Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Kennedy Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 560 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My daughter started JFK Middle School this year and she has had a great start! The teachers are truly commited to helping there students succeed. The school itself has been open for around 35 years and in need of extra money for supplies and upkeep for the school. The teachers and the students deserve to work/learn in an enviornment that matches up to the dedication of the faculty. Please select JFK !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

i was against this at the beginning only because of the bad publicity. after awhile, i realized it is how you interact.. the teachers have a lot to deal with it as far as other parents who dont care about their childs education but if you are involved then the teachers are as well. you cant help the unwilling to learn or be taught. it isnt so bad.. i wish they had more homework but then there would be more below average grades because not all parents are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

Okay, yes it needs a makeover, but its not about the look its about the education you get. YES ITS TRUE JFK does have roaches!! But we see them very rarely, about 1 every couple of months... I AM A 6th grsder A t JFK .. AND to be honest. i love it. i have never had test scores this high before! the teachers are awesome! I RECOMMEND IT FOR EVERYONE!!


Posted September 17, 2012

frist o need to stop am a student at jkf on my last year,yes jfk isn't the best looking school,an yes we do have fights but overall we do have GREAT sol scores i was in pre algebra last year an we beat the state scores and suffolk district our math science and english is fantastic an the teacher really do push for us to do our best,OH AN WE HAVE GREAT AFTER SCHOOL ACTIVIES an me personally i LOVE jfk GO WOLFERINES:)


Posted June 19, 2010

This really has to be one of the worst schools ever! The school itself is in terrible condition. My child says she has seen roaches among other things. I wish she did not have to go to this school but they are the only middle school around for miles. The teachers do not seem to challenge the students and care more about disciplining them than teaching them. They just need to focus more on education and cleaning up the school. I definitely want to move just to get my child into a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

My son is a student at this school. In my opinion its a poor excuse for a middle school. I don't feel that the teachers care about student performance. My child had a teacher tell him he was unteachable and shouldn't have been in her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

I found caring teachers at this school but they have to fight a negative public image. Overall school test scores not that good. I wish that parents had more choice in where our children go to school. JFK would not be my choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2009

this school needs alot of work done to it, the school it self is sloppy and needs a make over. I go to this school and i do not like it. The only good thing about it is their after school programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

My twins go to this school and I was very much against it because of all the bad publicity. I am here to tell you that it wa the best thing that we did by letting them go there. They are involved in after school activities and have great grades. They do more parent involvement but they are going in the right direction. Thanks to all the hard work of the students and the staff at JFKMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

Definitely a school in transition. New paint, remodeled bathrooms, auditorium, and gym, and two new assistant administrators who have breathed new life into the environment. Programs that encourage growth, such as DEBS and Young Men of Direction- a dedicated, kind yet firm staff that has made positive changes in the school culture and has engaged more parental involvement. School remains beleaguered by a poorly endowed media center and lack of technology. Students would benefit from more clubs and afterschool activities, particularly tutorial programs that involve community volunteers. 6th grade students lament the lack of after school sport activities geared to them, and community involvement in a school which desperately needs it has been woefully inadequate. School recently achieved full state accreditation with the tireless work of its faculty, staff, and students. A lot of work to be done, but definitely moving up in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

Awful school, run down, across from it sits a cemetary. My child is depressed and withdrawn after having attended here only weeks. Time to homeschool or ship my son to a relative so he can attend a safe school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students65%
Female students73%
Male students57%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students77%
Female students81%
Male students74%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students67%
Male students60%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial79%
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Math

All Students53%
Female students51%
Male students53%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students59%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students57%
Female students64%
Male students49%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students66%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English57%

English: Writing

All Students55%
Female students67%
Male students44%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English55%

Math

All Students66%
Female students71%
Male students60%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Science

All Students66%
Female students64%
Male students68%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities39%
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Accredited with Warning".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Female students97%
Male students97%
Black students97%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2325 E Washington St
Suffolk, VA 23434
Phone: (757) 934-6212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT