Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 49 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


54 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Madison High School 1

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
Math department is horrible and in general all this school seems to do is to give quizzes and tests with no feedback to the students about what they did wrong. I don't understand how it gets the ratings that it does. If I had to do it over again, I would never send my child here.

Madison High School 5

Posted November 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman this year. I'm really grateful for enrolling her into this school as they encourages students to acheive success and made the students enjoy in school while working hard. It's the best school one will ever want to enter. GO WARHAWKS!!


Madison High School 4

Posted September 09, 2013
- a student
I graduated from Madison in 2012 as the oldest of three. I played 3 varsity sports, I was actively involved in various clubs and took multiple AP courses. I'm an average student, not a genius but Madison was a great school, they teach you to be independent, to manage your time wisely and to strive to be successful. Not only is a great place for an education, but for a social life as well, work hard during the week and enjoy the great sports teams and friends on the weekends. I didn't realize or appreciate all that I had been taught until I was 1. Accepted into All 7 of the universities I applied to 2. worked full time and 3. tackled 18 credit hours my first semester while making new friends. It's true that there are competitive, over protective, "Helicopter" parents (and students!) all over the place.... but this is Northern Virginia....the suburbs of the Nations Capital. There are so many advantages to being a Madison student. BUT! It is up to you (the student) you must utilize the NUMEROUS materials, opportunities, and resources they provide. Its not a cake walk, but with a little hard work you'll eventually appreciate the rewards. Go Warhawks!

Madison High School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Madison High School is a perpect match for a student who wants excel and study hard. My son has been attending Madison since 9th grade and we are pleased with the school so far. Most teachers are great at their subjects and they are willing to go the extra mile to teach their students the best way they can. But the child should be willing to learn, other wise, the pace is fast, it might be hard for an a avarage student to catch up. They don't hand out the grades right away like Montgomery County schools and the parent portal is not as good as edline, but it is about Fairfax county school system, not just Madison. So your child needs to follow everything very carefully, they want the students to be independent. It is hard for a parent to follow their grades and warn the student before hand. As long as you child is responsible and hard working the school has everything. Good teachers, discipline and it is very safe...and great sports teams. The only thing I'd like to see more of is paying more attention to arts...I recommend Madison for sure to everybody.....

Madison High School 3

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
I agree with the Student who submitted the Dec '12 review: JMHS is a high-stress school with NoVA overachiever parents pushing kids to do better than well. There is an emphasis on sports and grades on SOLs at JMHS, which can lead to those kids in the middle, or those who are not in sports, to fall through the cracks. It also leads to "teaching to the tests" mentality, which does not exactly push learning. The Principal is a non-presence, in spite of drug and bullying issues at JMHS. The Guidance department is very good, which is a saving grace of this school. I completely agree with issues related to the teachers; one would think that a school of this calibre in this part of the county (and country) would attract high-achievers. Both my children have had real losers for teachers: teachers who do not teach, who are distracted by their other activities and interests, prima donnas who exhibit real vindictive streaks when called out, etc. Those should be weeded out and dismissed and the Front Office needs to be more engaged in this exercise as well. JMHS students perform above the average because we parents push them and are fortunate to have access to help outside the classroom.


Madison High School 2

Posted December 18, 2012
- a student
Madison is a high stress environment. Students are given large amounts of work that can be hard to complete and there's more push to get good grades and test scores than to actually learn material. Though some teachers are wonderful, others don't make any effort to help kids out at all. Many teachers behave inappropriately and most kids are incredibly stressed out. There's an emphasis on athletics when the teams aren't high achievers and the administrators can be really harsh. There's a system called Warhawk in good standing which basically makes it so some kids aren't even allowed to go to the bathroom during class and bullying isn't even addressed by admins. the biggest concerns seem to be not having kids in the hallways during sap and getting high test scores. I have heard Madison compared to a prison more than once with their strict regulations and lack of natural light or healthy student environments.

Madison High School 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
My son is a freshman at Madison. He is in all honors courses and came from the GT Center at Luther Jackson. He s found the academic transition to be easy thus far. He joined Cross Country, will run Indoor Track, and plans to try out for Lacrosse in the spring. He is also participating in Science Olympiad. He is very happy that he joined a team in August as it helped him to get to know a group of people before starting school. Most students come from Thoreau, so those kids do know each other well. So far he likes his teachers and is planning his high school career. He s fun-loving, but is a serious student, like many at Madison, which had one of the highest numbers of National Merit Semi Finalists in the state. Madison offers an amazing variety of AP courses from AP History and Literature to Physics, Psychology, Computer Science and more. There are many different activities, so a student can find his place whether it be in the band, sports, chorus, theatre, Model UN, or a political club.

Madison High School 5

Posted November 06, 2011
- a parent
Both of our children went to Madison and received excellent education: accademic, cultural and social. I am surprized at the number of parents who blame the school for their, and their childrens, difficulties...!


Madison High School 2

Posted February 27, 2011
- a student
Honestly, I am disappointed in the quality of education here. Essentially, taking an honors class just means that you get more homework. Juniors and seniors are taking more AP classes than even most college kids take a semester. The focus here is more on a college application, and not on college preparation. The principal was formerly on the baseball team during his years at Madison (and therefore lets them get away with all sorts of stuff and funds them more than any other club despite their losing record). He isn't present during the day and the administration is really unorganized. I was especially disappointed on my first day of school, seeing as I had no instruction as to where to go and I was totally confused. The activities office is totally unprofessional and disorganized as well. The only reason why test scores are so high at this school is because the kids are really smart. However, there is a pretty diverse environment considering there are many kids from other countries who come here (usually their parents are diplomats or military personnel). All in all, this isn't an atrocious place to be but there are definitely better places to go to high school.

Madison High School 2

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
After the rigorous preparation of the GT program at Kilmer MS, the academic side of life at Madison HS is very disappointing. Even in honors classes, the students are not motivated, the teachers are frustrated, and some of the work is so basic that it is positively insulting. The administration is cold and not especially sympathetic or helpful and seems to prize athletics above all else, a strange thing considering that the mission of the school is supposed to be to EDUCATE. Needless to say, my daughter will be switching into the IB program at Marshall HS next year. A great disappointment overall!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Madison High School
2500 James Madison Dr, Vienna, VA  22181
(703) 319-2300
Last modified Madison High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Madison High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top