Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Vienna, VA
Students enrolled: 190
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Green Hedges School 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
I couldn't be more pleased with my daughters' experiences at Green Hedges. The teachers and administrators are genuinely engaged in providing a first rate education for the students. And I'm always amazed to see how much my daughters are learning--they are being challenged and are excited about learning. Example: in the fall, my kindergartener painted all the continents on a pumpkin and now knows her continents inside and out and is always searching out maps wherever we go. It's wonderful to be in an environment that fosters such a love of learning.

Green Hedges School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
Green Hedges has provided our children with a warm and nurturing academic environment. The head of school is outside almost every morning greeting each student by name. The teachers care about each child's success. During conferences, we always receive concrete examples of how our children are succeeding and constructive feedback on where they can improve. In addition to the strong academics, we see many opportunities for character development. It has been a wonderful school for us and we are grateful to have found Green Hedges.


Green Hedges School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
Nurturing environment that expects every child to rise to excellence, but appreciates every child as unique. Emphasizes character, sports, & STEM learning. Great parent community. Students from many different backgrounds and countries. I feel that every adult in that building knows and loves every child in that building.

Green Hedges School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Green Hedges does a great job of fostering a cooperative and positive atmosphere among its students of various ages. This week, the eighth graders (aka "the big kids") who will be graduating in a few weeks, were assigned in pairs to work in various lower school classrooms. My son and his classmates came home gushing about the time they got to spend with "their" eighth grade helpers. They did some reading with the younger children and helped with various lessons. It was such a great opportunity for the older kids to display leadership and model great behavior and I know my son will remember it far longer than anything he would have been told. Nice job!

Green Hedges School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
GHS isn t as well known as some of the larger private schools but the more intimate environment combined with first-rate academics make it the best place for our children. GHS students are challenged to grow academically and socially and are known by name by the faculty, staff and fellow students. Your child will not be lost there and they will be challenged in light of their natural abilities to explore and grow. Our family began there in 2009 and we plan to have our third child start next fall (2014). The faculty and staff are highly professional, available and responsive. They are also willing to tell a parent what they need to hear rather than perhaps what they want to hear. If your child needs help, you will hear about it and be asked to work with your child and the school to address and resolve issues (If you are given to the unyielding beliefs that your child is already due a Nobel Prize and is a soon to be Olympic athlete with no room for improvement and you need constant reassurance of this, do not look here). The faculty, staff and parental partnership is a very real and valuable aspect of the experience - and it is something that sets the school apart.


Green Hedges School 5

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
Green Hedges is a loving and nurturing environment that challenges kids to excel! We have been extrememly pleased with the spiraling academic program: it builds each year from the previous year; prepares my son to take on new challenges; and allows teachers to capture opportunities for deeper teachng moments. Because of the low student to teacher ratio, the teachers really get to know my son and his learning style. We have seen him build confidence and his own love of learning instilled by the teachers. The community is wonderful - a group of involved parents who all want their children to be challenged, held to expectations, and prepared for the future. We could not be happier with our choice of education and with the results we see in our son!

Green Hedges School 5

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
We are parents to a pre-schooler (3 years) in the Montessori program and have been very impressed with the school. Our son had not attended full time day care prior to this and we worried about him adjusting to 5 days a week school. Thankfully our worries were misplaced. Our son just loves the school. The teaching staff (including the extended day staff) have been simply fabulous. Our son adores them! We have seen our son grow in the few months he has been in school and cannot wait as he progresses through the various stages. Parent involvement is also given lot of importance to ensure that it isn't a one way commitment. Overall we could not have been happier!

Green Hedges School 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
We are a new family to Green Hedges, and have been honestly impressed in so many ways. We are parents to a 3 year old in the Montessori program. The teaching staff are sincerely dedicated and caring, including the extended day staff who are an incredible team of their own. Parent involvement is also seen on every level - from library volunteers, home room parents, to organizing annual PTO events. I also feel a strong sense of stability and commitment at both the administration and board levels. But of most importance our son is excited about school again, he was getting totally turned off in a traditional preschool. He has made great friends with kids of all ages, and is already learning to read and write. This has been a great fit, and a fantastic find in our eyes.


Green Hedges School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
I think this school is fantastic! Our two children have blossomed in this school both academically, socially. It is because of the teachers and staff. The teachers have high expectations and are very dedicated. If you are looking for a fabulous middle school look here. The enrollment is a bit low and I think it is because people have not heard of the school. The academics are very strong and the expectations are high. The kids are taught a well rounded curriculum with an emphases on working hard. Our 6th grader has all ready expressed interest about public and private high schools. The formal and informal discussions about high school has peaked her interest. She is prepared to work hard and set goals for high school because the school teaches them to be ready. I am really impressed with her teachers and her course load. Do yourself a favor and check it out. They really strive to create students that are prepared for the future challenges of education. You will love it!

Green Hedges School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
A gem of a school set in a leafy, residential neighborhood in the middle of the town of Vienna, Virginia, a small town in Northern Virginia near Tysons and McLean VA. GHS was founded 72 years ago and resides in what has been dubbed the No. 3 best small town in America. The school campus sits on more than 4 acres in the middle of a residential neighborhood and provides programming for Montessori through K and traditional through Grade 8. GHS focuses on educating the whole child, and develops personalized approaches for each along the journey through Grade 8. GHS graduates are accepted at all of the top secondary schools in the DC metropolitan area as well as at boarding schools along the mid-Atlantic and Northeast corridors. Beginning in the 3-year old Montessori program, each child receives a renaissance education replete with the study of Latin, math, science, technology, literature, history, art, music and leadership development. GHS provides an intentionally close-knit community of educators, staff, parents and alumni who work in concert to foster a unique and exceptional experience for our youngest leaders and thinkers of tomorrow.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Green Hedges School
415 Windover Avenue Northwest, Vienna, VA  22180
(703) 938-8323
Last modified Green Hedges School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Green Hedges School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top