Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Garrisonville Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 549 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

This school is horrible. The teachers only care about the SOLs. They over utilize SST meetings as a way to weed out children that they don't feel will enhance their SOL scores. Instead of working with the parents , the administration is first to make snap decision for their perceptions of the family unit and look for low hanging fruit options such as medication for the child instead of truly teaching. Family values are disregarded for the sake of a buck# SOL scores= teacher's salaries and bonuses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

As a military family coming from out out town I was very nervous about choosing a home and school in Stafford. We have been nothing but pleased so far with Garrisonville. They really seem to care about their kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

The principal of the schoool is horrible. She needs a lot of coaching and training before even being considered an ok principal. I moved my child out of this school because of her lack of professionalism, they should have left her in Spotsylvania county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

This is an excellent school. Student learning styles are utilized to help every child succeed. The teachers are always trying to 'figure' out their kids to best teach them. Music and art are especially wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

The education in this school is top notch, my oldest scores at reading and math are beyond anything I could have expected. That being said it comes at a price. The children get a minimum amount of playtime outside. While that its good for the test scores children need to play some also. This school needs to balance its efforts between education and interaction. School should be fun as well as educational. Simple fix 20 min in the morning, at lunch and in the afternoon. Adults expect breaks, even have it written into labor agreements, I think children should have some of the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

This is the most excellent school my children have attended. We moved out of district and after seeing the differnce in schools we made a point to move back to Garrisonville. No other school could compare. The teacher's and principal are excellent with interacting with the children and parents. It is a family type atmoshere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Being a military family and having moved around quite a bit, this has been the worst school we've encountered. My children were extremely bored and not challegned. Class sizes are HUGE which causes most teachers to not want to go the extra mile. Too many kids = too much stress! In all fairness, this review probably covers most of the schools here in VA! They say Stafford County has the best, I'd hate to see VA's worst!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

The Gators are the best when it comes to young minds! They have done wonders for both of my children. The leadership and engagement of the Principle and teachers are second to none. Probably the best wholesome enviroment I've ever seen for a school or any institution for that matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

Nothing but good things to say about this school. Children are encouraged to think, to be hands on, and to work as a team, not just in class but in life.Staff have created a safe atmosphere where being at school and learning is fun and exciting. My daughter's teacher, Mrs. Castelli is wonderful.She totally 'gets' our daughter and knows how to motivate her. She works tirelessly to ensure that all of her students are working to their full potential.Communication with the staff is always open and easy.The principle is always visible and available. She knew our daughter's name on the first week of school! Parents are encouraged to be as involved as possible and by the looks of it, many of them volunteer often. We feel fortunate to be a part of Garrisonville Elementary. As I have told many people, our whole family is loving kindergarten!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

We relocated to the area last month. In a very short time, the teachers and staff have correctly assessed our children's abilities and needs. They developed a comprehensive plan to address the specific developmental needs of our child who requires additional support. During our assessment meeting with the staff, their genuine care and outstanding abilities shone through!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2007

As a military family we will be a part of quite a few schools over the years. We were so happy with Garrisonville E.S. from the teachers and staff all the way to the PTO and the other Gator families. The commraderie, support, and education has been fantastic. Such wonderful and caring teachers! We look forward to hopefully moving to this area again and will miss this school and these people very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I absolutely think the world of Garrisonville Elementary to include the staff and parents and other students. I could not ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

The parental involvement is great and the amount of volunteering. The office staff is great also. I think the academic program is a good one. The grading level was higher than other places that we've been, but the teachers we dealt with were really good teachers. They are caring and the school is a secured environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

Wonderfully dedicated staff members promoting a high level of communication between parents and teachers. Extracurricular activities seem somewhat limited especially in lower grades but this does seem to improve as the grade level rises. Academic programs presented and taught in many very dynamic ways with lots of imagination and creative thinking on the part of the teachers in an attempt to reach all students and keep everyone focused and learning and having fun at the same time. Thinking especially of Mrs. Dodge a fantastic second grade teacher when I say this. School focuses on teaching students how to be part of a team while maintaining a strong respect for each individual child. Only concern...school seems to be very SOL orientated. Not a really bad thing but hope children who don't do well with these kind of evaluations don't get left behind, wrongly labeled with learning disabilities and possibly excluded from the mainstream.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2005

This school is great.It has programs for all learning strenghts.I wish my kids could stay there until they graduate.The staff is wonderfull,teacher are great with the kids and the office staff can always remember you name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Because of the overall quality of this school, I feel that my child is getting the best education possible from a public school. The only condition I would like to see changed is that of smaller class size. Otherwise, this is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2004

Awesome school. Great staff. Lots of activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students93%
Male students88%
Black students92%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students81%
Female students82%
Male students80%
Black students85%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students94%
Female students100%
Male students89%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students95%
Male students94%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%

Math

All Students97%
Female students95%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students90%
Male students97%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

English: Writing

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students96%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students93%
Female students95%
Male students91%
Black students91%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Science

All Students94%
Female students93%
Male students95%
Black students91%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Wood Dr
Stafford, VA 22556
Phone: (540) 658-6260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT