Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Stafford, VA

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Colonial Academy 5

Posted October 11, 2014
- a parent
Great school, teachers are experienced, loving and wise. So happy I moved my children from public to private school, BIG difference, they were being bullied in public school, but not in Colonial Academy, teachers enforce respect and love for each other. Colonial Academy worked out with me to be able to afford private school, so happy we made the change, my children return home happy now and not stressed out like they used to in public school, great place for your child !!!

Colonial Academy 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
My experience with Colonial Academy has been outstanding the entire 2013-14 school year. The faculty are devoted, flexible with student/parent needs, and hard-working. Since Colonial Academy is a smaller establishment, it gave my son the opportunity to have more exclusive time with his teacher, and has dramatically improved in cognitive reading, and mathematics. But most importantly, Colonial Academy offers a place where children continue their ethical and moral development outside of the home, along Christian teachings. This is arguably the most important deciding factor for why we chose this school. As for parent involvement, the school exceeds in offering ways for children, parents, and faculty to bond. Many of the Christian concepts taught here are centered around the family unit. However, many parents in the area don't have the time or ability to commit, which is why there is room for improvement. This is a town of military, federal, state, and corporate workers, all with unique schedules. Just like Christ promised, your level of devotion will determine the outcome. Give Colonial Academy a try, because its truly been a blessing.


Colonial Academy 4

Posted January 06, 2009
- a student
i just started going to this school and i really like most of the kids. Right when i came in i felt at holme they were very nice to me. Comeing from public school that was a big thing. Also the education i really good, but again i am comeing from a public school so anything is better. The staff is very freindly and great to talk to. I like my teacher she is nice even when we acked up. I think this school is great.

Colonial Academy 5

Posted December 06, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Colonial Academy 3

Posted March 06, 2006
- a parent
A small school can be an advantage or disadvantage. One disadvantage is that if there is a problem with a teacher, you can't move your child to another class because there is only one class per grade! My child had a couple of decent teachers, but this last one was not too good. I actually felt sorry for the kids when I sat in the class and listened to her teach. It was torture for me! There's not really a 'play ground' and the kids wind up playing kickball on the pavement. There aren't a lot of extracurricular activities, but piano lessons are offered. I was left wondering if too much emphasis was placed on religious education at the expense of the '3 R's' (at least in the last class my child had). They seemed to react pretty strangely that a parent (me) wanted to sit in on the class.


Colonial Academy 4

Posted September 07, 2005
- a parent
This is our son's 4th year with Colonial Academy and we are very happy with the education he is receiving. Private schools' financial existence depends solely on the support of the parents. If you are thinking about sending your child to any private school, understand that fund-raising and volunteering is imperative to it's success and growth. More parents need to be involved. As far as extracurricular activities are concerned, Colonial offers piano lessons and they have a choral group. The school now has a network for the coordination of volunteers and activities. We appreciate the obvious dedication the administrator, office staff, and teachers have with regard to educational and spiritual guidance. Stan. tests are evidence of competence.

Colonial Academy 2

Posted April 13, 2005
- a staff
Quality of academic program is good. However, quality education requires more than having young children sit in tight spaces and be constantly drilled and expected to be robotic. This school need a lot of community and educational assistance because they respond as if they live in the 1920's era. The bible hasn't changed but times sure have and this where the environment at Colonial is deficient. No physical education program, no computers, no maintenance or janitorial support, only ad hoc for the minimum, and the milk the parents to death with fundraisers because there is no PTA. No real qualitative performance measures for teachers; and a only few provide positive feedback to parents. The majority is negative. Biblical? Vision is far beyond capabilities through year 2010 at least.

Colonial Academy 3

Posted March 24, 2005
- a parent
The Abeka cirriculum is great. Extracurricular activities are limited to recess, music class and chapel. Lunches are not provided. There is no PTA or School Board for parents and teachers to address concerns and issues. Good news, new administrator on board for 2004-2005 school year. Be sure to understand what this school has to offer and what it doesn't. Not a good fit for every child. The gammit ranges from problem to gifted without professional resources outside of the administrator.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Colonial Academy
2726 Jefferson Davis Highway, Stafford, VA  22554
(540) 659-1810
Last modified Colonial Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Colonial Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top