Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rolling Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 590 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 26, 2014

I used to go to this school since third grade and I loved it!! It's the best school I ever to!! I even wish my old teachers would teach at Sterling middle school! That's how nice the teachers are at Rolling Ridge!!


Posted September 8, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about the school, the staff, and the leadership at Rolling Ridge. They are very proactive to helping the students learn, address struggles, and form a parent/teacher relationship that is vital to the success of the kids. I applaud this school and the staff and especially the leadership for inspiring and motivating the children daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

I love Rolling Ridge Elementary school. It has a great principal and a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I'll be honest, I had my hesitations based on the rating. I then decided to visit the school and I'm so glad I did. My first impression was very good. The staff was very helpful and understanding. We decided to enroll our daughter there for kindergarten and said we would give it 6 months. We loved it and, more importantly, my daughter really loved it. She was happy each day going to school and coming home. She learned a lot and had fun doing it. Her teacher Mrs. Butler is the kind of teacher you want for young children. She is simply wonderful. The Principal at this school is exceptional. He is always in a great mood, knows every child's name and he is tireless. This man loves this school, the families, and the kids. We are now heading into 1st grade and are looking forward to another wonderful year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Rolling Ridge is a wonderful school with excellent leadership. Although the student population is very diverse, the teachers and administration do a great job addressing all student needs. The struggling students get small group instruction as well as the high performing students. The atmosphere of the school is solely attributed to the principal and his ability to inspire and motivate the staff. Now all we need are more parents to be involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Caring teachers and a wonderful principal that remembers every child name. My child loves going to school every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

Rolling Ridge is a great school. From the moment you walk in, you feel like home. The staff is absolutely awesome. Always welcoming you with a smile. The teachers are very good and are focused on each and every child. I am very proud to be part of the RRD family. For the last couple of years the school has gone a major facelift making it even better. Not only it looks spectacular on the outside but also on the inside! Way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

As a parent I am very happy to see the school getting a well over-due makeover! This year I have been rather disappointed with the Autism program. I know the entire autism staff is new, so perhaps with time and practice they will get better! In all I have always been proud of the education my child is receiving at this school! I thank the teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

Rolling Ridge elementary is a very good school. my children have been attending Rolling Ridge for 4 years and they have always been pleased, engaged, challenged and well-educated. With the rapidly changing population in the Sterling neighborhood, Rolling Ridge (and Loudoun County schools) is very proactive in their approach to inclusion and excellence in education for their entire student population. The trailers out back offer a dramatic view of the surrounding aparmtent complex... not to be missed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2004

Rolling Ridge has some of the best teachers in the county.Mrs. Barret and Mrs. Benedict are among the best. I don't care for the new STEPS program as I feel it interferes with class flow and teaching individualality. I do think RR needs to be remodeled badly. There is an unfair advantage with the newer schools. Sterling Park schools have fallen behind due to age. Also when Forest Grove opened we reduced class size just to have the number of teachers reduced, now we're back up to 28 or so kids in a class. Overall, I've been very happy with the quality of education my children are receiving. Remember, no school can do it all. It's up to the parents to stay involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

Too many new teachers. I had a teacher tell me how well my daughter was doing in her writing and grammer only to find out that after reviewing the writing my daughter did I new it was not her own. Never the less we found out the she had copied it word for word from one of here teachers class room books she offers the kids to read. The school is falling apart while the rest of the county is get upgrades and new state of the are schools. This school is the 32 years old. Find away to move to a wealthier nieghborhood if you want your child to have a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

42 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students73%
Male students57%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students62%
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English79%

Math

All Students63%
Female students71%
Male students57%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students79%
Female students85%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students60%
Female students73%
Male students50%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students88%
Female students83%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities79%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students79%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students83%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English88%

English: Writing

All Students56%
Female students57%
Male students55%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students81%
Female students77%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English93%

Science

All Students72%
Female students66%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students92%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Andrew Davis

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 E Frederick Dr
Sterling, VA 20164
Phone: (571) 434-4540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT