Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Mark Catholic School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vienna

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $549,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

I would choose to send my children to this school all over again if I could. They were so well prepared academically for high school. They learned good organizational/study skills, including note taking and long term planning for assignments. Most importantly, I feel that their personal development was emphasized as well. If you are looking for a school that balances academic achievement along with character building, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

My children went through this school from K-8 and we LOVE St. Mark. Such a dedicated and loving faculty, great parents and beautiful facility. Best part is the small class sizes - they typically have 19-22 children per class so everyone gets a lot of attention - this was a real help to us when our kids hit learning bumps. Can't say enough good things about St. Mark - check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

I have three children at St. Mark, and we are incredibly happy with our experience. It has strong academics and a wonderful and supportive community of parents. My absolute favorite thing about the school, though, is the quality of the staff and teachers. These people love our kids, and it shows in everything they do. My oldest went to kindergarten in a public school, where I felt like the teacher didn't know much about her and she was falling through the cracks a bit because she was quiet and well-behaved. At St. Mark, it has been a totally different experience. We couldn't ask for anything more in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

Love St. Mark school. My daughter was at OES for a few years but it seems they only concentrate on AAP classes and the other classes suffer. Entering St. Mark from OES, my daughter had some catching up to do as she was somewhat behind in Math. She is now up to speed thanks to the wonderful teachers at St. Mark. Keep up the good work. Kudos to the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

Awesome school with high standards for every student. at this scholl no child is left behind!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

Was contemplating taking my son out of public school but it was well worth it. The academics at St. Marks are so much more challenging than public school. The teachers make it fun and interesting for him. Believe me there are many awesome teachers at St. Marks but also a couple who should be thinking of retirement, but overall the teachers are A+. They are supportive and are willing to stay after school if a student needs extra assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2010

I highly recommend this school if you are looking for a religious based, academic focused education. There is also a tremendous sense of community. We transferred from the public school system and have not looked back once (even when we're writing the tuition checks). The administration and teachers are very focused on the students and teaching them not only academic, but life skills. Your child will learn how to make good decisions. The other parents are so supportive. The best thing about St. Mark is that it's not "high competitive" -- everyone (administration, parents, teachers, other children) wants every individual child to reach their full potential. It's a wonderful environment for children. I can't recommend it highly enough. It's also a great school if you're a working mother....as there's a before and after school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

The teacher are so dedicated to each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Its goal to develop character. The friendly character of everyone you meet there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

We've been there since the school began 7 years ago and have nothing but good things to say about it. The teachers are the most dedicated group imaginable. Teachers focus on setting high standards and making sure each child reaches his/her potential. My children have blossomed academically and spiritually in this relatively small school environment (around 20 in their classes). They have learned more than academics; they have also learned to respect others and concern for the world around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

Fantastic loving school environment. Teachers are involved and your child will never be forgotten. Everyone knows everyone. Lots of social opportunites for both parents and children. Class is good and between 20-24 (max) per class. Both K and 1st grade have full time aids in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

My daughter has attended school there since it opened. It offers a structured, solid, caring Catholic-based education in a nurturing environment. The school is like a small village, and every teacher and student knows and takes care of each other. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, particularly if your child needs fully engaged teachers and administrators. The only downside is the few opportunities for enrichment for gifted children, and the snotty, elitist attitude of most of the parents. If you are merely middle-classed or are single-parenting, you will feel left out.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9972 Vale Rd
Vienna, VA 22181
Phone: (703) 281-9103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Pinnacle Academy
Oakton, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT