Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain View High School

Public | 9-12 | 1819 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended programs

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2011

My three older children graduated from Colonial Forge High School having attended from 2000 to 2008. We saw the school change dramatically over that course of time and decided to enroll our 4th child at Mountain View HS in the IB program. We couldn't be happier with the school - students, faculty and staff are wonderful and communication between the administration and the parents is exceptional. I find the incidence rates in the school are lower than they were at Colonial Forge, comparatively speaking. And while many in the school district insist the scores are higher at one school over another, I personaly don't see it. The history scores are 1% lower but their reading and writing scores are higher as of 2010. It's a perfect fit for my child - academically, athletically, and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

I commute 70 miles a day so that my son can continue to attend this school. With teachers who are willing to stay after school until 5pm so that he can get the extra attention he sometines needs, there is noway unless God him self comes and tells me to move that my son will attend school anywhere else. Mt.View has a great teaching/office staff and the coaches (football atleast) are exceptional on and off the field. I can not be involved as much as I would like to be due to my work, but the opertunity is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

This school is a 10 In Our Family. We are so happy to have the IB Program at MVHS. Coming from a higher education family our kids are asked to take their school career seriously for their future. Our daughter has excelled in all of her classes way beyond our expectations. Every school day she cannot wait to get there and see her teachers and friends. Her teachers go the extra mile to help her if she has a question about her assignments. She enjoys her extra activities in sports as well. We cannot wait for our other child to attend MVHS as we know he will be successful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2009

I am currently a senior at MVHS and I feel like this school offers so many choices to students, both athletically and academically. All the teachers are great. You know that the teachers there are dictated when they are willing to offer a study session at 6:30 a.m. to help tutor for the midterm or lend you five buck (I will pay them back.......eventually) for lunch money when they hear you stomach rumble. The atmosphere is both realistic (school drama is always present) but also encouraging. Overall, I will never regret coming to such a distinguished and warm-hearted establishment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2009

Even though there are a few glitches, we still got the nicest athletic fields in Stafford County and the best food!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2008

I am a student at Mountain View. After middle school I was very worried about going to high school but my freshman year of MVHS was amazing. The school offers so many oppritunities for the students and parents as well. I am envolved in the music program being in Band and Chorus. I have learned a lot from both insturctors. Especially with Marching Band, I have matured from all the dedicatioin I have given. In acedemics, all the teachers are the best. They help in any way that you need. It is just a great enviroment at Mountain View. GO WILDCATS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2008

Mountain Vie is a wonderful school. I am a senior there and I love it. The teachers really care and do practically anything to help the students succeed. Their block schedule helps many students graduate early and their ap classes help us be more preparedd for college and the real world. I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Mountain View Wildcats rule!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2008

I was part of the first graduating class at Mountain View and I couldn't have enjoyed or benefited from it more. I was re-districted from Colonial Forge and I didn't realize how unhappy I was until I arrived at Mountain View. The staff is very involved and very caring; it's easy to build relationships. There are many ways to get involved and there is a generally feeling of community. The administration garners so much respect from the students that strict regulations aren't necessary. At Forge, there were so many rules, most of them seemingly pointless. Perhaps some students need rules, but Mountain View gives enough freedom that reasonably mature students excel and others are encouraged to mature. I learned so much, both academically and socially.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2007

I am a student at Mountain view high School, I too was transfered from North Stafford after my freshman year. I have thouroully enjoyed the past two years at Mountain View and can't wait to start my senior year. In response to the parent who stated ' I believe that Mountain View needs to improve its expectations of the students with stronger discipline and academic demands.' I would like to say that Mountain view offers both the IB and AP programs, I find these classes are very challenging and I as well as others are quite impressed with progress Mountain View has made in these areas seeing as we are a new school. all in all MV is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2007

This is a great school. Even though it has also been around for a few years it has made great academic progress, including advancement in extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2007

I am a student at Mountain View high school. This school is amazing all the teachers seem to really love there job and make learning exiting and interesting. I went to North Stafford my freshman year then was moved in MVHS. I like that I can still be involved here even though I don't play any sports. The school has great leadership and rarely has fights. I am proud to be a Wildcat and can t imagine going to any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

My son transferred out of this school and was very sad. He felt very comfortable, likes block schedule, many friends. It was very kick back. Now he is doing better than eer at Colonial Forge and has more energy, relats better with adults and grades have improved dramatically. Maybe feeling good isn't what it is all about. In just half a year his whole attitude has changed. Forge is more disciplined than Mountain View. I believe that Mountain View needs to improve its expectations of the students with stronger discipline and academic demands.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

346 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
99%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students79%
Female students83%
Male students76%
Black students80%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial75%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Algebra II

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students85%
Black students77%
Asian students100%
Hispanic68%
Multiracial92%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Biology

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students92%
Black students81%
Asian students80%
Hispanic89%
Multiracial96%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Chemistry

All Students96%
Female students97%
Male students96%
Black students100%
Asian students100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English96%

Earth Science

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students93%
Black students86%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracial91%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students97%
Male students91%
Black students87%
Asian students100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracial96%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

English: Writing

All Students90%
Female students93%
Male students87%
Black students81%
Asian students92%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial89%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students87%
Black students84%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial89%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students93%
Female students91%
Male students95%
Black students94%
Asian students100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial100%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students99%
Female students98%
Male students100%
Black students97%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
White students99%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

World History II

All Students87%
Female students86%
Male students87%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial93%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School counslor
Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. James D. Stemple Jr.

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School counslor
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2135 Mountain View Road
Stafford, VA 22556
Phone: (540) 658-6840

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Stafford Sr. High School
Fredericksburg, VA


James Monroe High School
Fredericksburg, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT