Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Park View High School 5

Posted August 19, 2014
- a teacher
Part 3 of 3: In 2013, Park View students raised $4280 for the United Way, and for a Louisa County high school that was affected by the 2011 earthquake. This was the most money any Virginia high school raised for students in Louisa County, whose schools superintendent came to personally accept our check. In 2014, students beat the previous year s figure and raised over $6,000, the second highest amount raised in the 20 years Park View has fundraised for the United Way. Half the funds went to the Veteran s Hospital. Last year, one of our hardworking first-generation American students was admitted to Harvard University. Many other first-generation American students gain admittance to Virginia s prestigious state schools. Visit Park View s website to view the many academic and multicultural clubs our students participate in. Be sure to check out the Patriot Photo and Video Galleries to glimpse our students passion for their school. Better yet, visit Park View yourself to experience its uniquely cohesive and communal environment. Talk with our students, teachers and administrators about what they most appreciate about this school.

Park View High School 5

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
Park View High School is a very good representation of America . . . a melting pot that creates good character and responsible young adults ready to take on the challenges of college or entrance into the workforce. The Principal, assistant principals, counselors, and teachers care immensely about the students. I have 3 kids that graduated and one more still to graduate. All of my kids have been positively influenced by the faculty and staff at the school. Now it was not always a smooth ride for my kids but they managed to overcome the bumps in the roads because of the faculty and teachers. Some kids at the school did not always represent the best interest of the school; however, most students I have met and interacted with are wonderful and show Park View Pride.


Park View High School 4

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
PVHS gave my daughters something I never expected--a broader perspective. This might seem less important than perfect grades, but I know my girls are ahead of many of their peers in their readiness to enter today s work world thanks to the diverse community that is PVHS. While attending notably less diverse colleges, they felt something was missing. Post college, they ve adapted well to the now typically international work places of suburban DC. Yes, they attended and performed well in AP classes. Yes, they had teachers and administrators they liked and didn t like. Yes, like any school, PVHS is a changing environment that students and families must navigate with care. What s constant is the support found in both the staff and the community. Many parents volunteer for years after their kids graduate. Many teachers spend the majority of their careers there, enjoying deep respect from their students for their obvious dedication. The benefits of a school like PVHS can t be measured in the stats of a data set: Go there, talk to staff and parents, see a musical or a football game, and decide what s most important in your child s education. It might not be in the curriculum!

Park View High School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
My oldest child just graduated from PV and I have two younger ones attending. I would not trade to another school if I won the lottery. The teachers are committed to their students success and are available before, during and after school for extra assistance. Students are from a wide variety of cultural and socio-economic backgrounds without the tension and behavior problems seen at other schools. They respect each other. The administration is marvelous. There will be a new principal next year and I only hope he is as good as Dr. Minshew has been.

Park View High School 1

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible. From academics to athletics. From the princicpal apoligizing for not speaking spanish to the unorganized, inconsistancy of the athletic department.


Park View High School 2

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
The Math program that was introduced 3 years ago across the county has been a systematical problem. 75% of the Park View students math grades have decreased significantly. Some teachers do give their time to work with the students before and after school, but more needs to be done. Teachers need to be held accountable for their teaching styles and how to help improve the student learning rather than worry about the SOL testing that only supports the teachers job status.

Park View High School 1

Posted May 04, 2011
- a community member
i hate this school and the way it's run. they never care about a child's best interest, but only themselves. "number 1 break out school" pretty much means that we are acknowledge for actually being pretty smart for how terrible of a school we are. how embarrassing. and then we spend the money on new lockers. because that's what we need. new god**** lockers. it's really funny how all the staff defends minshew. she worries more about what kids wear, then what they are getting in school. the morning announcements every morning consist of "let me remind you, since the weather has been getting warmer, that we need to dress in a appropriate manner. and if you don't i have ugly t-shirts and sweatpants for you" or "let me remind you, that hats are not allowed in school." honestly? i'm done with this school. the principal is pathetic, and so is the school itself. you give students that actually try to succeed, a hard time, when the ones that don't give two **** about schools are chilling in the bathroom, smoking weed.

Park View High School 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a student
This school is amazing. The number 1 reason is the dedication from the teachers, students, coaches, and families of this school. The principal loves each and every one of her students, even if they get into trouble alot. The teachers are always there to help you out when you need it, and you get an honest grade for how well you do in class-not how your teacher thinks you should do. I am a sophomore, about to enter my junior year after summer, and I couldn't think of anywhere else to go :)


Park View High School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a teacher
I deliberately chose to accept a job at Park View over several other counties, as well as schools in western Loudoun because of the principal, staff, and students. This year, Park View was named as one of only five schools in the nation to win the Breakthrough School award. Noticing the range of comments-and attitudes they reveal-I am reminded that a school reflects the human race as a whole: Some people are more empathetic than others; some people are more motivated than others; and, some people are more tolerant of others' differences. Park View definitely meets the definition of a "great school."

Park View High School 1

Posted April 04, 2010
- a student
Its like I'm really in Mexico! Such 'diversity' has bought Park View into the pathetic state that it is currently in; class feels like one of those fish markets you see in documentaries, glorious 'teachers' with the inability to comprehend basic thoughts and reason, oh, and the wonderful principle that has the patience of a 5 year old. Please stay away from this school parents; I'll be back-flipping out of the window on gradation day.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Park View High School
400 W Laurel Ave, Sterling, VA  20164
(571) 434-4500
Last modified Park View High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Park View High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top