Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Widewater Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 744 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

I agree with one of the postings regarding the rating, it should be higher (8 or 9/10). As a parent of 2 children attend widewater since Fall 2009, I feel the Teachers are extremely competent, caring and highly motivated. My kids love the school because of the wonderful teachers and Principle; Parent involvement is constant and frequently encouraged, and Staff morale is high with a very low turnover rate. In addition to up to date textbooks and the implementation of Smart boards and other tech advances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

I don't understand why the school rating is not higher. Widewater has been an absolute blessing. We struggled with a speech delay with my daughter, and we really didn't know how she would do in school her first year. Now, towards the end of first grade, there's no delay. She reads on level. Her teachers have been some of the finest people I've ever met. There are all sorts of activities for them to enjoy. The kindergarten and first grade staff and admin have been amazing! Absolutely love the school, students, and faculties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2014

Fantastic and dedicated principal , assistant principal, and teachers. Widewater is a positive environment with lots of school spirit and great kids. My son has had two great years at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2012

We love this school! Widewater is an excellent school. Our son has attended Widewater for the past two years (Kindergarten and 1st grade) and have found that the teachers are very attentive to the childrens needs and their education. The curriculum is excellent; my son arrives from the school excited to learn new things and I am always amazed at what they are teaching them a such a young age. As volunteers, we see first hand what the daily agendas are and the effort that the staff puts into every child. I would recommend this school to anyone. The staff is friendly and it is evident that their students interests are their priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

This school has a very poor special education program and policy. I have a special needs son that qualified for services immediately in other districts, however, Widewater has fought me tooth and nail over every single issue they could possibly fight over. Other parents have also told me that the curriculum is totally inadequate. Kindergarteners still learning letters, colors and shapes (rather than any sort of reading skills), and much of the school caters to minorities with english as a second language, and this puts other children at a disadvantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I now have 5 of my grandchildren who have or are going to WCES. I think the teachers have been friendly and quite competent. The children seem to enjoy the environment and the extra 'family' activities planned at the school.


Posted July 10, 2009

Our daughter is doing very well academically and socially at WW Elemenatry School. She transfered from Anne E. Moncure this year due to redistricting. Her SOL Scores were very good, and she was elected to serve on the student council. We are very pleased with the school as a whole and her 3rd grade teacher was fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

This school is fantastic! I am very pleased with the new principle and assistant principle of this school. They have the kids best interest at heart. The teachers are good too. My child is in fourth grade and his teacher is constantly keeping in touch with me. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

We've lived in Stafford for 2 years now (military family) & Widewater has been great for my son. He was diagnosed with a developmental delay when he was 3 years old. He's in fifth grade now and began at Widewater with behavior problems and below average scores. He is now on the Honor Roll almost every quarter. The staff always treat us with the upmost respect. Thanks so much Widewater!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Now that Widewater has new leadership, the overall atmosphere has changed for the better. I no longer receive last minute notices on school activities and now able to attend those activities. The new principal and assistant principal really convey that they truly care about the school and the children in it. A great improvement over the last 2 years that my son has attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

the best school my children ever been and thats their third school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

Widewater is a wonderful school! However it does need work with a gifted program for the younger students! 3rd grade is fine however when it is obvious that a child is gifted Widewater needs to make sure that they are helping those children as well. Also the inclusion classes need serious help. Last year in my sons kindergarten class he was placed with many special needs children and it was so difficult to be in a learning environment for the regular child. My suggestion is to break up the amount per grade level and place 2 or 3 per class and not in the same room its just not fair to have one teacher always having to stop. And its not fair to the other students that can't get the education because there is to many special needs children in one room. I want fair for all children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My children have attended Widewater Elementary for two years now. My daughter has been in first and second grade and my son in third and fourth grade. I was disappointed when we arrived here and found out that there was no gifted program available for children until they reach third grade since my daughter had already been part of a gifted program in her previous school. My son had also been part of that program but he had to go through all the testing again before being accepted into the current program which took half of the school year to accomplish. Although this school is clean, safe and has a pretty good program for average kids, they do not offer much for children who are advanced in earlier grades and do not encourage challanging younger children. After school activities and clubs are plentiful.The teachers are approachable and well educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

Widewater is an excellent school. The faculty is extremly helpful and kind. My child is receiving a first rate education, which will cement his foundation for the rest of his academic career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

I have had my children attending Widewater for 5 years. I have loved each teacher my children were placed with. They look after them as if they were their own. The teachers are not just outstanding in the academic field. They care abour the children as people!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students67%
Male students70%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students63%
Female students54%
Male students70%
Black students29%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient students58%
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students78%
Female students70%
Male students85%
Black students39%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students69%
Male students68%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial100%
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students25%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students68%
Female students69%
Male students68%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracial100%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students31%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students67%
Male students66%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial82%
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English71%

English: Writing

All Students67%
Female students78%
Male students60%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracial75%
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students69%
Female students65%
Male students71%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial91%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students44%
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students41%
Female students35%
Male students45%
Black students29%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracial75%
White students46%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities44%
Limited English proficient students11%
Proficient in English46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Kristen Mckinney Nash

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 Den Rich Rd
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 658-6380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Colonial Academy
Stafford, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT