Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elephant's Fork Elementary School 2

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
This school does not effectively deal with bullying. My child was being tormented for weeks and I was not contacted until the children actually got into a physical altercation. What bothered me the most is that I was not contacted until hours after the event happened. I felt like I should have been contacted immediately.

Elephant's Fork Elementary School 1

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
This school has gone downhill since Dr.Gatling left! All the caring teachers are gone or leaving. Seems they get new teachers every year now! We have teachers that don't even know what they should be doing! Not only the school but there is no parking. If we park where we aren't supposed to, we get a ticket. We have to fight to get into parking and with buses that the drivers could careless about you. They blow their horns at parents to move out of their way. They drive like no one else is on the road with them. They have came very close to hitting parents cars who are waiting to drop off their kids. Not only that but when parents go to leave, there are cars parked all along the road on the right hand side. Which if someone is pulling out can not go anywhere if a bus is coming. Instead of the bus stopping they keep coming expecting you to get out of their way. There have been complaints made and still no one has done anything to change this in the last few years! Buses aren't even supposed to be using the same road as the parents. But what has anyone done about this school? Nothing. Things will never change at this school. Only thing that seems to change are the employees!


Elephant's Fork Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
All the ones who were effective with these children have left this school and went to different schools

Elephant's Fork Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Honestly kids are in school all day long. Why is it necessary to have them leave from school and come home to do homework that will take them 2-3 hours to complete! And don't even get graded on it!

Elephant's Fork Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
Seems they pick and choose who they want most of the students have no respect. And as for teachers and teachers aids. Let's just say some shouldn't even have their job!


Elephant's Fork Elementary School 1

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
This school is poorly set up. There are no planners... no communication folders. no phones in the classrooms. And the teachers seem tired and overworked and never available. You want the kids to be organized but the teachers are not. I have problems with each teacher we have dealt with. Maybe with time and funding things could be better.

Elephant's Fork Elementary School 3

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
The staff and faculty of the school are great. Parent involvement is lacking, but it may be due to the blend of neighborhoods the children come from.

Elephant's Fork Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
My oldest child has been in this school since Kindergarten. My youngest since Pre-K. Now in 3rd grade and 1st grade. I am having issues with my children getting bullied and assaulted by other students. I wasn't even called when these events happened. I found out when picking my children up. My youngest has been slammed against a cement wall by a student who was a grade above. My oldest was punched by a child from another class but same grade. My son was punched and pushed into a trash can and onto the floor by another student. I was told nothing could be done because we didn't have a child's name or the teacher he told name. So I had to go over the principle's head. Now my son doesn't feel safe in this school and it doesn't seem like anyone cares or not if he is safe. I hear teachers always complaining about children.Well if you can't stand them and don't know how to deal with them, then find another career.My children's drinks and snacks get stolen. I've said something to the teachers, principle, assistant principle.Nothing was done.Oh and another encounter I had was. Someone was using my youngest child's number for breakfast and lunch. They don't check the name with the number.


Elephant's Fork Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
I agree with other comments....principle is wonderful....school is clean and friendly. Parents seemed very involved. Happy with this school so far.

Elephant's Fork Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
Very pleased with EFE this year! My child loves school and the teachers. She looks foward to library, art and music but her favorite has been P.E. We have enjoyed coming to her honor roll award ceremonies and participating in all the class room events. These days, it's hard for any public school to really get the funding necessary to do everything the staff and teachers want to do for our kids. I am happy to say this school really makes the effort.

Nearby schools

Elephant's Fork Elementary School
2316 William Reid Dr, Suffolk, VA  23434
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (757) 923-5250
Last modified Elephant's Fork Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top