Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Algonkian Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Teachers were so unhappy with the principal that there was a mass exodus. Morale is low there. The teachers seem to teach to the mean and do not individually challenge or motivate the students.

Algonkian Elementary School 3

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
We have great hopes for the new principal of the school, as the last one managed to practically kill it. The teachers were unhappy and left in droves. The good points for Algonkian are that the teachers do really care, and they have fantastic support staff.


Algonkian Elementary School 2

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
Sadly, Algonkian has been declining the past few years with our new principal. Our ranking on "greatschools.org" has gone down dramatically, we have lost fantastic teachers and the moral at the school is an all time low.

Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
So happy with the education that my child has received, the dedication of the teachers, the plays and all of the activities that Algonkian Elementary provides. Fantastic job and thank you!

Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
It's the best kept secret!!! Small school with a great 'family' feel! Super close with all it's students and families. Great learning environment!


Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
Our son is in first grade. He has learned so much in the last few months. His teachers are wonderful and he loves going to school everyday.

Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Algonkian Elementary School 3

Posted April 30, 2006
- a parent
Unfortunately, since Mr. Duckworth's departure as principal last year, this once-stellar school has become an average elementary school. Some teacher dissatisfaction is evident, and the once-cohesive parent community has become divided along neighborhood lines. A very sad situation for what once was a happy and productive learning environment.


Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2005
- a parent
Algonkian has a wonderful, warm feeling for children to learn and flourish. Parents are welcomed and encouraged to be involved. I have three very successful students here.

Algonkian Elementary School 3

Posted April 11, 2005
- a parent
The school is ok as compared to many. But not nearly as good as those in Fairfax County. If you can afford to move, do it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Algonkian Elementary School
20196 Carter Court, Sterling, VA  20165
(571) 434-3240
Last modified Algonkian Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Algonkian Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top