Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Meadowland Elementary School 5

Posted December 09, 2013
- a parent
This school has a very caring administrative staff and faculty. They are dedicated to improving students ' academic achievement through an intensive and challenging curriculum . Great school !

Meadowland Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a community member
A caring and academic school. I have witnessed some of the best teachers in Loudoun in this school. They push the students consistently and although there is a high rate of low income students, there are also many very gifted students. A good atmosphere.


Meadowland Elementary School 5

Posted March 03, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers; friendly stuffs; afterschool program is better than Fairfax county; principle is caring. My son loves to go to school.

Meadowland Elementary School 4

Posted October 06, 2012
- a parent
keep up the great work .thank you for all the hard work the teachers are awesome and most of them very friendly .The principal is a wonderful lady and very caring .the academic programs are great .

Meadowland Elementary School 1

Posted August 09, 2012
- a parent
The parent who posted on July 19, 2011 summed it all up VERY well!! After about 6 months of fighting my (kindergarten-grade) daughter every morning to go to school, I HAPPILY pulled her out and have been paying for private school. WOW! What a POSITIVE difference private school has been!!! She LOVES to go to school now, is excited about learning, and is challenged, engaged, and having fun while she learns, too! The staff at Meadowland were systematically intimidating and controlling to the young children (front office,too), looked for opportunities to punish - rather than praise/reward, taught to the lowest standards (without programs for teaching advanced children), and generally interacted with the children (as well as some adults) as if the school were an "institution" and "they" most definitely were the ones in charge! Our children deserve so much more; a positive, encouraging, supportive, and respectful environment in which to learn!! The front office staff and teachers there don't seem to understand that. They would demand respect from others, but not give it to the young children! Appalling. I COMPLETELY agree with what the other poster said.


Meadowland Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
My son is in fourth grade at Meadowland and we hate that next year will be his last year here. There is a great sense of community and everyone tries to get the best from all the students. i have never seen teachers and other staff try harder!! I'm sorry the previous writer felt that the school is failing. Theyin fact did pass SOL's last year. We found the teachers very high quality and the administration very open to discuss concerns.

Meadowland Elementary School 1

Posted July 19, 2011
- a parent
Cloaked in a Blue Ribbon School 2003 Flag at the front of the school, it should serve as a warning. This is a school that is failing. It has not been able to pass its SOLs ans its improvement plans have not been executed. The 2011 warning is yet another failure of the SOL tests. Accompanying these failures has been an exodus of the most qualified teachers. Also shrinking is the student population. The Art and Music program has been reduced due to lack of attendance at the school. This reduction in population was blamed on the housing crisis, but the fact is that concern parents have been relocating their children to other school both public and private (more then 50% of my neighborhood now attends private schools). I would have to assume that the quality teachers are leaving for the same reasons. There are stressed relationships between the administrator and the parents. Ultimately, the general lack of follow through to drive change or improve seems to be a significant issue. As the scores sink into an abyss, teaching both the test and to the bottom third have become a priority. By teaching to the bottom, all suffer and it creates a self fulfilling prophecy.

Meadowland Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
My youngest daughter is graduating out of Meadowland Elementary this year. It has been a rewarding experience for me - again. Again, because my oldest child entered Meadowland in 1980 in the year of Mr Young, another in 1986, and now the 'baby' graduates this year. What a terrific group of people, from Mr Young, to Ms Seck, and all the teachers we have met. Certainly the best platform for their entry into young adulthood. Thanks again


Meadowland Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
wow, I loved Meadowland as a student ..class of 87!! and as a Parent (a son in 4rth grade and daughter in 5th). wonderful school the only negative thing i can say about it is that it does little to prepare graduateing student for life at Seneca Ridge (which is horrible). Meadowland teachers are the best and I have never been lucky enough to have that quality again in my post elementary education. Mr Young, Ms Wente (Jacobs), Ms Gordon, and Ms Smith you were fantastic... Thank You!

Meadowland Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
First year parent of a Kindergartner. This school has a great sense of community and the teachers express their geniune enthusiam and love for all the kids. Looking forwarding to the subsequent 5 years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Meadowland Elementary School
729 South Sugarland Run Dr, Sterling, VA  20164
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (571) 434-4440
Last modified Meadowland Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top