Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
242 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
I am so thankful to say that my own children attended SVCA, and now my grandchildren are enrolled! Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy has been a great blessing to our entire family for many years. The new administration has helped to improve the quality of education even more.

Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Julie Curry is the new superintendent at SVCA. She is sacrificially sharing her many years of experience as an educator and administrator in the public school system (elementary through college). Her leadership has taken SVCA to the next level in quality education. Thank you, Mrs. Curry!


Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy 5

Posted November 20, 2015
- a teacher
SVCA is known in the community for thirty-nine years of excellence in education, extracurricular activities, and athletics. Go Patriots!

Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 20, 2015
- a teacher
Our students consistently score high in national standardized tests and are accepted into some of the best colleges in the country.

Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a teacher
Having pre-kindergarten through grade 12 in one school creates a family atmosphere where older students watch out for younger students. Students in the lower grades look up to the high school students like older siblings. Students with special needs are respected and encouraged.


Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 20, 2015
- a teacher
Bible-based character development is a high priority at SVCA. It begins with teachers and staff who pray for the students and point them to a relationship with Jesus Christ.

Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a teacher
I want to thank my daughter Carianne Combs. She is an alumnus of SVCA and now has her own kids, my beautiful grandchildren, enrolled. Cari also teacher at SVCA now and works very hard with the Parent-Teacher Organization. I'm proud of her and thankful for our school. Thirty-nine years! Go Patriots!

Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy 1

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
This school is full of cliques, students and staff alike. I find it funny how the only 2 good comments on here were posted within one day of each other, and one of them is posted twice. The church and the school both are unfortunately quite a mess. Between both of my children we have 7 years invested. I was very happy to be able to walk away from such a toxic environment. So much is hidden here, you will never know the whole truth.


Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy 5

Posted July 15, 2014
- a parent
While there is no such thing as a 'perfect' school, I cannot imagine sending my son anyplace other than SVCA. My son is going into the 7th grade and started here in Kindergarten. The school not only excels at building up students academically but spiritually and personally as well. Parent involvement could be better but the teachers, staff and administration are all top notch.

Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy 5

Posted July 14, 2014
- a parent
We have found SVCA to be a strong Biblically based school. The school strives to have a positive influence on our world by developing students whose actions authentically reveal the character of Christ by partnering with families to spiritually, academically, physically, and socially educate their children in a program of intentional excellence. (Luke 2:52) The school has wonderful qualified teachers who teach because it is their passion. The students are caring and supportive to one another and a joy to be around. We have two children in this school and they have flourished and grown both spiritually and academically while being there. We love that they are being taught in a safe, loving environment and that the Christian values we teach at home are also being reinforced in the school. The teachers always give the students the attention they need and the students love them for it. It s an atmosphere of respect and encouragement. SVCA is a school with a family-like environment that I would strongly recommend.

Nearby schools

Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy
Po Box 1360, Stephens City, VA  22655
(540) 869-4600
Last modified Shenandoah Valley Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top