Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sterling Middle School 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Sterling Middle for two years now. He is taking Latin and Algebra as a 7th grader and has excelled. The teachers are engaging and really make the school as good any any in Loudoun County, which is one of the best school systems in the country.

Sterling Middle School 1

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
The Sterling Middle School pyramid is not a place to educate children. The immigrant population here severely reduces quality teaching. And the attitude for learning from this counter culture is very negative. We want out, but we are having a hard time selling our house because of the schools. So the poor schools are dragging down the value of our house as well (not to mention the bad management of our Spring Grove Farm HOA). We are so happy to be leaving this community to a more family friendly environment. If your thinking of moving in, think again.


Sterling Middle School 4

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
Sterling Middle is a fabulous school. I have had 2 children go through this school. They both did very well. The principal really cares about the community, the students and the staff. There is a welcoming feeling every time the door opens. The front office staff are friendly and helpful. SMS was awarded the SCHOOL TO WATCH AWARD ..only 300 middle schools in the country get awarded this award. All the testing scores have gone up over the last 3 years. Standards have been met . There are not any gangs in this school either. Great School!

Sterling Middle School 4

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
My son has attended Sterling Middle for the past year (7th grade) and he loves it. I really would like to move closer to work, but he won't let me if it means switching schools. I also like the school; when I moved to Sterling I felt like the teachers were very interested in my son's progress, however I don't really feel like they maintained that momentum through out the school year. I believe my son was bored in the classes and the teachers, knowing this, didn't do much to challenge him. He will be in AP classes next year, so I do hope that would change. Parents' involvement is high and teachers are pleasant.

Sterling Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 24, 2009
- a student
To be honest nobody know what really does on at this school. No body care and either do the the drugged up students. harts the plain simple truth.


Sterling Middle School 5

Posted October 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sterling Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
Teachers are very dedicated to the success of the students. Many afterschool activities are offered from sports programs, musical groups, STEP team, Latin Dance Club, homework club and tutoring opportunities. Great diversity!

Sterling Middle School 1

Posted March 04, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Sterling Middle School 1

Posted October 26, 2007
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Sterling Middle School 5

Posted August 30, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sterling Middle School
201 W Holly Ave, Sterling, VA  20164
(571) 434-4520
Last modified Sterling Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sterling Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews.