Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Countryside Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 694 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

There are a lot of really good public schools in the DC area. Compared to that standard, Countryside has its pluses and minuses. On the positive side, we've met some really great families with kids at Countryside; caring, motivated parents who want their kids to do great without putting them in a pressure cooker (like many schools in this area). I adore a lot of the parents at this school. We've had mixed experiences with the teachers - we've had great ones and ok ones. None that were bad. We've had one or two that weren't a good fit for one of my children, but generally the teachers put a lot of effort into placing kids with someone who is a good fit. The office is well run. We've had great experiences with the school nurse. Our biggest complaint has been with the principal. He seems to spend a fair amount of time hanging out around the students, but makes very little effort to have an impact on their education. He seems to want all children to fit into a one-size-fits-all program and doesn't like anyone who stands out as different. As long as everyone is behaving and doing ok on their SOLs, he doesn't seem interested in whether or not learning is taking place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

This is the best school ever. My child was in Countryside. When we moved to an other school, she was so upset. Anyways this school is awesome.


Posted April 5, 2013

I wish I knew what was going on more in the classroom, get emails from the PTA, get phone recordings from the principal, but nothing from the teacher. I have no idea what is going on in the classroom, sometimes I ask my daughter but she is 5 and doesn't say much. My friends daughter at another county school gets a weekly letter of what is being done and what is going to be done. I would love to know what they are doing so I can work on at home as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

My daughter was in Ms Peaks class and I love it, she took her under her wings and gave her the push she needed to understand more when she reads and comprehend what she reads, I love and appreciate her for that. Other than that I really did not care too much for the school, I have a son there and observed a teacher constantly calling his name when something is going on behind her and not even looking to see the problem she automatically called my sons name, not sure what that was about, I do not like that fact that you cannot just come in to observe your child in their classroom, especially when they are saying that he or she is not paying attention and not focusing on what they are suppose to be doing in class, and they keep you in the dark about the lessons they are teaching not having the slightest idea of what the teachers are doing in the class, when you can go over it with your child, and by the look of the SOL scores maybe if they gave us the chance to go over the work as well, then their test scores would be better and the SOL's would be better........... 5 Stars for teachers is for Ms Peak
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2011

Wonderful School with excellent support staff. Exceptional PTA with members volunteering on an almost daily basis. Our family loves Countryside Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

My husband and I moved to Loudoun County 9 years ago from New York City. I will admit I was hesitant about sending my children to a public school in Loudoun County....but then I did a little investigating, and saw an upward trend in the test scores and the parents overall satisfaction with the school system. My husband and I decided to give our local public school a try. Wow! We made the best choice possible for our children. I am absolutely in awe by the quality of the education, care and programs Countryside is offering to our community. I love to volunteer, as many of the parents do, because it is a real joy to see the students flourish. Countryside offers a warm, safe, and nurturing environment in which the students can achieve their personal best. I can't speak highly enough about the teachers, administration and staff that genuinely care about the children. I have seen the teachers go above and beyond to insure that each child succeeds. Truly beautiful.We are moving back to NYC this summer, and I wish we could take Countryside Elementary with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

My two daughters were in countryside last year and my little one was picked by her teacher with no reason most of time.. I think old and nervous teachers should be replaced by young ,happy and energetic teachers who are more friendly to kids, this school is weak in adminstration and a few teachers are not friendly to kids and not caring about parents complaint and objection! hope to see improvement...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

The principal and assistant principal are not caring about parents` opinions and complaints. some teachers are not patient with little kindergarteners and first graders and are very restrict and picky! We did not have good experience in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2009

The administration of this school is lacking, but the teachers are the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2009

This school is absolutely wonderful -- warm, caring and disciplined and the academics are very strong. The teachers we have had use new teaching methods that help kids really understand and absorb the lessons, and they tailor the lessons to each child's individual level. I was nervous sending my oldest child off to school here, but it has been a great experience. We are considering moving, and one of my biggest reasons for hesitation is that we would have to leave this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

My son goes to Kindergarten in Countryside and simply loves goin to school. Its a really nice school and the kindergarten teacher Mrs Mishler is amazing. My son has learnt soo much in just these 3 months tat its astonishing. They even have a Search program tat recognizes gifted and talent students. Only drawback is tat Kindergarten is not full day for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

My children attend the Pre-K program & it is phenomenal. The teachers & assistant teachers are excellent, caring & energetic. The children LOVE being there & most of all they have learned so much. Hats off to this program & may it continue in the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

The teacher are very organized and care for the kids. They are envolved with my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

I have two children who attend this school a 1st grader and a 3rd grader! Overall our experience here has been great. The teaching staff is wonderful and supportive, I'm a firm believer in being involved it really counts towards making sure your child is having an exceptional experience. The principal is awesome she demands respect but also shows respect! My son has the BEST teacher this year and my daughter loves hers so we couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

I've a lot and always worry about my kids education. This school has been there supporting them since day 1. I strongly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2006

The office staff is a parent's dream. Very efficient, customer friendly administrators. Teachers are pro-active in immediately addressing any issues that may arise with your child's behavior and academic progress. They don't just talk the talk - they problem solve! After school extra-curricular activities are offered in various sports, academics and crafts. There is also on-site after-school care via CASA. Many pro-family events are held througout the school year (OctoberFestival, Bingo Night, Spaghetti Night, Veteran's Day Show, etc.)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students65%
Female students72%
Male students58%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students71%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students68%
Female students72%
Male students64%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students79%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students83%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students75%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students79%
Female students79%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English84%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students88%
Male students69%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students76%
Female students75%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students77%
Female students73%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20624 Countryside Blvd.
Sterling, VA 20165
Phone: (571) 434-3250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT