Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Algonkian Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Respect is one of the school's pillars. Students are rewarded if they are caught showing respect.

Algonkian Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Just this year the school ran various drives to help people in need which helped breed compassion in my son.


Algonkian Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
The school uses a positive reward based behavior modification system. I feel that this provides a safe environment where a kid feels comfortable being honest (without fear of getting into trouble) and then rewards good behavior .

Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Everyone at the school has been welcoming and wonderful with my son. The school has a small, homey feel. The new leadership is stellar. My son is getting a great eduction that I am confident will prepare him for success in middle school and beyond.

Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school with dedicated teachers and very involved PTA. My daughter loves going to school everyday. New principal Mr. Blubaugh is excellent.


Algonkian Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
Teachers were so unhappy with the principal that there was a mass exodus. Morale is low there. The teachers seem to teach to the mean and do not individually challenge or motivate the students.

Algonkian Elementary School 3

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
We have great hopes for the new principal of the school, as the last one managed to practically kill it. The teachers were unhappy and left in droves. The good points for Algonkian are that the teachers do really care, and they have fantastic support staff.

Algonkian Elementary School 2

Posted February 02, 2014
- a parent
Sadly, Algonkian has been declining the past few years with our new principal. Our ranking on "greatschools.org" has gone down dramatically, we have lost fantastic teachers and the moral at the school is an all time low.


Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
So happy with the education that my child has received, the dedication of the teachers, the plays and all of the activities that Algonkian Elementary provides. Fantastic job and thank you!

Algonkian Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
It's the best kept secret!!! Small school with a great 'family' feel! Super close with all it's students and families. Great learning environment!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Algonkian Elementary School
20196 Carter Court, Sterling, VA  20165
(571) 434-3240
Last modified Algonkian Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Algonkian Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top