Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elephant's Fork Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 580 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2013

The staff and faculty of the school are great. Parent involvement is lacking, but it may be due to the blend of neighborhoods the children come from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

My oldest child has been in this school since Kindergarten. My youngest since Pre-K. Now in 3rd grade and 1st grade. I am having issues with my children getting bullied and assaulted by other students. I wasn't even called when these events happened. I found out when picking my children up. My youngest has been slammed against a cement wall by a student who was a grade above. My oldest was punched by a child from another class but same grade. My son was punched and pushed into a trash can and onto the floor by another student. I was told nothing could be done because we didn't have a child's name or the teacher he told name. So I had to go over the principle's head. Now my son doesn't feel safe in this school and it doesn't seem like anyone cares or not if he is safe. I hear teachers always complaining about children.Well if you can't stand them and don't know how to deal with them, then find another career.My children's drinks and snacks get stolen. I've said something to the teachers, principle, assistant principle.Nothing was done.Oh and another encounter I had was. Someone was using my youngest child's number for breakfast and lunch. They don't check the name with the number.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

I agree with other comments....principle is wonderful....school is clean and friendly. Parents seemed very involved. Happy with this school so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2013

Very pleased with EFE this year! My child loves school and the teachers. She looks foward to library, art and music but her favorite has been P.E. We have enjoyed coming to her honor roll award ceremonies and participating in all the class room events. These days, it's hard for any public school to really get the funding necessary to do everything the staff and teachers want to do for our kids. I am happy to say this school really makes the effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

AWESOME PRINCIPLE! Makes a world of difference! Friendly staff. They know me and my child by name. My child looks forward to school days now. This school is on the up and up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

After buying a house and moving to Suffolk, everything seemed great, until school started and I had to take my son out of the bus because he was bullied every day. The Bus driver, did not care, school staff did not do anything. Last week while having lunch with my son I just could not believe the way kids are being treated. They are being yelled at lunch time just because they talk. It felt like being in prison. Just because most of the students are from downtown Suffolk, and because the parents might not care, does not mean kids from good neighborhoods have to be treated like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

This school is failing and the staff is only half the reson. The kids are from down town suffolk and don't have parents that care.The staff has been taught that yelling and punishment is the best way to get the studnets to respond. The VP and other admin staff is just below average. Vilonce starts in pre-k and they have zero accomidations for gifted children. They folded in Mount Zion into this school in order to save the test scores and get it off the failing school list. Unfortunately the teachers cannot teach both inter-city at risk kids and highly performing kids in the same class. If you have an above average kid, this school is not for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2012

My child is always having her stuff stolen out of her desk, even the teacher has to lock her stuff up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

This is a great school with wonderful staff! My daughter has been here for two years and is going into the third grade, she knows all of the office staff, the principal and most of the teachers. This is a "community" school where everyone is involved in making sure the students succeed! They have plenty of extra activity's that the students can participate in, talent shows, movie nights and my daughter comes home from school every day with fresh fruit for an after-school snack! I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

This is an outstanding school! Many of the reviews below are old and represent a different principal than the one we have now. My daughter has been at the school for 4 years and my son is in the middle of his first. Mrs. Gatling who is the new principal that took over last year is fantastic. The morale of the staff and administration is so uplifting. When you walk in you feel welcomed and everyone is glade to be there. I highly recommend this school and commend Mrs. Gatling for turning around a sinking ship and bringing it back to life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I was very pleased with Elephants Fork Elementary and their staff. The principal was excellent every time I needed to speak to her. My son's kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Blei, was a wonderful teacher. The only problem I had was at the begining when the kids were being dropped off by the buses. I was out there everyday just watching to make sure that my son knew where to go. It appeared unorganized and I voiced my opinion and suggestion to the vice principal. The following day my suggestion was implented and it worked out better. They are always open to suggestion and react accordingly. If anyone is lucky enough to get Mrs. Blei as their childs teacher-you will be blessed. I love elephants fork and wish my kids could stay there but have been redesignated to Hillpoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2007

I am happy with the teachers that my children have, and those that I've met, but I dislike the Principal. The VP is a wonderful man who I trust completely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

I am extremely satisfied with Elephant Fork Elementary school. Maybe I've been luck over the past three years, but I have had nothing but positive things happen for my son since attending EFES. He has been on the Honor roll every grading period since kindergarden and is now in the 2nd grad. His teachers have constantly kept in contact with me calling me at home with not only negative activities but possitive things that happen in my childs day. I would recommend this school to anyone wanting their child to be nurtured in a caring enviroment. Education is not only what the teachers can give your child, but what you as a parent alone with your child put into it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

This is the worst school my children have attended. The bulling is overwhelming. My daughter's class was out of control. The principle refused to deal with the bulling unless the child confessed to doing the bulling. The parent involvement is high but only to ensure the safety of the children. This experience has taught me that I need to check out the schools before I move into the area. Location, Location, location!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2005

I was not an educated homebuyer until I learned the valuable leason of location,location,location. This school is a homeowner's/tax payers worst nightmare. My child failed fourth grade due to the schools poor quality issues. The sad part is that, she was only enrolled for her last semester when her grades suddenly plumeted. Despite my countless efforts to assist the staff,requesting accomedations, support ect....my child and I was given the run-a-round. My request to tranfer to a more suitable school was approved and my childs second year as a fourth grader was more than a bitter sweet success, She made the honor-roll.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2005

We have been extrememly dissapointed with the education our children receive at Elephant's Fork Elementary. We have found the staff non-responsive for the needs of our children despite thier continued lip service to 'No Child Left Behind Act'. We have chosen to move our family rather than fight year after year for alternate zone placement of our children to avoid this public school. The staff for Suffolk Public School System seems to be responsive but the flow of resolution on many items has wasted a year of both our children's lives. The staff solution at EFES is merely the answer 'They are young, they can repeat it next year.' This school had trouble meeting accredidation, it has been suggested to me that they are trying to eliminate the problem children by pushing them out of the zone rather than assist the children in achieving acedemic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students58%
Female students62%
Male students55%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%

Math

All Students61%
Female students67%
Male students56%
Black students46%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Science

All Students89%
Female students93%
Male students85%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students45%
Female students48%
Male students41%
Black students35%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students59%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English45%

Math

All Students61%
Female students66%
Male students56%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students60%
Female students63%
Male students58%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

English: Writing

All Students59%
Female students64%
Male students55%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%

Math

All Students66%
Female students59%
Male students72%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Science

All Students63%
Female students63%
Male students64%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2316 William Reid Dr
Suffolk, VA 23434
Phone: (757) 923-5250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT