Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Freedom Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 626 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 21, 2013

My two children have been attending this school for the past 5 years combined. My youngest is currently attending K and is receiving special ed assistance, while my oldest is a fourth grader and is in the AAP program. All I can say - kudos to the wonderful teaching staff. The communication between the teachers and the parents is top notch. They are always willing to go an extra mile in case a child needs help or attention. They are quick to address any concerns they see. If only my husband and I had teachers like that in elementary school, maybe we would've had better memories about our experience:) I would like to give a shout out to my kids' favorite teachers: Ms. Ruttenberg, Ms. Weise, Ms. Harris and Ms. Roque. Special thank you to the extremely patient special ed staff! P.S. Both my children are very different, yet they both leap in the morning when it's time to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2013

Freedom Hill provides an excellent caring staff and a very culturally diverse experience. Parents are very involved. The newly completed renovation is beautiful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

We have been at Freedom Hill for a year. I have 2 kids going here. I have nothing but good things to say about this school. From administration to teachers they are all very involved with the students. Diversity is great. We recently went through some medical issues and the teachers have done everything in their hand to support us without even being asked for. This involved in home parent teacher meetings, personal phone calls from lead school nurse, mentors being assigned to my kids and school counselors &psychologist being involved to ensure my children's educational and emotional stability. Everybody at this school know the students' names and care about each one of them. When the time comes I will have a hard time leaving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2012

I am very surprised that greatschools.org gave a 6 out of 10 rating for Freedom Hill. This school is one of the best any parent can ask for, for their child. Highly multi-cultural, the Principal is always seen with the children or walking around the school, at the carpool line or in the hallways. He is a tremendous support to the entire school and is not one of those that sit in their office with the door shut. The teachers are the cream of the crop so to say. Freedom Hill has a wonderful Choir and strings program. The Choir won first place and the highest overall score at the Kings Dominion Choral Festival 2012. My Son has been at Freedom Hill since Kindergarten and has never had an issue with bullying or any such as the zero tolerance rule is strictly enforced. The children are all very well behaved and that can be seen when you walk in to the school. The PTA is heavily involved in fund raising and activities to support the school. The office staff is very courteous and always there to help. They academics are top-notch with what the children are learning and how the teachers find individualized approach to help each child excel. I wish this school gets the rating it deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

Great, multicultural school, kind teachers, inclusive environment-- I love Freedom Hill! Your child will meet kids from all over the world! You will find everyone here-- various socioeconomic, religious, linguistic and cultural experiences all learning together! It's pretty neat. Make sure to come to International Day: They annually have a day where students from over 7 countries have a parade, taste food from different places, and see cultural assemblies! It's great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Fantastic school. The principal appears to know every child's name and siblings - I know that is unbelievable, but I have witnessed him greeting packs of kids individually, even early in the school year. He greeted my kindergartner by name at an early parent teacher student event and asked her if (big sister's name) was helping her. He notices things too. One of our neighbor's has a child who needs to wear a special device for health purposes. He noticed one day that she was not wearing it and he called the parents to remind them that she needs to wear it every day. Good teachers and curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My son attended pre-k at Freedom Hill for approximately one year. He is developmentally and speech delayed. I found the teacher and teacher's assistants to be excellent. They are caring, approachable and really go "above and beyond." Although my contact with the principal was limited, I found him to be very friendly and caring with the children. If we move back to the area, i would gladly send my child there once again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Absolutely fantastic multi cultural school, with respect and honor given to evryone and everything. Extensive extracurricular activities and great social and academic education including gifted and talented learning programs. Our kids had the opportunity to switch but downright refused because they love the school, teachers and their friends so much. The principal understands well that real education involves much more than the basic 3 Rs and so talents and abilities in all areas are encouraged. He also knows every child by name. You cannot find a better school for the development of your children's academic potential and character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

We have been at this school for few years. The school is wonderful and I can't say enough about the principal. He has made a huge difference in the school. All the kids love him and respect him. I would not move because I want all my kids to go to this school. I've been around the area for many years and have heard enough to know that this is the best school in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

It is our first year at Freedom Hill, and we are truly impressed with all that this school has to offer. The Principal is hands-on and very involved with the kids and numerous activities throughout the school, and the teachers and staff are terrific!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I have children attending this school and I'm pleased with their education. The principal is exceptional (he truly cares about each child and greets them personally in the morning.) There are many extracurricular activities for the children and the PTA is active. There is high mobility (student turnover) due to the area and the number of diplomats, but the staff does an exceptional job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

My daughter is studying at this school. The teachers and their programs are excellent. The school is very well maintained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

Freedom Hill is a school with a great community that participates in schoolwide events. The teachers and staff enthusiatically work to make sure every student succeeds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2009

It is a school that acts like a family. The principal, teachers,PTA and staff are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

The principal is great and the office staff are courteous. Some of the teachers in special education pre-school are great and others, not so great. Your child has to be lucky to have one of the great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Great school! Warm, nurturing and friendly teachers and staff. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

We transferred from a nearby elementary school (Shrevewood) and what a positive difference that was. The principle was great but she left for personal reasons (I hope she is ok and she returns). The new principal, despite his unusual hair-style, was very energetic and positive. When our student got in small trouble he really treated it as such. What a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2009

Freedom Hill is a great school. I am happy my children attend FH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

Freedom Hill is a warm, and inviting community of wonderful teachers and staff. My children love it there and so do I. The PTA is active and supportive which is greatly appreciated by the administration and staff. The teachers are dedicated, energetic and bring a vibrant teaching environment to the school. We look forward to the next few years we have at Freedom Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

My son has been at Freedom Hill for past two years. The teachers have done a wonderful job of providing a great learning atmosphere. He loves going to school, learning about new things, talking about the stuff discussed in the class and apply what he learnt in everyday life. I am also really impressed with a variety of options available - for after school activities, strategy lab and field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students82%
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students66%
Female students57%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students75%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students88%
Female students83%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students86%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students74%
Male students66%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students71%
Female students78%
Male students66%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students66%
Female students69%
Male students64%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students84%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English74%

English: Writing

All Students70%
Female students70%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students56%
Female students67%
Male students50%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students64%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficient students38%
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students52%
Female students61%
Male students47%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students74%
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
White students65%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficient students25%
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students87%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English95%

Math

All Students96%
Female students96%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students88%
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1945 Lord Fairfax Rd
Vienna, VA 22182
Phone: (703) 506-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kilmer Center
Vienna, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT