Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shirley C. Heim Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 925 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My daughters and I have been at Shirley Heim for just one month and I am so pleased with the quality of support my children are receiving. The teachers communicate well, they post their classwork and grades on the web so I can check on homework and grades, and they appear to care. There is a very active PTA also that sponsors activities for the kids. Coming from another school district that was horrible, I feel we made the right choice. Thanks Shirley Heim!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2014

This school has very poor leadership SHMS has a large number of teachers leaving EVERY YEAR, in fact some of the most in the county. This mass exodus every year reflects a feeling of discontent that is felt by the teachers and ultimately by the students. Problems in classrooms with very disruptive students are ignored by the principals who come across as afraid of boisterous parents of behavior problems. The school lost many good teachers again this year.


Posted August 1, 2014

As with most schools, there are good teachers & bad ones. The trick is to pay attention to what's going on in your son or daughter's classroom & move him/her to a better teacher if necessary. (I made a request, and it was granted.) Other than a few bad teachers, as a parent I really like Shirley Heim. They truly are a" zero-tolerance for bullies" school, and the assistant principal and 7th-grade guidance counselor have shown professional competence in this area. I also like the fact that the new 6th graders are kept in a separate wing of the school from the older 7th & 8th graders. Knowing this made the transition from elementary to middle school much smoother for my son. All in all, a good school with no bullies wandering the hallways (besides, the lockers are too small to stuff someone in there!), although I wish the principal would promptly remove the few bad teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2014

We just moved from this school and we were not happy here. My daughter is advanced so the extended programs were nice but there are a lot of trouble kids in this school and the teachers and staff do NOTHING about it. My daughter witnessed quite a few teachers who just YELL at the kids when they are not in the correct classes or late. Her science teacher was nice but a few kids would eat or talk when they were not supposed to and he assigned THE WHOLE CLASS, lunch detention. He wouldn't bother addressing the trouble kids and just punished everyone. Definite disciplinary issues here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

My son will be attending this middle school come September. We are really looking forward to it. In fact he just took the mastery test for 6th grade extended math. If he does superior on this test he will be placed in 7th grade extended math. We also met the focus teacher who seems to be wonderful. We are looking forward to September
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I was very pleased with my son's group of teachers as well as the staff, kudos to the miracles they perform with the limited resources they are allocated. My issue lies with class placement. I am aware of three students who were placed in the basic classes after parents stressed that they participated in gifted programs in previous schools. This leads me to suspect that their transcripts were never consulted. I was able to have my son's classes changed after learning from a teacher in another school that he would be unchallenged if he remained in his current classes. Unfortunately it was too late in the year to place him in the appropriate math; as a sixth grader he should have been placed in Math 7 Extended but this was never presented as an option to us. I had to learn from another parent (well into the school year) that this was possible. This entire year wound up being a review of his fifth grade math curriculum and he was understandably quite bored and frustrated. As an involved parent I rely on our educational professionals to place my son where he will be challenged and receive the best education possible; I feel that this district has failed in that capacity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

This school has only been in operation for 3 years! It is amazing the progress that the teachers, administrators and students have made in such a short time. The courses are rigorous and challenging, students SOL scores has improved sustantially since the opening in 2008. I believe within in the next 2 years, they will have a 5 star rating because they continue to make big strides in the education of our children. The students who are truly successful are the students who take full advantage of what the school has to offer.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2011

Shirley Heim is a great school. The teachers are great and so is the administration. It's what you as a parents make it. I'm there (at the school) to advocate for for my kids (which they are open to) and to work with the teachers. Though nothing is perfect, I wouldn't have my kids go anyplace else in Stafford. County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2011

My son is completing sixth grade at Shirley Heim, and his experience has been wonderful! The teachers are wonderful, engaging and responsive. Bullying is not tolerated. The 6th graders are separated from the older kids, which is nice. It is a large school with a small school feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

this school is one of the worst schools in stafford county . shirley heim middle school seems to focus on the negative than more the positive. they suspend student for hugging and do a bunch of unessassary punishing maybe if the principles start having the kids focus on more positive things rather than what they will be getting punished for then we would have such a negative enviroment . the staff is overall a 4 out 5 but the priciples and vice principles have got to go they have positive values or goals whats so ever for this school .this so sucks.


Posted June 10, 2010

this was the worst school ever the teachers were unorganized and rude. i do like school i usally gets A's and B's so i am not just saying this because i dont like school believe me...!


Posted May 2, 2010

One particular person on the staff has too much power for the way he treats us. Not very nice. At all. Other than that little issue the school if very clean and nice and new. Classes are great and challenging.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2010

Great school! Great teachers! Everything runs very smoothly for the most part, there are so many intelligent students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

Shirley Heim is new this year yet the staff is very structured and organized. The one thing I do not like is that there is a problem with bullies and it seems like the school does not do anything about it. The VP is not the friendliest person but if you push hard enough you can get results. Overall, the staff are great (a few should be let go, but that is normal anywhere) and the building is beautiful, clean and easy for children to navigate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

249 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students75%
Male students71%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial75%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students23%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students76%
Female students80%
Male students72%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracial84%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students85%
Male students76%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial73%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students62%
Female students63%
Male students62%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial57%
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students71%
Female students77%
Male students66%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracial87%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English75%

English: Writing

All Students65%
Female students68%
Male students63%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracial94%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students27%
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students67%
Female students67%
Male students66%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students75%
Female students73%
Male students77%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial88%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students32%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • No accreditation rating was reported for the 2008-2009 school year.
  • No accreditation rating was reported for the 2007-2008 school year.

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black students100%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 Telegraph Road
Stafford, VA 22554
Phone: (540) 658-5910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Colonial Academy
Stafford, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT