their needs.

Winding Creek Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a parent
When we relocated to Virginia, we specifically chose to live in the Stafford County School District. We found the districts to the immediate north and south to not be as highly rated. We also specifically picked Augustine neighborhood in order to get the wonderful trifecta of Winding Creek, Rodney Thompson and Colonial Forge. All are excellent schools. Both of our children are reading above grade level and are challenged. Both have loved all their teachers so far. Winding Creek has good leadership and an active PTO.


Winding Creek Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
Our kids (now in 1st and 3rd) have had nothing but positive experiences at WCES.

Winding Creek Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
I sent two children through WCES. They were challenged with grade level and higher work, and had opportunities to compete in geography bee, word masters, etc. There are many master level teachers in the building, NONE of whom show Disney movies daily or even monthly, unless for a fun event...it IS an elementary school, after all! Don't take my word for this, WCES kids are some of the highest performing in the county, and go on to perform well in middle, high school and college with the support of their wonderful and caring families and teachers. This is evident when you look up the school's test scores, as it is when you walk through the building.

Winding Creek Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
DO NOT recommend this school. We were so dissatisfied with the quality of teachers that we pulled our two children out and home-schooled them for one year and will be sending them to catholic school next year. Each grade has only one good teacher and the others do ineffectual jobs, and parents will do whatever they can to influence the student placements in hopes of getting their child the 'one good' teacher. For example, our daughter finished 1st grade speaking poor english and unable read at a 1st grade level; after I got to know her teacher I understood why. Our son, in third grade, faired no better and spent time each day watching Disney movies, really! I can't believe our taxes go to pay for this level of professionalism. The one bright spot is the music teacher, Mr. 'S', but the negative inertia is worth understanding and being prepared for if you send you child(ren) to WCES.


Winding Creek Elementary School 1

Posted October 08, 2009
- a parent
If you are considering buying a house that feeds to this school, don't. Don't send your kids to any school in Stafford County for that matter. Outside recess is an option left up to the teacher.

Winding Creek Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I can't say enough about Winding Creek. Both my children graduated from Winding Creek and now I have 4 nieces and nephews going through the school. They have many wonderful teachers and deserve this.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winding Creek Elementary School
475 Winding Creek Rd, Stafford, VA  22554
(540) 658-6400
Last modified Winding Creek Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Winding Creek Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top