Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Vienna, VA
Students enrolled: 483

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cunningham Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
Cunningham Park is a wonderful school with caring teachers who are willing to go the extra mile for each student. You don't need to ask for support. The school is very proactive and is looking to add Level IV curriculum for those students who need more challenging work.

Cunningham Park Elementary School 2

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
The entire focus of this school is on providing remedial services for the underprivileged ESOL community. The academic programs are basic, and the children who need to be challenged are severely disadvantaged at this school. Many parents are frustrated. There doesn't seem to be any real interest on the part of the school to provide more academically challenging programs.
1 person found this helpful


Cunningham Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a parent
Our kids started attending Cunningham Park this year and are very happy there. It has an excellent, supportive, spirited community of both staff and parents; and, good extracurricular programs. To our relief, this school doesn't have the awful cliques and snobbery of our former school-- everyone seems to get along and accept each other's differences. We wish the school could further expand its AAP program so kids don't have to go elsewhere to be further challenged, but the benefits of attending a community school are a big draw for us.

Cunningham Park Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
Great school with a huge new addition. The teachers and parents seem to care about the kid's education.

Cunningham Park Elementary School 4

Posted June 20, 2013
- a parent
We moved into CPES from out of state and just completed our first year. Teachers are wonderful, the community feel at the school is strong. Academically speaking, not challenging, which was disappointing, although I believe that is more attributable to the Fairfax County curriculum than the lack of challenge specifically at this school. My daughter qualified for GT but I am choosing to keep her at CPES to avoid yet another new school. While the school offers opportunities for kids to grow beyond academics (e.g. Student council, peer mediators, other leadership positions), the rules for holding such positions are created ad hoc and are subjective. The outcome is the kids who have the desire, capacity and capabilitity to take on more opportunities beyond academics are discouraged from the activities that best fit them.


Cunningham Park Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
I agree with all the reviews below - it is a small school, neighborhood feel to it, with multicultural students. The principal and the assistant principal are great, they try to get all the parents involved and they will listen to suggestions. My daughter is in 1st grade and so far I have nothing but good words to day. The KG teachers are wonderful. The librarian, the reading teacher... all fabulous and you get to know them all. So far, I ve had nothing but good experiences with the school. My daughter is thriving there and that s all that matters.

Cunningham Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
CPES gets a bad rating due to multicultural, diverse students. Yes, there are a large number of ESOL students, but that really isn't a big deal. The school is small (around 400) and the teachers and administration are great. The PTA is very involved. My children have had nothing but good experiences in the last 5 years. In fact, one 4th grade teacher in particular is outstanding!

Cunningham Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
Great teachers, Very strong principle, teacher quality is high, they let parents get involved, The staff are very friendly, Love the school


Cunningham Park Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
We've been at this school for 3 years, starting in KG and love it. So far the teachers we've had have been wonderful. I especially like the principal, who runs a tight ship giving a feeling a cohesion from classroom to classroom. Love the school-wide homework policy to give meaningful assignments and not just busy work. We have been very pleased with this school and administration.

Cunningham Park Elementary School 3

Posted January 23, 2012
- a community member
As a student here the teachers were all nice until around 6th grade but still pretty nice. Although their ideas a A LOT different then most schools they are somewhat working.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cunningham Park Elementary School
1001 Park St SE, Vienna, VA  22180
(703) 255-5600
Last modified Cunningham Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cunningham Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top