Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Horizon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 742 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

big disapoitment. moved from fairfax public school and we terribly miss the very wise teachers we had. i feel that horizon is not helping my child succeed. the amount of homework is unbelievable for the age. to the point that my child is loosing interest and feeling overwhelmed. the child is in school for almost 6 hours already every day! tons of pressure on the kid, stress. no time for extra school activities yet... really considering changing schools. if you are considering horizon for your kids, go visit and meet the principal/teacher first, ask all of your questions and good luck. we are not having a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

My son really enjoys all this school has to offer. I don't know how many schools there are in the US that focus on children's strengths and challenges, but this is definately one of them! I have seen my son excel not only at school but at home as well with guidance from the amazing staff of Horizon Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

I have two children that go here and it has been good. I have not heard a single complaint or "gossip" about the teachers, principal, other kids or families. I do not engage in that behavior myself so that might explain it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

I know some of the teachers here and they are really great. However, the principle has created such a negative work environment here that it has seriously become a really bad place for both teachers and students. Many teachers left when they discovered she had been hired as the principal. She is rude and spends all her time gossiping about teachers and other students. She consistently shows poor judgment in her dealings with staff and parents.


Posted August 29, 2012

We love this school! It is our fourth year here. The teachers and staff are great! We had only one glitch with an unexperienced, first-year teacher. But it seems the principal and staff are aware an working with that teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

This is hands down one of the worst schools you could possibly send your child to. The staff and faculty are un-interested and just plain rude. The principle is always too busy gossiping to worry with speaking with parents or students. The front office staff is among the worst I have ever seen. We moved just so our child could attend this school because we had so many good rec's about it. After 6 months we pulled our child and sent him to a private school that we are thrilled with. I would not send my dog to Horizon let alone my child. our child will NEVER go to public school again. Thanks Horizon for being the worst school possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

New this year at Horizon is this ridiculous effort to pin every kids' action as bullying. In my child's class, they pulled a number of kids out on 2 occasions to talk to them about the dangers of bullying because some parent wrote a letter. They did not bother verifying if that parent was exaggerating or if the statements were true or not. The tenure teacher was yelling at one crying boy "Yes, you _were_ a bully!" His friends knew he was not. My child was traumatized by all this false drama even though he was not the one involved and could not concentrate on school work for the whole week because looking at his friends that he knew were innocent, he felt afraid. And this happened twice in one school year! This was the same tenure teacher who at one point was replying to a parent email on the projector in front of the whole class, embarrassing the child whose parent had emailed the teacher. Academically, the school teaches to the test so the test scores remain high. The quality of teaching is at best mediocre. They no longer do switch-match per county directive, so the math curriculum is now below average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I have had 2 children at Horizon. The staff is amazing! Energetic and skilled working with the kids. I have had staff at the middle schools tell me how prepared the kids are coming from Horizon. My kids loved all of the extra activities that the PTA provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

Horizon, River Bend and Potomac Falls high School was one of the main reasons I moved to the Sterling area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

We have 2 kids at Horizon for 5 years now and we are very happy overall with the school. Ms. Daniel is an excellent 1st grade teacher - she has high expectations and the kids really perform up to them. The academic growth is unbelievable in 1st grade! My kids have both had some very creative teaching and enthusiastic teachers. Our family loves and attends all of the fun afterschool PTA sponsored events too. Our kids love going to Horizon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Excellent teachers and very responsive administrative staff. Mrs. Ewing, the Vice Principal is responsive to all academic and social concerns. Ms. Paolo is the best 2nd grade teacher - she offers enhancements to the curriculum that allow her students to excel. Mrs. Hatton is the best 1st grade teacher. Mrs. Lee, the reading specialist is a blessing to the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Have had students in 2 other schools in the area. Horizon, by far has been the best experience. Great teachers and extra curricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

Great school - excellent staff and great after school activities. I highly recommend to any family looking for a great elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

The staff ,the teachers and the principal are awesome.The afterschool enrichment program is fantastic.My son is in 5 th grade and he has the best teacher ever Mr.OBrien
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

I find the principal to be detached and indifferent. One day last year my child was sent home on the wrong bus even though we specified which bus for him to take home in writing that day. When picking him up from the office I spoke with the teacher about it, I didn't get an apology from her and wasn't contacted by the principal; something you think would concern him or would want to talk to the parents about. This year, first day of school, again my child was sent on the wrong bus. We stated on their transportation form where he should go. I received a call from his 7 yr old sister who was waiting on the right bus that her bother was missing. I would have preferredthe school call me, which they didn't, not my daughter and an apology for this 2nd mishap! We got neither!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

This is our second year at Horizon & we feel blessed to have such an excellant staff & program right in our neighborhood. Our son has special needs & everyone seems to bend over backwards to educate him & make him feel great about the environment he is in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

Homework is not challenging. The SOL scores may be high but the standards are pretty low. I'm happy with my daughter's current 4th grade teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

Administration at this school is probably the worst I have ever been exposed to in the 19 plus years that I have had my children in school. Concerns that are brought to their attention are not addressed. It also seems that they under-challenge the students to attain these 'high test scores'. I could give many examples but I fear I would take up the entire web page. If you are looking for a quality education for your child I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

This is our first year in this area and we are very disappointed in this school. The administration does not address complaints. Instead they do their best to cover them up or work around the issue instead of fixing it. The school is ranked high, but you must realize that in Virginia the higher ranking schools teach to the SOL so rankings is skewed. If you have an oppertunity to go to a different school I would strongly consider it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Having come from a customer service background I was initially shocked with the apathetic and rude responses I would receive from administration. I pretty much gave up trying to bring anything to their attention. If your looking for a quality education for your child you may want to look elsewhere. On the positive side the PTA is great, the after-school programs are fantastic, the school is clean and has all the bells and whistles that one would expect from such a high income area. Tons of PTA sponsored events like after-school enrichment programs that are just awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

134 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students85%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students78%
Female students78%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students92%
Female students91%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students93%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students84%
Female students88%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students84%
Female students88%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial93%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English86%

English: Writing

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial86%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students78%
Female students81%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial93%
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial93%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

46665 Brdmore Dr
Sterling, VA 20165
Phone: (571) 434-3260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT