Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Triangle Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 788 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2013

I just have to say the vice principle is probably one of the sweetest ladies. I have lived all over the world and my kids have attended schools everywhere ( THIS IS THE NICEST STAFF I HAVE MET ANYWHERE YET!!) The moment I walked into the office for registration I had a warm greeting from the school staff:) the vice principle came up to my son and I and greeted us in the most gracious way I have never have encountered before ( I usually pay 25,000 a year at IB schools and have never received the welcome I received today) so far , so good:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

I just wanted to let some of the reviewers know that I am very happy with this school. My son goes here for two years and going on this 2nd great in September. This is a clean and brand new school with great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

My daughter entered this school in Kindergarten and has had a successful experience. She will be entering her 1st grade in September 2013. My second daughter will go into kindergarten in the upcoming school. I wasn't sure about putting my kids in public school because of bad reviews online. I am so glad we made the decision to give it a try. She loves it and we love it too. If you are thinking about sending your child to this school please don't hesitate. You will not regret it. The school is brand new and clean. The teachers are very nice and friendly. Ms. Easley is a brand new teach at the Triangle school and is my daughter's teach. She communicates well with me. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

I currently have two sons attending Triangle Elementary and have a 3rd son starting as a kindergartner next year. I have nothing but great things to say about this school and their teachers and supporting staff. My oldest son struggles at times, but his teacher communicates well with me and we are able to work together to come up with a solution that has now made his score advance placement top scores in all of his SOL's. Our second son has Down Syndrome and his special education teacher and his regular 1st grade teacher are just amazing. They keep him on task, make him feel part of every group he is in and he learns so much everyday. The school is a new school, everything is state fo the art. The old triangle elementary was torn down after the new school was built and the children had a wonderful after holiday gift of a new school when they moved. It was such a great and even transition and I am very proud of Mr. Marinoble and his staff for pulling off a virtually stressless (for the kids) transition into a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

I currently have two boys attending Triangle Elementary, and I have one that will go into kindergarten in the upcoming school year. I have been very pleased with the teachers and staff. Both of my boys are doing very well in all of their work. They do especially well in reading. Both the 3rd and 4th grader are reading and comprehending at 5th grade level. Instead of nightly homework like I use to get, they have weekly assignments which is kind of nice. This gives me the flexibility to help them spread out their work for the entire week. If I slack off, my kids slack off. Both of my kids have been at Triangle Elementary since kindergarten, and I look forward for my little one to start there next year. We have actually considered moving but are putting that aside until the youngest get some solid foundation from the teachers at this school. level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

I attended and matriculated from this school, i would have to say that this school taught me most of everything i still use today. I now have a younger sister who goes and she excels in everything. this school VALUES education and the teacher involvement is wonderful. For parents looking into future enrollment for their children this is a great school


Posted May 11, 2010

This is a great, brand new school with excellent teachers who really care about the students. I have three kids attending Triangle Elemantary School and they all love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

If this school get new (qualified) teachers and supporting staff ,when thay move in the new building ,then Triangle will be a much better school,having a child going to school there,I was not impress with all with the teachers.If you like your child to have hours of home work then this is the school for you,thay relly need to clean house!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

My son is a student at Triangle. I am very pleased with the school. The new building is in progress and should be ready by the 1st of the year. The teachers, admin., and the support staff are all great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

My son spent two years at Graham Park Middle School. He made some nice friends while attending the Math/Science program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2007

My children have attended this school for the past 4 years. While the school has improved tremendously, it still needs structural improvement, something other than trailers. Needs new playground equipment, a gym, larger building, better parking, etc. The school also does nothing for children who are advanced. If you're not behind in this school, you're pretty much just ignored. Also, their special needs area leaves much to be desired. Must be extremely behind, to the point of failing, to receive help. PTO unfriendly, and doesn't do much to develop sense of community. Little parental involvement. No field trips, few school activities, not much room for learning outside the SOLs. If it's not on the SOLs, it's not covered. No room left for imagination via teachers or students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

My son attended Triangle Elementary School last year and wasn't really taught anything. He was in the first grade and was given homework 2 or 3 times for the entire school year. His teacher was absent a lot because of personal issues. There seemed to be a small handful of teachers who seemed to know how to teach. Talented students weren't recognized and not-so talented ones discouraged. The school is VERY SMALL and has no plans of extending even with the new houses being belt right across the street. The principal was new so can't say much. The office staff was SUPER NICE and cooperative - best thing for the school. The afterschool program needs revamping and new staff. Staff talk about students to other parents and teachers. Not professional at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2005

This is my child's first year at Triangle Elementary School. So far, I'm not impressed with the teachers or staff. Teachers appear to be oblivious to the academic needs of their students. Students who are advanced are not challenged and therefore, become bored and/or lose interest altogether. Advanced students who become bored unfortunately find other ways to stimulate their interests and sometimes talk to or distract other students. The school is very small with a rapidly growing community. However, I've yet to hear of any plans to accommodate an already crowded school such as getting more QUALIFIED teachers. We are looking for a new school for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

117 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students85%
Male students65%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students64%
Female students69%
Male students59%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English67%

Science

All Students80%
Female students85%
Male students75%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students93%
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students79%
Male students73%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students78%
Female students84%
Male students73%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students72%
Male students56%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English65%

English: Writing

All Students58%
Female students67%
Male students46%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White students60%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English57%

Math

All Students69%
Female students76%
Male students61%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students74%
Female students73%
Male students76%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mark Anthony Marinoble

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3615 Lions Field Rd
Triangle, VA 22172
Phone: (703) 221-4114

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT