Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Suffolk Christian Academy 2

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
A thoroughly detailed list of why we feel the way we do about this school can be read in my detailed review. It offers many explanations as to why we felt the tuition rates did not match the educational needs of today's children...in our opinion.

Suffolk Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
While homework is absolutely vital to success and I believe it has a great impact on worth ethic, typical homework at this school tends to be on the heavy side. In addition while I strongly agree that every parent should take on the teacher roll at home...this school tends to rely on the parents as educators more so than the teachers. It makes you wonder about the layout of the academic timeline on a day to day basis at school. Often assignments are sent home with notes stating that they have become part of the homework since they ran out of time in class. This happens throughout various grade levels.


Suffolk Christian Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
See detailed review below for several reasons the strongly disagree vote was cast. I do hope it shines some light on topics of concern for prospective parents and their children.

Suffolk Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 22, 2015
- a parent
Should bullying occur, the solution is never to reprimand the child...the solution, while perfectly valid as part of the total solution, is to pray about it.

Suffolk Christian Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Awesome!! We have great teachers that give individualized attention. The principal and school board keep the end result in mind, but don't sacrifice the here and now for that end. Facebook posts for parents help to keep us informed of special days, etc. Would recommend this school to all races, cultures, religious back grounds. Great place for education.


Suffolk Christian Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Our child has attended K-2nd grade so far at SCA. We really feel like our school community is family for the parent/teacher involvement. The teachers and staff are truly investing their hearts, knowledge, and care into a great education and environment for their students. This is of critical importance to us, since that environment and instruction are foundational and impact so much of our child's future. We feel so grateful and blessed to be able to send our child to SCA.

Suffolk Christian Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Suffolk Christian Academy is a great school. This is my children's first year here. I have a 6th grader and a kindergarten. I am very pleased with the academics and even happier with the small teacher student ratio. Its nice that my 6th grader is not in a class of 32 students. My children are extremely happy. I feel very at home here. I would and have recommend Suffolk Christian academy.

Suffolk Christian Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Suffolk Christian Academy is a fantastic Christian school with great academics and low student teacher ratios. My child has attended since Pre-k and is now in 4th grade. Since it's incorporation, and the new school board, the school has truly flourished! I would recommend it to anyone looking for an exceptional education for their children.


Suffolk Christian Academy 4

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
My children have been enrolled in Suffolk Christian since age 4 I love the feeling knowing my children are well cared for and loved here It feels more like family The staff are very caring and loving I agree with the parent who said they love the return on their investment I agree, it is an investment and one you cannot afford NOT to do I am happy to say SCA is our "home"

Suffolk Christian Academy 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
Great school with a family feel and a rigorous academic program. Strong values and learning through a biblical worldview, serve to strengthen the educational experience and enrich the child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Suffolk Christian Academy
3488 Godwin Blvd, Suffolk, VA  23434
(757) 925-4461
Last modified Suffolk Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Suffolk Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top