Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Star Bethlehem Christian Academy

Private | PK-3 | 49 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Triangle

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $280,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2013

Too many family members work there, which makes favoritism to others. Bad manners to students and staff.


Posted May 13, 2013

My daughters attended SBCA in 2010-2012. The curriculum is outstanding and they learned a lot while enrolled there. My youngest child had over 20 kids in her K-4 class, while my oldest had only five in her 1st grade class. I would say that the only drawback was I felt the school had their "favorites" so at every school program you would see the same children perform. But overall the teachers and staff were great and I highly praise the curriculum. For the 2012-2013 school year I decided to enroll my children in Prince William County schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

My kids have been attending SBCA for two years now. We are originially from New York. My oldest child attended a Christian based school from the age of 3 to 5 years. I have to say that the curriculum that they are receiving at SBCA is outstanding. How many children do you know in the Pre-K or K can write in cursive or that are reading on first and second grade levels. How many do you know that are addinig and subracting. SBCA major fault is parents involvement. There are not too many places that keep a teacher for years. It may seem excessive for some since this is a small setting. I am very satisfied with SBCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2011

Wow. I'm surprised at the review of the previous reviewer. But to each his or her own. I have nothing but compliments regarding the school. Great Christian (Abeka) and academic curriculum mirroring the things I teach at home. My son loves it and also his teachers. He has seen the same faces since arriving at the school several years ago with the exception of two. They didn't return after the new school year as one retired. The other was a new teacher found a job closer to her home (it was an hour plus commute for her). My son does quite well in academics--reading and writing. His teacher gives me DAILY reports on how he is doing. I am able to spend 5-10 minutes with her discussing his progress and what I can do to ensure he is grasping new concepts. I don't know too many school campuses that have that kind of one-on-once access to teachers. His class size is small. He gets perfectly indvidualized care and instruction. I've watched his confidence improve and his academic and Christian walk excel. He currently has computer time in the computer room. Though not the latest and greatest, they are far from obsolete. Recommend! Just needs more parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2011

This "school" is a joke. Look at St. Francis and Calvary, then look at this place-why would you want to send your child here? Cause it's cheap??Outdated building, run-down playground, no use of technology within the classroom (no computers, smartboards, overhead, anything) textbooks dated from 1996!! I pulled my daughter out after looking into other schools in the area that were better and that treated their students and staff (notice how many teachers come and go?there is a reason for that!) with respect. I wouldn't recommend this "school" to my worst enemy. There are much better private schools in the area around the same price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2010

Both of my children will be attending Star Bethlehem Christian Academy in the Fall; this will be my daughter's first year and my son's third year and I am so excited for both of them to be there. How many three and four year olds can't recite all the books of the Bible and remember Bible verses that correlate to every letter of the alphabet. The staff members are dedicated to providing a nurturing and Christian based environment. I would recommend SBCA to anyone in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2010

I have three children and one granddaughter who have and now attend SBCA. All of my dealings with Star have been positive. They have a loving and caring enviroment. It is a Christian base school and they teach the children manners, responsibility, respect, honesty and how to trust in God. They have a successful graduation rate. Most students who have attended this school finish college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

My daughter attended this school from preK-3 to 2nd grade. The curicullum is outstanding and the teachers are awesome. The teachers and staff provides a social environment focused on learning. My daughter loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 409
Triangle, VA 22172
Phone: (703) 221-4111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Independent Hill
Manassas, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT