Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kilby Shores Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 606 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2014

My son attends the early education program at Kilby Shores, this is his second year. I strongly agree with the fact the office staff is more than lacking in the organized and friendly department although we have had pretty good experiences with my sons teachers. If you have a child with special needs and are questioning whether or not Kilby Shores is a descent school, I would say YES in this department. My sons teachers the first year fell in love with him and were very involved in his home and school life and we noticed a lot of changes in our sons speech and demeanor (for the better) - same goes for this year. I would not say it is the IDEAL school we would have chosen but I do feel their early education teachers are very good with the children from what we have experienced!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

I am in the 6th grade at Forest Glen Middle School. I went to Kilby Shores for grades 3-5 and I didn't like the custodians and the lunch ladies. I also didn't like the food there. Let me be the first to say the the food there was terrible.


Posted June 5, 2011

worst school ever!!! Can't wait for my son to go to middle school! They can't care less about their students. They only care about the SOL's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2011

Kilby Shores is a Wonderful School! The teachers, staff and administration are great! There are lots of activities for students - the garden and cooking clubs and lots of others clubs, A.R. awards, parent workshops, and the PTA is great! The PTA has talent shows, school yard sales to raise money, and movie nights for families! My kids have received a great education over the past four years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

My two daughters attended Kilby Shores for a year and a half. One had great teachers, the other had a nightmare teacher who appears to be protected by the principal. Although my daughter did very well b/c we spent hours reteaching and learning at home, nothing but temporary test prep, wordsearches, worksheets, yelling, and coloring was being done in the 3rd grade classroom....forget about quality teaching and learning. The principal is rarely there or available and did not respond to emails. I am an involved parent with great kids and a teacher myself. I hope that Kilby Shores has a dynamic change in leadership with real teaching and learning (not just test prep) and classroom management skills in the future or it will continue to crumble. We want much more for our children and have chosen to now educate elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2010

GREAT TEACHERS-GREAT EDUCATION. I will have to disagree with the negative comments about Dr. Oliver. Ever time I come to the school Dr. Oliver is there to greet the students. I personally have had two encounters with her about my children and both times she called me back the same day and returned my emails promptly. Additionally, she followed up with me. Being in the military and transfering quite frequently I know that each school has issues however, Kilby Shore is an excellent school and both of my children love going to school each day. And I think that only is the most important aspect for me. Most people who have negative comments are those parents who have problem children who expect the public school system to fix what they should be fixing at home. This school is also military friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

In an ideal world every child would have caring parents who look out for their best interest at school and home. They would be involved in their child s classroom and have their name known at school. Unfortunately this is not the case for many children today. Not every parent has the luxury of spending time in their child s class. To take time off of work to go back numerous time to work out issues that may or may not be getting addressed the way they should. This is a sad fact but true. My child is one of the lucky ones. I have been able to work in the school, volunteer and be a squeaky wheel. I want Kilby Shores to be a school where every child has the opportunity to excel and their parents don t have to fight tooth and nail to be heard. That is not my idea of what a good school should be. The Administration needs to be aware of what has happened to the reputation of a once great school and take responsibility for the loss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

Kilby Shores IS a GREAT school! Look, we all know that there is always room for improvement. If you don't like how something is being done, then do something about it. GET INVOLVED!! If each child had one representative from their home, actively involved in what they were doing at school, things would get better. I had a situation with one of my kids last year, and after bringing it to Dr. Oliver's attention it was handled. She may not always be visible, but she does return phone calls and emails. Our kids will not get everything they need to be educated, productive members of society from school. It starts at HOME! I assure you when they know your name at school, they are going to take your situations seriously. Sure, there is work to do. Are you doing your part to make Kilby Shores the best it can be?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

Kilby Shores is an excellent school. Many of the teachers have been there for many years. Just like any school however, the parents themselves only get out of it what they put into it. Parental involvement in any school is critical. Dr. Oliver has alwlays been available to address any of my concerns and the teachers my daughters have had have always gone above and beyond to ensure my children reach their highest potential. I have one daughter in 'odysey of the mind' which meets after school. It really challenges her imagination and I am so thankful for the teacher that puts in so much time to offer this to our students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

I was very disappointed with the education my children acquired at this school. The teachers do not properly inform the parents of what the students are learning. Students do not get practice and repetition. They are taught how to temporarily pass a test. Homework assignments bear little resemblance to class work. My children will attend private school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

My daughter went only to kindergarten here, but I was really pleased with the teachers and the whole school staff. It was sad we had to move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2007

I am very pleased with Kilby Shores. There are so many enrichment resources available. There are numerous clubs (over 25) so that each child has a chance at getting into one. There are so many types of clubs that attract various interests to meet the needs of everyone. Technology is integrated into instruction frequently through computers and the Smartboard. Chorus, recorder-karate, talented art, and many other enrichment classes are also available during school hours. The school participates in GRADESPEED to keep me posted of her current grades which is wonderful! As for the teachers and principal, they have all been very responsive in any concerns or comments. They also seem to have a genuine interest in the students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2006

My daughter just completed Kindergarden thru 2nd grade at this school. I am very impressed by this school and am sorry to be transferring out of the area and having to leave this school behind. Mrs. Erdie Hutchings in the 2nd grade is the most wonderful teacher you could ever imagine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

Overall, this school is excellent. My daughter went here from 3-5 and my son is in kindergarten. Unfortunately, we are moving. My children and I are really going to miss everything about Kilby Shores. I would really like to stress to all parents of children who go there, please get involved in PTA. There are so few people who are willing to give a few hours of there time for the good of the children and the PTA really needs your help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2004

Kilby Shores is the cleanest, most attractive elementary school I have ever seen. My two boys have done very well there. The staff is excellent and the principal is beyond compare. The staff is friendly and professional, and the children are well-behaved. I like the high standards set forth by this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students80%
Male students72%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students55%
Female students64%
Male students46%
Black students33%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English54%

Science

All Students86%
Female students84%
Male students87%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students65%
Male students61%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English62%

Math

All Students73%
Female students65%
Male students82%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students72%
Male students73%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

English: Writing

All Students72%
Female students82%
Male students61%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students72%
Female students72%
Male students73%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Science

All Students74%
Female students74%
Male students73%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Seazante Oliver

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Kilby Shores Dr
Suffolk, VA 23434
Phone: (757) 934-6214

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT