Advertisement
Advertisement

Stuart Hall

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staunton

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $629.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

My school is one of the greatest I have been to...and I have been to many! This school excels in everything. We have a 100% acceptance rate for all colleges and universities applied to! I love the atmosphere here. The teachers genuinely care about you and all the students want to be here. The boarding program is excellent. We have many extracurricular activities. Our sports are excellent. In fact, our cross country team recently made it to states! We have amazing school spirit! Stu Pride!!!


Posted May 14, 2013

I am the parent of a current student (9th grade) and an alum (2009 graduate). With excellent academics, small class sizes, and a rigorous but fair curriculum, Stuart Hall has taught both of my daughters to "love learning" instead of just "teaching to the test." The school embodies the concept of "mind, body, heart, and spirit" in everything it does. There is a very cohesive and family-like atmosphere which is safe, supportive and nurturing. It is not "cool" to be unprepared academically at Stuart Hall and there are plenty of resources to guarantee success. In fact, there is a 100% college admission rate to colleges and universities, many top-names. Staunton, VA is a small, beautiful town of about 24,000 people in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley with easy access to a large variety of cultural venues, mountains and outdoor recreation. The town's small size and Stuart Hall's location right in the middle of it adds to its convenience. Staunton's location just 2.5 hours from Washington, DC and 1.5 hours to Richmond makes large city opportunities easily accessible as well without the large city traffic and inconvenience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

As an alum who visits the Stuart Hall campus frequently, I'm always impressed by the friendly students and great teachers who it make such an invigorating place to learn.


Posted December 10, 2012

This year my daughter is studying at Stuart Hall. We are so far from Stuart Hall and we are very happy with the choose we did. Everybody at Stuart Hall pay attention about all my daughter needs, and help her in every thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

My son transferred to Stuart Hall in the 2011-2012 academic year. I only have positive things to say about Stu. The students and teachers were very welcoming and accepting of him. This was crucial since he was being bullied in the local public school. Stuart Hall has the most challenging academic program in the area. From a diversity standpoint, Stuart Hall is more diverse than the public school that my son attended. We could not be more pleased with the teachers and students at Stu.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

My sons first year at Stuart Hall last year as a 10th grader couldn't have gone better. In the public school that he attended, he was not being challenged academically. Once he attended Stuart Hall, he was immediately challenged by all of his teachers. He is being prepared for his future when he attends college. At public school, he did not make the school basketball team. Stuart Hall welcomed him with open arms in all sports at the school. I couldn't be happier with the decision I made as a parent to send my child to Stuart Hall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

Stuart-Hall from a students perspective. I am so thankful to be a part of the Stuart-hall community. You learn something new in the classroom everyday. Stuart-Hall gives the tools for their students to succeed, either for a test or for their daily lives. It is so wonderful to me to walk through the halls in a trustworthy environment.


Posted February 2, 2012

From an academic perspective the school has a great curriculum. From a diversity stance,minority teachers representative of the diversity Stuart Hall seeks to attract, is lacking. The focus seems to be placed on attracting wealthy foreign families to sustain the school's operations. Some of the instructors are wonderful while others are more willing to appease those with influence. If you choose to send your child to this school be aware that he/she will get an unintentional lesson in class/race differences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

Do NOT come here! Its so bad, so racial! We came from China, the teachers treat us so badly. Before we come here, she told us things that are completely different from what we actually have here. They do not like Chinese at all, they just like the money...


Posted January 8, 2008

A wonderful environment for academics and the arts. Extremely limited in its sports program. A great social environment
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
  • VAIS
Fax number
  • (540) 886-2275

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

235 W Frederick St
Staunton, VA 24401
Website: Click here
Phone: (540) 885-0356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT