Advertisement
Advertisement

St. William of York Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stafford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $252,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

Poor Academics, Poor Leadership! High Student/teacher turnover! Religion is shoved down your throat at every chance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

This is my child's second year here, and we have been very satisfied. Great teachers and staff, and the principal is very accessible and approachable. Good variety of school activities, both inside and outside of the classroom. Very dependable after school care with teachers who do more than just "watch" the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

I had high hopes for the school, but it failed us miserably! Principal lacks leadership and vision! There is a high turnover of teachers and students! This year only 5 teachers have left to include the new 1st grade teacher who quit before classes even started! Principal is a micro manager and hence teachers cannot perform as needed. Standards are really low and kids know they are not expected to perform. Save your money and energy, find another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

Our son is an incoming 1st grader and attend last year in Kindergarten. His teacher and the teacher's aide are hands down one of the BEST teacher combos in the school. Really hands, readily available to talk if needed, super connected with the children and believe that not all children learn in the same ways or pace (that was the biggest plus for me as my son is not a traditional learner but more a visual and auditory learner). There have been quite a few teacher departing but I remain hopeful that the high level set at the Kindergarten level will continue as our son goes thru. Parents are also very involved and encourage to participate and be active in the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

My two daughters attended this school from 2009 to 2012. When they transferred to another Catholic school, they did really well. St William of York prepared them to easliy grasp math, science, and English. In addition, this school prepared them to work in teams such as playing on the school's basketball and volleyball teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

SWOY is an excellent choice for academics, parental involvement, and teacher quality. I could not be more satisfied with this traditional Catholic Education. We now have a baseball team for boys ages 6-8 grade. Hopefully someday we will have football too :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

Academics are challenging, classes are small (20 in DD's 1st grade, wish for more extracurricular activities but there are more every year. Good parental involvement- just a really nice place, you can get to know every adult your child spends time with during their day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3130 Jefferson Davis Hwy
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 659-5207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Colonial Academy
Stafford, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT