Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-2
Private
Vienna, VA
Students enrolled: 16
 

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter loves going to school here! Chesterbrook feels like a family and the communication from staff to parents is excellent. I highly recommend this school.

Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted April 13, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school. My child is in the Intermediate (ages 3-4) class and will also be there for Summer Camp as well as next year. The school is focused on learning but in a fun and engaging way. I think what makes this school great is that it listens to parents and communicates really well. When my child first started she was very shy and had a hard time adjusting, everyone at the school, not just my child's teacher, tried to help. They said hello when they saw her in the hallways and waved, so she felt like it was a comfortable environment. On a daily basis, we get newsletters discussing what the kids learned or did that day, even with pictures! I love seeing those emails during my day and seeing what my child is doing in school. I also have 2 grade schoolers and the curriculum CBA follows is very similar to what Fairfax County is doing. They also have day camps for school aged children, so when there is no school, we can drop our other kids there for a full day of arts and crafts, learning, and great social interaction.


Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
We moved our youngest daughter to Chesterbrook in October of 2012 when she was 2 years old. She used to cry every day when we dropped her off at her school before that, we can happily say she has not cried once in 2.5 years of being dropped off at Chesterbrook, even week one! Chesterbrook has a fantastic staff that is not only great teachers and caring to the children, but trustworthy and empathetic with the parents. Our daughter also enjoys the summer camp at Chesterbrook, they have a phenomenal campus with plenty of field space and even a pool to get the kids out and doing different things in the summer. We have had 3 kids in day cares/preschools for 11 years now and hands down this is the BEST one any of our children have ever attended.

Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been enrolled at Chesterbrook since April of 2014. My husband and I are so pleased with with the care and education she has received. She has really progressed since then. When she started shortly after turning 2 she was significantly behind in her speech development. A year later her vocabulary has expanded tremendously and I am so thankful to them for that. During her time in the Beginner (age 2) class, her teacher Miss Pegah helped us potty train her so efficiently, she has had no issues or accidents since she has now moved up to the Intermediates (age 3) class. The teachers here are outstanding. Very patient, and loving. My daughter enjoys coming to school everyday, and that's all a parent can ask for. She often tells me her teacher, Miss Neisha, is her best friend :) Ms. Maria and Mrs. Amanda (Principal & Asst. Principal) do a wonderful job of communicating to the parents any new changes which is also a plus. They are very welcoming and will always take a minute to chat if you stop by the office. Overall, my family's experience at Chesterbrook has been great!

Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
We wanted to find the right balance of daycare joy and kindness and pre-school structure and education for our 2 year old daughters (who are now 3) . Chesterbrook academy has been the perfect choice for us and our daughters. The Vienna location offers a large outdoor playground, open fields, gardens and even a pool for summer swim classes. This allows for plenty of unstructured play, sports and pure discovery that always brings giggles and smiles rain or shine. The girls would easily spend decades within school buildings in the years ahead and the chance to have a preschool that was more day at the park than day at the office was especially appealing The faculty is appreciably younger than most schools. This gives our girls the chance to engage with teachers and care givers who are as excited and playful to teach as our girls are to learn. We have become friend outside of school with a number of the other Chesterbrook families. This is a outcome of the welcoming tone and feeling of partnership that is embedded within the full team at the school. We see our children learn something new every day and enjoy doing it


Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
We have had 2 kids at this school continuously since 2011 The school has passed through some lows around 2013 which I see is when most of the negative reviews were posted. We were honestly about to pull them out at that time, when Ms. Maria Murphy was appointed as school principal. Ms. Maria truly turned the school around. There is a lot of structure, we receive daily reports from the teacher about what the children did that day and teacher turnover has been significantly reduced. Summer camps at this school are lots of fun because the school has an in-ground swimming pool too. This school totally prepared my son for kindergarten at a competitive private school in the area. My daughter who is still 3 has made significant improvement and now knows all her letters and numbers. I would highly recommend Chesterbrook to a friend or family member!

Chesterbrook Academy 4

Posted October 06, 2013
- a parent
My son was a former student at Chesterbrook. We needed to pull him out of Chesterbrook because of the morning commute we were dealing with. We did not have any other problems with this school. Teachers were caring and extremely flexible. Right now, my son was in a famous school which is not as much as I expected for caring and loving. My son is still adjusting at new environment and so am I.

Chesterbrook Academy 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
We were so blessed to have found Chesterbrook Academy in Vienna, VA since we live in McLean. It was recommended to me by a parent I had just met at the recreation center while waiting for my daughter to finish her swim class. This is an excellent school. My daughter went there for two years (PK and K). The teachers are superb and very caring. My other children had gone to a Montessori school so I was a little worried my daughter would not get as much academics as the other two did. However, she ended up learning at her level and was appropriately challenged (K teacher divided the class into 3 depending on the child's aptitude but it was not obvious so as not to make any child feel less than). What's more was the social skills my daughter learned that was invaluable. This was a wonderful experience!!


Chesterbrook Academy 1

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
I will not recommend this school. The turnover of teachers and admin was ridiculously high. I witnessed many of the teachers yelling at students and acting unprofessional. Inexperienced and unfriendly teaching staff. Poor communication with parents. The parking lot is very unsafe.

Chesterbrook Academy 1

Posted July 12, 2013
- a parent
It is clear that the last review was posted by an administrative person. This school went downhill don't get fooled. The teachers that are left in this school are horrible. We are removing our son from this place. All good teachers left. The ones that are left are inexperienced and are scream at kids all the time. Class rooms are filthy and old. So weird that they change principals every 3 months. Apparently the last one got in car accident. This place is totally disorganized.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chesterbrook Academy
9525 Leesburg Pike, Vienna, VA  22182
(703) 759-3000
Last modified Chesterbrook Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-2
Chesterbrook Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top