Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. William of York Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Stafford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $252,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2014

We are going into our 2nd year at SWOY and I'm surprised by some of these reviews. No school is perfect and there is always room for improvement, but overall we've been very happy here. The principal has an open door policy and is very approachable. SWOY has a great sense of community and the kids are surrounded by many wonderful, Catholic families. I'm hopeful that the issues we saw in our first year (especially teacher retention and communication) will continue to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2014

St. William of York Catholic School encourages open communication with all parent stakeholders with a view toward continuous improvement, and we recognize the importance of personal, face to face conversation as a vital step toward effecting change. Our principal is just a phone call away for parents and prospective parents to engage in meaningful conversation about and on behalf of our students and school. Our enthusiastic and growing team of parent leaders is a tribute to this collaboration.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 17, 2014

Poor Leadership, principal is inadequate! We have since moved our kids from this school! Spare yourself, save your time and money! Other great Private schools in the area!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2014

Before enrolling your child in any school in the Diocese of Arlington, please read the "Policy on the Protection of Children" on the diocesan web site. It was my experience in the past that neither the leadership of this school, nor that of the affiliated church, nor even key members of the Diocese, chose to follow this policy's guidelines to protect one of its students from physically abusive behavior. I was surprised to learn that not even the child's family was informed by the school. I sincerely hope that everyone from the school to the Chancery has learned from its past mistakes. Adults at the school - and this includes parents - should be advocates for every child. If you see something wrong, correct it. Make a fuss. Kids are worth it. Children need our love and our protection - even in a Catholic school. Teachers, principals, and priests are not without fault. If you see a wrong, speak out! Sin loves silence.


Posted July 31, 2014

First, I'll say that my child's teachers were wonderful but they are limited by the actions and in-actions of the PRINCIPAL. We enrolled our child at St. William of York Catholic School thinking that private education would be more focused on giving her advantages later in school. What a mistake! This school has a principal that is less than unsatisfactory. I personally thinks he does not really care about the children. Last winter was brutal; however, if i want my child to be home when public school is out i would have sent them to public school and not pay for private school. The fact is that when you are paying so much for private education we expect it to be good or at least worth it. The principal loves to speak and just will not keep quiet long enough to listen to concerned parents. He always has something to do except address the issue at hand. We took our child out of the school and moved to another private school. Thinks to think about: - Would you pay for your child to take a trip to the cafeteria? - Why pay for a day off because its cold outside? Parents - be aware and ask the tough questions before enrolling your child/children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

This is my child's second year here, and we have been very satisfied. Great teachers and staff, and the principal is very accessible and approachable. Good variety of school activities, both inside and outside of the classroom. Very dependable after school care with teachers who do more than just "watch" the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

Our son is an incoming 1st grader and attend last year in Kindergarten. His teacher and the teacher's aide are hands down one of the BEST teacher combos in the school. Really hands, readily available to talk if needed, super connected with the children and believe that not all children learn in the same ways or pace (that was the biggest plus for me as my son is not a traditional learner but more a visual and auditory learner). There have been quite a few teacher departing but I remain hopeful that the high level set at the Kindergarten level will continue as our son goes thru. Parents are also very involved and encourage to participate and be active in the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

My two daughters attended this school from 2009 to 2012. When they transferred to another Catholic school, they did really well. St William of York prepared them to easliy grasp math, science, and English. In addition, this school prepared them to work in teams such as playing on the school's basketball and volleyball teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

SWOY is an excellent choice for academics, parental involvement, and teacher quality. I could not be more satisfied with this traditional Catholic Education. We now have a baseball team for boys ages 6-8 grade. Hopefully someday we will have football too :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2005

Academics are challenging, classes are small (20 in DD's 1st grade, wish for more extracurricular activities but there are more every year. Good parental involvement- just a really nice place, you can get to know every adult your child spends time with during their day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3130 Jefferson Davis Hwy
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 659-5207

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Colonial Academy
Stafford, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT