Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rockhill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 600 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

As a former elementary school teacher, I can honestly say that I am impressed with this school and the staff. I could not be happier that my child attends kinder here. The office staff is very friendly, the school has a great PTO, the administration seems very involved and my duaghter's teacher and aide are amazing. There also is always parents volunteering for various things through out the school. You definitely get a sense of school pride and a warm leaning environment as you enter the hallways. My daughter absolutely loves going to school and is thriving academically!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I love this school! Everyone has been so welcoming from the preschool teachers up to and including the admin staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

I have 5 children. This was by far the worst elementary school any of my kids have ever been to. I recently pulled my 4th grader out and started homeschooling her. She was being treated bad by her peers and her self esteem was getting worse every week. Her teacher Mrs. Givler, was wonderful and tried helping with these issues, but it just wasn't enough for my daughter. The office staff was rude the majority of the time making it to where I didn't even want to have to deal with them face to face. My husband and I were shocked when we enrolled her how rude the staff was. On top of it, most of the time she felt as though she was in prison. Someone getting after a child for every little thing. The kids for the most part just seemed scared. This is no way for children to feel at school!! My daughter wouldn't even go to the school nurse if she felt sick because she was scared of her. We are military, so we have been to countless schools......by far the worst experience! I never would have thought I'd be homeschooling. My daughter is a new child now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

Two of my children currently attend Rockhill Elementary and have been at the school for the past 3 years. Overall I have been very pleased with the school and believe they are getting a good education. The teachers have been great and do a wonderful job. I do believe parent involvement is very important both at the school and at home for your child to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

This is our second year at Rockhill. I continue to be impressed with the staff's level of dedication to the kids! The office staff is extremely professional and especially warm and friendly to all who come in. There are so many staff members that genuinely care about the success of my kids, it's unbelievable! Again this year, my kids have the most amazing teachers that seem to be a perfect fit for my kids. Now I see why many families flock to this paticular area of Stafford.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2012

Rockhill Elementary School is an amazing school, my little one has been attending two years and loves it very much! I myself love the teachers and their kindness. I think this school is great, the friendly environment makes any kid and his/her family feel welcomed. Thank You ROCKHILL ELEMENTARY !!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

I am disappointed with this school. My son's teacher has been great that's about the only good thing so far. This is my first year. The office staff is rude especially Mrs. Rogers. I find she's very rude to parents and I witnessed her being rude to the principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I was not impressed with Rockhill at all. My child brings home WAY too much homework due to lack of classroom time. Adding that on top of my daughters tutor classes each week is a little much. A 2nd grader should only have 1 homework assignment. Any class work not completed is sent home along with the everyday spelling homework routine. The teachers negligence to manage enough classroom time for all students to finish their work is something the school really needs to work on. I feel that some of the staff there are unprofessional and unaware of how to communicate with parents. I enjoyed the school much better when Mrs. Butters was the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2010

RES is a wonderful school. As for the lack of lunchroom discipline comment-not true. They allow the children to talk freely at lunch so that they are less inclined to do so in the class later in the day. Also, kids will have homework. If a teacher is unable to finish a lesson in class it is due to time constraints. Happens in all schools. If you are a parent deciding on your choice of schools based on the reviews of a dozen parents and not on something more substantial, you are clueless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My daughter starts 2nd grade this autumn and has been going here since kindergarten. The teachers have always been focused on learning in a caring and exciting way. I would recommend this school to anyone especially those transferring here due to military commitments. As for the ratings I made - For parental involvement, that is a commitment YOU have to make with your child to get interested in their school activities. The RES PTO is a great place to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

The school as a whole was ok. I was greatly displeased with the lack of supervision in the lunchroom and the lack of discipline overall. This sets a tone for the school, which indicates poor leadership. My child brought home too much homework with notes from the teachers indicating they ran out of time and couldn't get it all completed. This, on occasion is acceptable, but it was a daily ritual. I was teaching my child at home more than she was learning at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

All 3 of my boys have attened Rockhill. My oldest is ADHD and every year Mrs. Butters made sure he was with a teacher who could help him get through the day. He also had a stutter and he was never teased about it. The teachers and staff do not tolerate meanness. I always felt that I could go to Mrs. Butters with any concern and she would make the right decision for my boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

I cannot say enough about Rockhill Elementary!! It is an amazing school!! Two years ago, a military transfer brought my family to Stafford. Initially, because of the Great Schools scores, I was concerned about my children attending Rockhill. Mrs. Butters and her staff have proven me wrong! We are all known on a first name basis, my children are constantly challenged in a fun, pro-active environment, and the extra-curricular activities are abundant. Mrs. Glaeser, Rockhill Guidance Counselor, does an amazing job supporting the military children with the new Raccoons Club. Miss Boyce, Rockhill music teacher, has an abundant amount of energy and continually produces an amazing Rockhill Singers chorus. Lastly, Rockhill provides an amazing staff for monitoring and identifying gifted and talented children. Rockhill Elementary is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Anyone moving to Stafford should feel confident that their child will receive a top-notch education if attending Rockhill Elementary. Being a military family, I understand how hard it is to chose a new home based on info found on the internet. You often find yourself judging communities and schools by how they look and are scored online. With Rockhill you can do neither. This school has far exceeded my expectations and is the best elementary that my children have attended thus far- they have been in 4 others. Despite the 'older' looking facade, Rockhill contains a great learning environment within with many caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Mrs. Butters fosters an excelling environment from the top down to the staff and parents. Rockhill is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

This is a great school! All of the staff, the principal included, are very friendly & accessible. The school is well maintained, & decorated with fun murals. The PTO is great. My daughter has attended for the last 3 yrs, & has had wonderful teachers. She has learned a lot, & had fun too. I recommend Rockhill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

This school is one of the worst schools my children have ever attended. If you are planning to move to the Stafford area I suggest you stear way clear of moving to any home in this area that requires you to send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2004

My child went to this school for several years and has since moved on to Junior High. Rockhill is a fun school where there is a mixture of education, discipline and fun. It is a school that is made for the children. The principal and staff are wonderful and available when you call. The teachers are firm but loving and the kids that go there benefit from this nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My grandchildren and neices have gone to this school and everyone has loved it. The teachers are great,the staff is excellent. My grandson starting kindergarten this year and we look forward to a great year at a great school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students87%
Male students85%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students69%
Female students60%
Male students76%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students88%
Female students86%
Male students90%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students87%
Male students74%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial91%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students75%
Female students76%
Male students74%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial60%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students80%
Male students75%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

English: Writing

All Students73%
Female students84%
Male students62%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial40%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students80%
Female students82%
Male students77%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students83%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Wood Dr
Stafford, VA 22556
Phone: (540) 658-6360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT