Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Park Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 677 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

We are very happy with this school. We have had the most wonderful experiences with Ms. Peterson a third grade teacher. She inspires the students to love learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

This is a school who loves it's students and tries to meet the needs of each one. Compassionate teachers, especially in the special education capacity. Highly recommend this school; our two children enjoyed going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2013

We are very Happy! Great PTO involvement! We love our teacher! Great programs. PE twice a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2012

I was a graduate. I was S.C.A president in 2010-2011 school year. I t was the best school ever and I recommend it .


Posted November 8, 2011

This is an amazing school. The teachers and staff go above and beyond the call of duty for your child. If your child has special needs they will do everything they can to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2008

I love this school. My children are in first grade and kindergarten. The teachers in both grades utilize notebooks that my children bring home daily. We use it as a tool to communicate with each other. Also, my children bring home weekly newsletters that tell me what areas will be covered that week in addition to daily homework assignments. I am pretty happy with security in the school. The school has a rigid security plan. The office staff is helpful and friendly. PTO is great and host many fundraising and community based events. I like the school's drop off and pick up from school system. It is very organized and emphasizes child safety. Keep in mind that a child can not be dropped off earlier than 8:35 a.m. My children have PE twice a week and weekly have music, art, and go to the library.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

My son spent two years here and we are sad to leave overall. The kindergarten year last year was the best-we have a fantastic teacher who, unfortunately, moved. Our fist grade year has not been as successful. The teacher is extremely nice and loves the children but doesn't challenge them at all. When we have asked, she tells us how much she loves the children. My son has done well but because the bar is set so low, I think he has lost ground and am disappointed with that. The office is amazing-they do such a wonderful job of knowing all the children and their parents. They encouraged the parents to help out as much as possible. The activities offered at night are always a hit with the kids. I don't have any contact with the administration so I can't add anything in that area. All in all-it's been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2008

Our youngest daughter went to second and third grade at PRES. I wasn't impressed the first year we were there --- the teacher didn't fit the style of authority that my child needed. We had just moved there the week before school, so we didn't have an opportunity to find a teacher/student fit. However, her third grade year was phenomenal!!! With my volunteer hours and the student/teacher fit being more in-line with the teaching style my daughter needed, we were much happier and loved PRES! Sad to say, we had to move and miss everyone and everything about this school. From the phenomenal gym teachers, cafeteria workers, bus drivers, front office staff and teaching staff to the amazing parents -- this school has it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

I have one child that has gone to PRES and is now in middle school, one currently in PRES and one coming next year to PRES. The school is awesome with the administrative staff, teachers and overall atmosphere. The teachers my children have had went above and beyond to ensure there sucess not only academically but to address their individual needs. It has always been a warm and inviting school with an available policy to meet with either the administration and/or teachers. Parents are welcome in the classroom to volunteer and helpout. It has been an wonderful experience for my children and our family. I would not want to change schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

My child transferred to PRES in 2006 and I have experienced on many occasions the lack of communication from my childs' teachers. I find it extremely difficult to get answers from the teachers - past and present. I am unable to speak or meet with the Principal as no one returns email, phone calls, etc. I am very involved with my child's education and school activities and volunteer when the time allows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

I have three children at this school, one of whom has been there from first grade and is now in fifth. Academically, this school has been superb for all of my children. Socially, I love the close community atmosphere, the sincerity and caring of the teaching staff, and the espoused values of the school. There are a few teachers I'd avoid, but the superstars far outnumber them. Also, the school gives you the opportunity to submit requests that match your student's learning style to the faculty teaching style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

This is definitely an excellent school. It was my first year for my child and I couldn't have had a better experience. We have since moved and from what the teachers have seen from my daughter she is ahead of the learning game. The teachers were great, admin was great, PRES was just a great school that we'll miss very much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

This school as it pertains to the education of my children is tolerable. As far as my thoughts on some of the faculty members, well lets just say... I'm counting the days left till the end of the school year so I don't have to deal with them anymore. Parents BEWARE! Oh, everyone's nice until you have a problem. Then all lack of descent communication goes out the window.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2006

I absolutely love PRES! My son is currently in his 3rd year. He has learned a lot and loves to go to school. I have been an active parent in his education and volunteering at school. They have wonderful committees for parents to be a part of their child's education. The teachers are superb & very accessible. They have wonderful programs for kids to excel. The only improvement would be more recess time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

PRES is a very good school. My son has attended K-3 grade there. His teachers provided excellent curriculum. He has excelled well. There are music, art classes which are taught by specific teachers. There PE classes taught basic skills required to excell in sports at there age. As for parent involvement, we were very involved with our son's classroom and scholl. There are also many dedicated parents that ensure extracurricular activities are completed, such as field trips, carnivals, and basket bingo, etc...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

Janet, Please do not make blanket statements about something you know nothing about. There are 2 exceptional, administrative ladies(in the copy room!) who work at our school. they are such an asset to the overall mission of creating the exceptional environment that my children attend each and every day. I taught elementary school for many years. I would like to think that I am quaified to say that most of the staff at Park Ridge ES are some of the finest I have EVER observed! You would be hard pressed to find a finer school community anywhere. Look at our test scores, and talk to the staff. I can assure you, Your children will thrive. Sign me, a happy mom of four from Park Ridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2005

I have am not happy with the school; the way it is run, some of the teaching staff, lack of care to detail. A working knowledge of the English language seems lacking among some of the teaching staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2003

I went to Park Ridge Elementary, I loved that school!! It has the best teachers but... the best teacher I ever had was Mrs.Parks...I'll never forget her she really was the best.


Posted November 12, 2003

Parkridge is a fantastic school. They care about your child and provide a safe and caring learning environment for every student. Not only in the academics but in character. They are the patriot pups and their pride shows in each of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students90%
Male students68%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students72%
Female students74%
Male students70%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students86%
Female students92%
Male students82%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students81%
Male students65%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracial83%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students84%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial91%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students77%
Male students68%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

English: Writing

All Students68%
Female students75%
Male students57%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Math

All Students85%
Female students87%
Male students83%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students75%
Female students74%
Male students76%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Parkway Blvd
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 658-6320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT