Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Overall, very well-behaved kids. Teachers that are very involved in the child's success. Excellent well-balanced curriculum. Better facilities, including labs, promethean boards in classrooms, up-to-date gymnasium Strong PTA program. Excellent extra-curricular programs for students. Excellent CASA program.

Horizon Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Want to say a special thanks to Mr. Funkhouser for his upbeat attitude in the morning on the kiss & go student drop-off. Come rain, snow, or shine, he is there in the mornings (often sporting a pair of shorts, even in colder weather), motivating the kids as they are dropped off, with music also playing in the background. Very much appreciate his efforts!


Horizon Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
The school has a strong stance on bullying and enforces anti-bullying practices. The students are taught to respect others' opinions.

Horizon Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to help out other students in need. Group activities are also encouraged so that students get an opportunity to work with other students in a collective way.

Horizon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 22, 2016
- a parent
The school has several ways of rewarding students for good behavior -- e.g., awarding students points or stickers for good deeds, recognizing student achievements (not just academic, but character/citizenship as well)


Horizon Elementary School 4

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
Horizon is a great school. I have 2 kids there, and they have excelled at this school. The guidance counselors are awesome, and do so much to make sure your child is happy there. The teachers are very caring, and communicate all the time to the parents. I love the PTA, they have so many activities and ways to participate in the school. I have not had any interaction with the principle, but everything has seemed to be well organized and efficient.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
This is our second year here and I have to say it's on eof the best schools that I have ever encountered. Great teachers and staff. My child is so happy. At my child's previous school (a private school) there were so many sad days. Here, my child want's to go to school everyday! Such an improvement! Even the bus driver is amazing and so friendly. My child has learned so much in just one year. We are very, very happy!

Horizon Elementary School 2

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
School is kind of ok.Both my kids went there for like 3 years. The search program here is a joke. Can't believe they'll say No to a kid who scores 99 percentile in cogat and Nnat, who is a straight A student, reads like 2 grades above her current grade. Not exactly sure how the class room teacher and the Search teacher can't recommend such a kid. Really did not have a clue on what they expected. I just pulled my kid out and went to a neighboring county which welcomed my kid into full time GT with open arms. And that was the best decision I took. The 2 stars I gave was for the strong PTA community in this school.


Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
All three of my children and my nephew have attended Horizon Elementary School over the past 7-8 years. The teachers are consistently willing to work with kids and parents to help students succeed. Guidance counselors are excellent and promote responsible behavior. Support staff is happy, efficient and friendly. The principal and vice principal are also very good, I have seen repeated evidence of caring, concern, and character (one of the messages communicated to students) across the board at Horizon. As my kids attend(ed) Horizon I feel they are in a safe, structured, fun learning environment that helps prepare them for middle school. The school also holds many activities that are great for families including the spring fun fair, bingo & movie nights, fun runs; helps educate our kids on the importance of caring for others (sweats for vets, food drives); encourages physical fitness (after-school running club is one of the best!) and promotes a tangible sense of community that seems pretty rare for this busy area.

Horizon Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a community member
I love this school! My old 5th grade teacher loved to challenge us but still be fun. I would highly recommend it. The fourth grade team is amazing. the third grade I feel could be a little bit better though, same for first and second grade. The art teacher Mrs. Quinn is just plain amazing.The music teacher, Mr. Gravtitii very fun. The P.E Teachers, Mrs.Booth and Mr. Funkcousr are okay .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Horizon Elementary School
46665 Brdmore Dr, Sterling, VA  20165
(571) 434-3260
Last modified Horizon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Horizon Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top